We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental Menorca
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Xaloc Playa(Punta Prima)(Great Value!)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Isla Del Aire Apartments(Punta Prima)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$82
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,831)
Filter reviews
2,831 results
Traveler rating
1,136
1,097
421
112
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,136
1,097
421
112
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roomhalf boardfamily areapool barfamily holidayyoung childrenmini golflovely hotelexcellent facilitiesanimation teamevening entertainmentplenty of sunbedsshort walk to the beachthe main hotelkids poolpunta prima beachplenty of choice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
639 - 644 of 2,831 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Not a suitable hotel for couples.Hotel is a dated,ugly,concrete jungle with no comfort whatsoever.The bed was like sleeping on a concrete slab,decor and furnishings tired,room small.It was supposed to be a superior room but was totally inferior,walls thin,a lot of noise everywhere.Entertainment team very loud and amateurish.Deposit charged for pool towel and every time you wanted a clean one you had to pay.No inside lounge area,charge of 15 euros to use inside pool.No comfort whatsoever.

Room Tip: De luxe rooms only available to the Italians.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ronda286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at the hotel on a half board basis for 10 nights from 29 September - 9 October. We were lucky with the weather with average temperatures of 27-30c and with only one day of rain.

The resort of Punta Prima is a very convenient 15 minute drive from Mahon airport and on first impressions as we drew up ouside the hotel, we were pleased with what greeted us. The lobby was impressive; modern and spacious. Check-in was efficient, but we were not pleased to have to pay for the hire of a safe, as others have commented. There was also a deposit payable for the key which was refunded on check out.

We were accompanied to our room by the porter, past the main swimming pool and very gaudily coloured blocks which looked far worse than the cleverly taken photographs for the hotel's website. We arrived at our block which was facing the pool. We had requested a high floor and a sea view but there was such a high solid wall on our balcony (about 4') so we really had no view at all.

The room was tiny (about 15'x12') but apparently ours was one of the larger ones. There was very little storage and the safe took up most of one of the shelves in the wardrobe.

The bathroom led off the bedroom, which was again very small and off that was the toilet. There were heavy glass sliding doors with frosted glass which divided all three rooms. In the bathroom there were cheap horrible smelling 'Barcelo' branded toiletries, and there was nowhere to put a toilet bag and its contents other than on a small shelf which had towels on it. The shower was however powerful.

Our bedroom had a tatty couch which made the room seem even more cramped and enclosed.

Our bed was however comfortable and when we asked for extra pillows they were brought immediately. The air conditioning was very efficient and we had a good sized flat screen TV.

The main pool was lovely with plenty of sunbeds. There is the bar area nearby where people would sit any time of the day as there is no hotel lounge other than a few armchairs in the lobby.

There is another pool by some of the other blocks and a further one turning right out of the hotel, down the road towards the beach.

The dining room was reached either down some steep stone steps opposite the pool or from a staircase inside the hotel. There is free seating and self-service eating. Breakfast was until a very respectable 10.45am and dinner until 9.30pm; these times may be different at other times of the year.

The food was variable; there was plenty of choice and it was hot. For breakfast; breads, pastries, fried egg (freshly cooked), omelette made from a liquid packet mix in a carton, sausages, bacon or gammon, different cold meats, cheeses.salads, yoghurts and fruit. There were machines to make drinks including capuccino which was horrible - good tip 'make coffee and then add frothy milk', really nice.

The dinners were disappointing; masses of choice but rarely looked appetising. The meat was very fatty swimming in sauce and the 'brightly coloured' desserts all tasted the same and were totally synthetic.

The staff in the dining room were delightful and nothing was too much trouble. We were there as the season was coming to a close and they were short staffed and under considerable pressure.

There is a lovely spa/beauty clinic on the same level as the dining room. We didn't actually use it and the staff did come round the pool area searching for business.

There is a well stocked shop on ground floor level with reasonably priced items, including some nice leather goods.

The resort of Punta Prima had very little to offer and appeared very downmarket. There are two supermarkets, a few tacky souvenir shops, restaurants and bars and car hire. We didn't go onto the beach; we saw sand dunes and grassy areas on it.

There is an animation team 'The Ramires Job' at the hotel who work hard to involve guests in the various daily activities; paper flower making, boules & archery. Then there is the show in the evening which really was pretty dire. This takes place in the large hall where there is also another bar.

On the day it rained we got the bus (stop opposite the hotel) into Mahon town centre, the journey took about 30 minutes and cost 1.40 euros each. It's worth a visit to have a look around and enjoy some stunning views.

On another day, as we had come independently, we joined a Thomas Cook tour to see the west part of the island. This we really enjoyed and would highly recommend.

All in all, Punta Prima is not a resort we would advise for a stay. The hotel was disappointing; the accommodation and food. Would we return? Definitely not.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony where you have a decent view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank awmw2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Remembering the caribbean resorts, this hotel has everything that you are looking for in an excellent vacations. All incluse it's a really good option once you don't have so many restaurants options in Punta Prima.. A couple of them but nothing more than 3 or 4. At airport take the aerobus to Mahon Bus Station and once there take the bus to Punta Prima. The busdrivers are so friendly that will guide you without any problem. The hotel it's only opened since May to October. I was there in May, so was perfect to rest, few people, no confusion... Peaceful hotel and peaceful beach!

The location: The beach it's only a few steps from the hotel. You don't have much more to do in Punta Prima except go to beach or relax. You always have a bus (look the timetable at bus station) that take you to Mahon, it's about 20/30min. You have a litlle train, as you can see in some pictures, that you can take to see some beautiful touristic areas and beaches. Menorca in May it's like I said... peaceful and you can enjoy the view and spend your time with quality. But if you like a little bit of mess... choose other month.. More people, probably more commercial stuff opened, more touristc option..
In front of the hotel you have a bus station and a rent-a-car. In front of the beach you can find the restaurants and supermarkets.

The rooms: Modern, VERY CLEAN, not big but with a mini-fridge... You have also a clothesline at the huge balcony.

All Inclusive: The breakfast it's a nightmare of good things...Pancakes, breads, pastry, scrambled eggs, juices, cereals, yoghurts, fruits, etc... etc....All the things that we deserve!!!
Lunch and Dinner are very good, sometimes a big repetitive but... I can not reclaim... I found always an option... or 2... or 3!! Soups, breads, entrances, salads, roasted or grilled food, pizzas and pastas with different sauces, sweet desserts, ice-creams or fruit.
In the restaurant the drinks are quit limited, but you have win and beer included.

You can take a cocktail, regional drinks, a expreso coffee, ice creams at the bar,,, the staff will help you. They are very friendly and attentive.
With all that food, and you will be tempted to prove everything, you probably don't will be hunger... the snacks options are very limited.. toast or cake!!! This is the only fail I found.

Service: Excellent... All staff very pleasant, kind and very worried if everythig was ok.. 5stars
You can ask for beach towels at the reception, only have to let a deposit (10€ for each towel). The hotel has a gym well equipped, a SPA, two huge pools for adults and one for children, nightshows (don't expect much... but they endeavor to do there best and I valued there effort) and entertainment team for daily activities, like dance, games or gymnastic.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnaMaria-Lisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel and staff in all areas are perfect. Spotless,polite & helpful at all times. Relaxing and good food at all times. The gardens are well kept.A perfect location for every age group.Situated just minutes from the beach and good restaurants. Lovely walks and a bus if needed. Menorca is such a pretty island.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank newbridge81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Well situated for the beach, sun loungers on beach however 7.50 euros each per day, few shops and supermakets, we went in September and these closed between 9-10pm.
Not alot to do in the evening. Bus service to Mahon is good and nice to walk around.
Food excellent

Room Tip: dont have a ground floor, the hotel is in seperate blocks some which over look the roads and are quite dark-no sun
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louisascharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews