We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday in a fantastic hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Occidental Menorca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Menorca
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Punta Prima
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great holiday in a fantastic hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed for a week in this magnificent hotel in July 2011 and we had a great vacation. We were two couples age 25-31 and we found the hotel itself as a great one. The hotel is a little it different than any other hotels in which I stayed before because it has 10 different buildings each with 3 floors that form the hotel. Some of the buildings have rooms facing the pools so I guess that ones are a bit noisyif you want to take a nap in the afternoon. There were many children of all ages at this hotel so if you want an adult only hotel this is not the place. There are 3 different pools surrounded by the hotel buildings and you can hear the children and the noise from the pools if you have a room facing the pools. We had a room facing the street so it was really quiet, it's not so much traffic in that area of the island. The rooms are not so large but there is plenty of space , but they have a great bathroom newly renovated I guess because it looks great. The cleanliness of the room and of everything in the hotel is something really important for me and this hotel fulfilled my expectations. We stayed in a halfboard basis and the food was great, there are plenty of choices for everyone's taste. We chose halfboard because during the day we went on different beaches around the island. The closest beach to the hotel is Punta Prima beach and it's great, the water is amazing. The hotel also has an area for entertaining with another pool for adults and several for children with playing area, voleyball and any other sand sports area, pool tables. The whole entertaining team at the hotel is great, they speak 4 languages spanish, german, english and italian and the really do a great show for adults and children every evening. We also tried the spa at the hotel and I must say it's really worth it. We had the water circuit with sauna and different showers , turkish bath and everything for 3 days. It was great. Right across the street from the hotel there is a rent a car office and also a few metres down the street close to the hotel there is another rent a car office from where we rented our car during the stay. They have good prices so it's a good choice. If we ever go back to Menorca for sure we will choose Barcelo again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ioana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    891
    355
    93
    53
See reviews for
1,076
798
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

i got a great deal, 170£ for 3 night full board for 2 person!!! it was one of the best value for money. it s new modern with good facilities. for family, friends and couples.

Room Tip: choose room face to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sergio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for eight nights in July 2011 and as a place to stay it was pretty good. The hotel looks really nice and is well maintained. The rooms are fairly modern looking and clean, but are on the small side. The location is great, right next to the beach and there's a bus-stop right outside. There's also some great areas for walking nearby, but beware of the nudists that bathe in the more secluded areas. It didn't bother us, but I imagine some people might be a little uncomfortable with it. We walked to S'Algar and Binbequer, the latter of which is a bit of a trek, but it's a lovely walk along the coast. Punta Prima itself is a great resort, but be warned that it's very quiet. That was fine for us, but if you're looking for a lively resort this is not it.

Overall the hotel is really nice, it's just let down by how the staff "handled" certain things and the repetitive buffet restaurant. We stayed on a half board basis and by our third or forth night, we were counting down the remaining number of buffet meals we had to get through before going home - the selection of food just doesn't change enough. The first issue we had was the room they allocated us upon arrival. It was right next the hall where the hotel has their evening entertainment until midnight, which is in Spanish. Therefore, it was pointless us going because it's tacky and we couldn't understand a word of it, and then we couldn't get away from it in our room... we could literally hear everything. We asked to move, but was told that the hotel was full. They did move us the next day though. The worst thing happened on our last morning, when my wife slipped down the stairs because they were wet from just being cleaned. Housekeeping saw it happen and then ran off, shouted at someone in Spanish and then returned with a "Wet Floor" sign. My wife had a massive bruise from the fall and had hurt her back, but when we contacted the hotel manager, the staff member lied and said there was a wet floor sign there. We did not want anything from them other than an apology, but it was made much worse by the staff member lying. The hotel never apologised and the staff member got away with it. What if it had been an older person or a child that had slipped down the stairs? It could have been so much worse.

Had it not been for the wet floor incident, we would have visited again. However, it was handled so badly, so out of principle we would never go back and will never recommend it to anyone. I would have given it four stars, but I've knocked a star off because of their customer service.

Room Tip: Some rooms can be quite noisy, so if you'd prefer a quieter room, be sure to request one prior t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NathanHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pueblo_menorca, General Manager at Occidental Menorca, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. The information is of great value for us as it permits us to improve and adapt our service constantly to the demand of our clients.. We are happy that you found the hotel really nice over all.
We are very sorry that you had an accident the day of your depature and that this experience made you feel that our staff did not care and spoiled the impression you had of the hotel during your stay.
We hope anyway that you will visit us again and give us another chance to show you that customer satisfaction is our first priority. Please do not hesitate to contact the Hotel directly.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

we stayed at this hotel in september 2011. had a lovely weeks holiday. the food at the begining of the stay was very enjoyable,but the standard did drop as the week went .beware the bacon at breakfast is very sweet cured bacon so a bit of shock ..the room was very pleasent overlooking the pool.but the ones at the back over looking the road looked very dark.the pool was cold but you did get used to it..the entertainment was different none of it in english and reminded me of the benny hill type of humor.very slap stick..the spa looked lovely and had a good variety of treatments. the onlydown point i would mention and its entierly myfault...the wardrobes have an inner hanging area and i very stupidly left a dress folded on the shelf..unfortunately when i rang once home ithadnt been handed in....so either the cleaner accidentaly threw it out or...........it was my fault and i should have done a more thorough check. but i know it was there so someone isnt telling the truth..the receptionist wasnt very helpful and quite abrupt on the phone.lesson learned be more vigilant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stargazerYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in October for 3 days, the average age was 70 and the average race was German. Dont expect to have a crazy environment.
It has a very nice breakfast and a more or less good dinner of open buffet.
Very beautiful children pool as well. Very close to the beach but a bit far from the center,so it can be a nice location if you are planning a holiday of eating and going to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tugce-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed at this hotel last summer and had a great time. The hotel is set in different colour blocks, each with a place name from Menorca. The rooms are very modern and we had a top floor room with a balcony. The dividing glass wall between the shower room and bedroom is quite revealing in the fact that when someone is showering, their shadow can be seen from the bedroom!! The restaurant was large with indoor and outdoor seating. Plenty of choice.
About 5 mins walk to the seafront on a gentle incline. A row of restaurants and spar on the front. The pools look dark as the bottom of the pools are copper tiles to maintain the suns heat. Entertainment was good, a mix of both great acts and not so great. The spa was lovely and all in all, a great modern look hotel. The only thing that got on our nerves was the poolside entertainment, very annoying sometimes...repetitive. But that's just my opinion. But great for the kids.

Room Tip: Top floor had great large balcony and partial sea view and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Aliandk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

we have recently returned from a week's holiday, where we found the complex clean and well maintained. Our room was small and comfy, but the balcony was a let down,as we could nearly shake hands with the people in the next building. Also it was like a wind tunnel which blew down the middle. We had to close our window to get changed etc. due to people across being able to see in. Our room lacked a full length mirror and tissues. The restaurant was clean and had a good variety of food over the week. Unfortunately it was piled high, so it soon became congealed in fat. The hotel is near the beach ,which was lovely, as is Punta Prima.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cartonLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Prima
18.7 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
12.0 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
15.1 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,448 reviews
25.1 mi away
Viva Menorca
Viva Menorca
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Menorca

Property: Occidental Menorca
Address: C/ Mestral s/n, 07710 Punta Prima, Minorca, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Pueblo Menorca)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Punta Prima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Punta Prima
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Prima
#4 Family Hotel in Punta Prima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Menorca 4*
Number of rooms: 374
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Barcelo, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Pueblo Menorca Hotel Punta Prima
Barcelo Hotel Pueblo Menorca
Barcelo Punta Prima Es
Occidental Menorca Punta Prima, Minorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing