We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Return to Las Olas”
Review of Hotel Las Olas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Las Olas
Manchester,
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Will Return to Las Olas”
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Having read a few of the reviews on T/A was a bit concerned. But all 4 of us (2 teenage boys) had a great holiday using Las Olas as our base. The apartments are very clean and fairly spacious (compared to some we have stayed at). We didn't book B&B/half board as we had read some comments on here and prefer to sample the local restaurants anyway so can't comment on the food except to say the snacks at the pool bar were reasonable and well priced. The restaurant La Ola within the grounds was good and offered a reasonable 3 course (choice of 2 starter/2 main and desert for E9.50 - very reasonable and well prepared). If possible would suggest you ask for a room in the block "Tenerife" as this overlooks the pool and we felt it was the best situated in the complex and we were fortunate to be allocated our room there.

Would like to add that we never had a problem with hot water and it was always available on our return from a day out!

Would recommend a hire car as you can't appreciate what a lovely and diverse island La Palma is from the resorts - there is a v good bus service that you could use but it is still nice to get "off the beaten track".

All in all if we return to La Palma would not hesitate to stay at the Aparthotel Las Olas.

  • Liked — Location - close to airport and amenities
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rach64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    264
    108
    27
    12
See reviews for
153
314
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2008

Having read a couple of poor reviews after booking, we were prepared for the worst but were pleasantly surprised. Attractive complex with spacious rooms. (Take a travel kettle) Very good choice at breakfast with delicious fresh bread (only lacked British cereals). Choice and quality of hot meal at dinner was poor but salad and dessert choice OK. A microwave was provided to re-heat food that had cooled off.

If you are prepared to eat out in the evening there are some excellent restaurants nearby (especially the 'Sadi'). Plenty of hot water, helpful staff. Island is beautiful and peaceful with some great walks

  • Liked — Spacious
  • Disliked — Hot Dinner Choice
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BandMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2008

Having read previous reveiws, i always leave it up to myself to really find out what places and accomidation is like. As previously said there could be a bit more to choose with main courses at the evening meal. The accomadation is of the usual 3 star standard with plenty of space in the rooms. The surrounding area is great with plenty of places to walk, and the island has not been ruined by the Chicken and Chips and Burger brigade. Know doubt the tourist trade will grow but i hope this does not ruin the island. I will certainly go back to La Palma

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpy2Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2008

souless apartments, disgusting evening meal, brekfast the same every morning, and the worst thing, a miniature hot water tank that had to heat up on the 'key' system, so when you get in from a day sightseeing you have to wait an hour for hot water, and then only enough for a shallow bath or quick shower. hotel obviously run on a shoestring. certainly wouldnl't recommend it. Hacienda same category and much nicer

  • Liked — size of room
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MBGreatBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral merseyside,england
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2008

spacious apartments set on attractive complex very close to airport.quiet location but 15min walk to beach.breakfast great but only one choice for meat,fish and veg+soup and salad at night,though about 10 choices of puds.entertainment twice weekly just 2 duos singing.would advise b and b only .

  • Liked — large apartment
  • Disliked — poor choice at evening meal
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank babsannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

Have just returned from a week at this hotel. The apartment was spotless but on the downside the decor is just a little tired looking. A fresh coat of paint and some updating of the soft furnishings would help. The beds were very comfortable and exceptionally big singles. The sheets were changed after 3 days which was a pleasant surprise. Plenty of cupboard space and hangers.

All the staff were very pleasant. The food was well presented but lacked a little imagination. Perhaps a check to watch what dishes are needing refilled would help.

The situation is perfect with the pool looking straight out to sea and on clear days Tenerife and La Gomera are visible.

On the downside, our room was overlooking the car park and it could be noisy. Although we were there in September, we found the bedroom very hot at night - there is no doubt that in the summer months the heat would be unbearable. Even a fan would have been helpful.

There was evening entertainment but we felt it was geared to the mainly Spanish clientele. Having said that I think we were the only British in the hotel!

The island is beautiful and we enjoyed the rest and relaxtion.

  • Liked — Situation
  • Disliked — Entertainment
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank TenerifeDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gravesend, kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2005

We booked a late availability allocation on arrival holiday and struck lucky with the Las Olas Aparthotel. It was definitely superior to other 3* accommodation that we have stayed at before. The apartment was very modern, simply but well furnished, very well maintained and being on the ground floor very handy for the pool. The complex was made up of seven buildings all varying in style, a real change from the uniform apartment blocks that are so common elsewhere.

There was a buffet style restaurant, an a la carte restaurant and the poolside bar served lunch and we found all three good value for money and good quality food. There were also several good restaurants within easy walking distance.

I would thoroughly recommend Las Olas for a relaxing break, possibly not as a family resort as there did not seem to be much in the area for young children although there were two smaller pools as well as the main swimming pool.

I would definitely return to Las Olas although it would appear that none of the major tour operators have featured La Palma in their brochures this year.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa De Los Cancajos
0.3 mi away
H10 Taburiente Playa
H10 Taburiente Playa
#2 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
922 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda San Jorge
Hacienda San Jorge
#1 of 13 in Brena Baja
551 reviews
12.1 mi away
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Pri...
#1 of 6 in Fuencaliente de la Palma
4,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
#1 of 9 in Tazacorte
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Olas
Hotel Las Olas
#4 of 13 in Brena Baja
51 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sol La Palma Hotel
Sol La Palma Hotel
#1 of 6 in Puerto Naos
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Olas

Property: Hotel Las Olas
Address: C/ Travesia Los Cancajos N 2, 38712 Playa De Los Cancajos, La Palma, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Playa De Los Cancajos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa De Los Cancajos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Olas 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Apartamento Las Olas is a 7-minute walk from Cancajos Beach, and a 3-minute drive from La Palma Airport. The complex features outdoor swimming pools, a gym and free Wi-Fi zone.All apartments Hotel-Apartamento Las Olas have a balcony or terrace and a living area with satellite TV. Guests can cook in the well-equipped kitchens, and there is a handy mini supermarket on site.The aparthotel offers a large sun terrace with loungers and views of the sea and mountains. There is a paddle tennis court, beauty salon and massage service. Bicycle rental can be arranged at the 24-hour reception.Secure parking is available on-site and an airport shuttle service is available. Las Olas is less than a 10-minute drive from the island's capital, Santa Cruz de la Palma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Las Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Las Olas Hotel Playa De Los Cancajos
Hotel Las Olas La Palma/Playa De Los Cancajos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing