We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“7 years on....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Las Olas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Las Olas
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester,
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“7 years on....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have just returned from our second holiday at Las Olas (7 year gap between). We had e-mailed ahead to request a high floor room in the Tenerife building if possible (as we had stayed in this building previously) - we got this and were delighted with the view from our balcony - it made our holiday as we were fortunate to see a whales on 2 occasions and a pod of dolphins.

The bath could have done with a bit of a refurb - it had been touched up with some white gloss. The kitchen is basic, microwave provided. We paid 10 euro deposit for a toaster but used a small pan for hot water. The cleaners visit the rooms twice a day changing towels and emptying bins again late afternoon. Can't comment on the half board/B&B option as we self catered/ate out. The supermarkets are very cheap and local restaurants very reasonably priced.

The gym is adequate - weights, a couple of old exercise bikes and one running machine.

The hotel is kept spotlessly clean. The gardeners are constantly working. All the staff are very friendly. The pools, as others have said, are cold but this was refreshing on the hot days we had (though one is heated and warmer).

The weather can be hit and miss our first week wasn't so good but we got a car and travelled around and did a few walks. The walk to Santa Cruz takes 45 mins - 1 hour (uphill on the way back though).

Highly recommend getting out and about around the island - it is very diverse and beautiful and a walkers paradise. We will definitely return one day and to Las Olas.

Room Tip: As for sea view on a high floor. We prefer the Tenerife building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rach64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    254
    106
    26
    12
See reviews for
145
296
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bovingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed for 1 week's self-catering (£360) in Room 220 in La Palma block next to the very quiet road - large, very clean, apartment. No heating or aircon. Very large bed with firm mattress. Asked for extra blankets and pillows - no problem. Modern bathroom - clean towels every day (some a bit thin). Kitchenette small and just the bare minimum of equipment. Paid a deposit for a kettle and toaster. TV small and not much to watch - BBC World and CNN in English. Fantastic unobstructed east facing 180 degree sea views from large balcony (overlooked by neighbours so no privacy), which gets morning sun (if there is any). Weather variable - some days very cloudy and cool - every day was windy. Could see Tenerife in the distance if it was clear. No problem with airport noise - the occasional plane was a welcome break from the sound of birds (joke). Mostly older guests who enjoyed walking - mainly German but also Spanish, Dutch, Italians. Pools nice and sunny but cold.
Hired a Renault Megane for a week through Thomsons for £108 - well worth it to explore the island. Keen drivers will love the twisty mountain roads but you need a good map - try the 1Euro map from the tourist office in Los Cancajos or the 3euro map from the hotel reception. There are fantastic views from 7000 feet up at the top of the island down into the vast caldera - and observatories (not open). Santa Cruz is a nice place to wander around and discover the 'ship museum' and the the dancing dwarves.
You can cut through the tunnel in the mountain to reach Puerto Naos or Tazcorte for a day on the (black sand) west coast beaches that seem to get better weather than Los Concajos. Bananas are a big industry here and the place is blighted by their plastic covers in parts.
If you want sun stay on the west side in Puerto Naos or Tazcorte. Very enjoyable for a week - not sure about a longer stay on La Palma.

Room Tip: Higher the better and ask for a sea view. Higher floors in La Palma Block should all be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dafydd52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Staff polite and helpful. Quiet resort but good cheap bus service nearby. Capital walkable Breakfast more than adequate. Accommodation mostly good but the bath was badly rusted. Cutlery, plates etc. basic but useable. Local supermarkets cheap and close by. El Pulpo fish most enjoyable. Island is unspoilt and an ideal place for a quiet getaway

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the road can be noisy when the buses reverse in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

A good hotel which is kept very clean. The staff are all very friendly and extremely helpful. We were in Tenerife block which was convenient, quiet and provided a good view of the sea and the pool. As it was a special occasion we asked the travel agent to e-mail a request for a room high up with views, this did not materialise and the special occasion birthday was totally ignored. However our stay for a week was very good and we can thoroughly recommend this hotel. On arrival there was a very long queue at reception which took a while to clear though fizzy wine was provided and some tapas which was very thoughtful. We seemed to have been missed off the list for a while and were given an uncleaned room initially though when the mistake was pointed out to the staff on reception they quickly sorted out the problem. A good overall experience but the weather on this side of the island can be iffy in March.

And

Room Tip: Try to e-mail in advance for a room high up but most of the rooms seem very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We spent two weeks here in February and thoroughly enjoyed it.

I emailed the hotel prior to arrival and asked for an apartment on a high floor with a sea view. We were given room 234 which was excellent, the views from the living area and bedroom were amazing. The kitchen area is very basic but served our needs as we only breakfast and have the occasional lunch in. The rooms were cleaned every day and linen and towels changed on request.

All the staff in the hotel were good, especially Theresa in the bar. The entertainment was a bit repetitive but that didn't bother us unduly as we like a quiet time and enjoyed some excellent meals at local restaurants.

Would recommend El Rincon, Sadi and especially Bar Parrilla La Habana - the steaks in here are fantastic and very reasonably priced. One to avoid is Bodeguita - the pork chops I had were inedible - could not even cut them with a knife, when we complained we were treated like lepers and given no apology!

All in all we had a great holiday it was our second holiday in La Palma and certainly won't be our last.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Good value accomadation, quiet, comfortable, a get-a-way from it all holiday in a nice resort. Las Olas has a nice pool area, good for families and couples who want to just unwind. Good value for money holiday.
Word of warning, do not hire a car from ORLANDO RENT A CAR, they operate a scam in this resort, myself and many other people have been duped into paying a large deposit which they do not return, but you don't know until you arrive home and find that your credit card has been fraudulenty debited, beware!
Do not let this put you off going to the Hotel Las Olas or La Palma it is a lovely place.

Room Tip: Request a sea view, there is no extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Francis12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Just returned from our first visit to LA PALMA having stayed at LAS OLAS for seven nights on a self catering basis.
Very efficient and pleasant reception staff, the free champagne type drink was most welcome on arrival!
We were given a top floor room, (246), which had excellent views over the hotels gardens, pools and the sea beyond.
Very good sized lounge, with small adequately stocked kitchenette, twin electric hob, microwave and fridge etc. Some people hire a kettle, but there really is no need, we just poured a couple of cups of water into one of the pans and it was boiling in no time!
Bedroom was large, comfy beds, with lots of clothes hanging facilities and a safe, bathroom, with full sized bath was excellent, cleaned daily, plenty of towels, maids came both in the morning and and at dusk. Extra pillows and blankets we delivered to the room on request.
Lovely pools, but sadly, they were not heated, pleasant gardens.
Breakfast, at 6 Euros per person, was good value, we had our evening meals at various places in the area.
If we return to the Island we will stay at LAS OLAS again, in the meantime would have no hesitation in suggesting that others should do so.
A lovely place with happy professional staff, to whom we say a jolly big thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had room 246, quiet, with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank northernernw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa De Los Cancajos
10.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
#1 of 9 in Tazacorte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda San Jorge
Hacienda San Jorge
#1 of 14 in Brena Baja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Taburiente Playa
H10 Taburiente Playa
#2 of 4 in Playa De Los Cancajos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Pri...
#1 of 7 in Fuencaliente de la Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,975 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sol La Palma Hotel
Sol La Palma Hotel
#1 of 6 in Puerto Naos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel La Palma Romantica
Hotel La Palma Romantica
#1 of 1 in Barlovento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Olas

Property: Hotel Las Olas
Address: | C/Salinas Nº42, 38711 Playa De Los Cancajos, La Palma, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Playa De Los Cancajos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Playa De Los Cancajos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Olas 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Apartamento Las Olas is a 7-minute walk from Cancajos Beach, and a 3-minute drive from La Palma Airport. The complex features outdoor swimming pools, a gym and free Wi-Fi zone.All apartments Hotel-Apartamento Las Olas have a balcony or terrace and a living area with satellite TV. Guests can cook in the well-equipped kitchens, and there is a handy mini supermarket on site.The aparthotel offers a large sun terrace with loungers and views of the sea and mountains. There is a paddle tennis court, beauty salon and massage service. Bicycle rental can be arranged at the 24-hour reception.Secure parking is available on-site and an airport shuttle service is available. Las Olas is less than a 10-minute drive from the island's capital, Santa Cruz de la Palma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Las Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Las Olas Hotel Playa De Los Cancajos
Hotel Las Olas La Palma/Playa De Los Cancajos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing