We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, delightful Island”
Review of Hotel Las Olas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Las Olas
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, delightful Island”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a comfortable hotel with friendly staff, enjoys a good location near the airport (but not so close that it was a nuisance) and has transport links to the rest of this delightful Island. The view from our balcony overlooked the Atlantic and on the horizon sat Tenerife and Gomera - beautiful. We booked on a bed and breakfast basis and can confirm that the restaurant provided a varied buffet breakfast. For what we paid I consider this hotel to be exceptional value. It is not the place to go if your looking to have a rave up. It is the place to stay if you seek peace and relaxation.
We hired a car, not absolutely essential as I understand buses are frequent, and explored Las Palmas - the scenery in places is gobsmacking. Deep pine clad ravines, soaring mountains and volcanoes - lots of volcanoes small, medium and very large. The Island is verdant and because of its origins enjoys a wonderful abundance of flora from Banana plantations to cacti. We also went whale watching on the Fancy Two out off Tazacorte and saw Pilot Whales and Bottlenosed Dolphins.
The capital Santa Cruz is a pretty town nestling in what looks like an ancient volcano that has collapsed into the sea. It boasts numerous small plazas, plentiful restaurants which weren't overly expensive and a couple of Museums.
Of all the reasons to visit Las Palmas and stay in the Las Olas not least is the genuine affability and willingness to help of the locals. Lovely people, lovely Island we will return - I can imagine the Spring being splendid!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FrankieMollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    270
    111
    28
    12
See reviews for
157
319
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We spent a week there at the beginning of December on a self-catering basis and it was our first trip to La Palma.

La Palma is much better value in general comparing to its bigger sisters, so you get much more for less money. The rooms in Las Olas were much more spacious than what we're used to and eating out was a lot cheaper. We ate mainly at Mi Rincon on the main road and visited Sadi Restaurant (excellent fish). The most expensive meal was just over 70 euro and that's with bells & whistles. You'll be pushed to pay in excess of 12 euro for a main course. Seafood paella for two was 28 euro at Mi Rincon and was very tasty!

Do not bother bringing evening wear, this is really not the look that goes. It is a bit nippy during winter months, so it's best you keep your golden strap sandals and sleeveless flowing dress for more tropical climes. Apart from this, the place seems to be frequented by hikers and sporty types, so hardly anybody dresses up and everything is very informal, which was right up our street!

We were disappointed with the weather as it was overcast most days and we craved the sunshine, but the views from the hotel are magnificent and there's plenty of walking to do. We walked to Santa Cruz twice and it takes around 2 hours to get there. Taxi back is between 7 and 8 euro with a tip! If you're after some R&R that's definitely the place to go!

The airport's runway is very close to the hotel, but the air traffic is very scarce and they don't fly at night, so it doesn't really matter.

Cleaning was very regular. Everybody seems to be mentioning the lack of a kettle, but a small pot does the job, so there's nothing stopping you making a decent cuppa.

SPAR seems to be the main supermarket chain on the island and you will find one near the hotel Taburiente, some 5 minutes away. There's also a small shop on the other side of the complex and you can get your fresh bread from there. There's another supermarket not far from Sadi restaurant and that one has the biggest choice.

Overall, this would have been an excellent holiday, had the weather rose to our expectations.

One thing not to miss is the excursion to El Roque de Los Muchachos the highest peak of La Palma at 2426m above sea level - absolutely breathtaking mountain views and scenery. This really made the difference for us (we went through Thomsons). Booking through a rep the trip was 41 euro per person and worth every penny!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Agimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Good value for a cheapie fortnight at Xmas. Room-apartment a reasonable size. Cleaners averaged five minutes to do the daily clean. Sufficient kitchen utensils. Quiet. Mature clients, mainly north-east European. Beach about a ten minute stroll. Food variable, usually tepid, and pretty unremarkable, although the fish was pretty good - hake, sole, cod, etc. Food was on a weekly rota so everything repeated on two week stay. Recycled leftovers seemed a normal and occasionally imaginative custom. Staff polite and capable. Wi-Fi in reception area seemed strongest. Good location. Pool water very cold. Gardens pleasant. Better than staying in chilly wet England.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlackBagEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

.Booked this as a last minute deal and we were not disappointed. The apartments are a good size, the beds comfortable, everywhere very clean, our only small complaint is that there is not a lot of kitchen equiupment, only 2 medium sized glasses, 2 very tiny glasses, 2 cups etc but this was not really a problem.There is a microwave and 2 cooking rings but no kettle or toaster but these can be hired at reception for a deposit of 10 euros which you get back when you return the items.
We had an apartment with a sea view, large balcony , warm enough to sit out at night and look at the stars and the sunrise in a morning, it was delightful!
The apartment was cleaned every day to a high standard, the grounds are immaculately kept. Free wifi which I picked up on our balcony. The staff are all friendly and helpful.
Santa Cruz town is a delight and can be reached easily from here, it is an authentic Spanish town not too large with cobbled streets and small boutique type shops (not expensive ).The town has a lovely atmosphere and ambience all the local people are friendly and welcoming and not pushy.
The weather on this side of the island can be cloudy but having said that we had some lovely sunny mornings and went on the beach and in the sea which was suprisingly warm.
Transfer to the apartment took 5 minutes , drive to the top of the road from the apartments and you look down on the airport but do not let this put you off thinking there will be lots of noise from the aircraft it is not a busy airport therefore not that many planes but when they do take off you can sit and watch them and we found it quite exiting !
Would highly recommend Las Olas for a self catering holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juanita22Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just returned from a very enjoyable week at Las Olas. We had a room in Lanzarote block so had WiFi in room which was a big plus for us. The rooms were large and clean, the food was good, especially breakfast, the evening meal was fine but a bit more variety would of been nice. The pool area was very nice although the pools too cold to go in at this time of year.

One thing which would of improved the room is a kettle, but we did know in advance and took our own.

The dining room was very nice and staff quick to clear tables and friendly, the one critisicm would be the layout of table for breakfast drinks, it didnt flow, people were walking round each other as you had cups at one end and tea bags etc at other with the drinks urns in the middle, could easily be more streamlined. A slight annoyance but nothing too spoil holiday.

On the whole very enjoyable week, would go again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequentraveller171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Comfortable apartments in this hotel in La Palma. The buildings are a bit tired but the rooms are very large with comfortable beds. A bit mean on self-catering equipment - just 2 cups, 2 glasses etc and no chopping board or kettle. Free wifi available, we could pick it up from our balcony in La Palma block. Fantastic sea view. La Palma is a great island for winter walking - spectacular scenery and excellent waymarking but don't expect sun every day on this side of the Island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank When_is_next_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herefordshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Reviewing this aparthotel, based on paying £350 pp for the holiday (flight, apartment, and half board)
The apartment was simple but clean, and did have amazing views out over the sea. The kitchenette had a fridge, microwave and 2 ring electric hob, and basic utensils. Huge bed (2 x 3/4 beds pushed together)
I wasnt expecting much of the food, but actually it was fine. Plenty of chioce at breakfast and in the evening. Normally 1 fish dish, and a couple of meat choices. I had fish all week, and I have to say it ranged from good, to really good. A choice of veg or salad to accompany. For the money we paid, no complaints.
The staff are pleasant and friendly, and the hotel grounds and poolside areas are spotless.
It does seem to appeal to... shall we say the more mature traveller, don't come here if you are 21 and want to party! The upside of this for us, was that it was really quiet at night.
The Island is pretty, realatively un touristy, and the buses are good and cheap. Lots of good walking in the national parks, amazing mountains and old volcano's to see.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sandstone1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa De Los Cancajos
0.3 mi away
H10 Taburiente Playa
H10 Taburiente Playa
#2 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
934 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hacienda San Jorge
Hacienda San Jorge
#1 of 13 in Brena Baja
556 reviews
12.1 mi away
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Pri...
#1 of 6 in Fuencaliente de la Palma
4,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Olas
Hotel Las Olas
#4 of 13 in Brena Baja
54 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sol La Palma Hotel
Sol La Palma Hotel
#1 of 6 in Puerto Naos
950 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
#1 of 9 in Tazacorte
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Olas

Property: Hotel Las Olas
Address: C/ Travesia Los Cancajos N 2, 38712 Playa De Los Cancajos, La Palma, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Playa De Los Cancajos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa De Los Cancajos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Olas 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Apartamento Las Olas is a 7-minute walk from Cancajos Beach, and a 3-minute drive from La Palma Airport. The complex features outdoor swimming pools, a gym and free Wi-Fi zone.All apartments Hotel-Apartamento Las Olas have a balcony or terrace and a living area with satellite TV. Guests can cook in the well-equipped kitchens, and there is a handy mini supermarket on site.The aparthotel offers a large sun terrace with loungers and views of the sea and mountains. There is a paddle tennis court, beauty salon and massage service. Bicycle rental can be arranged at the 24-hour reception.Secure parking is available on-site and an airport shuttle service is available. Las Olas is less than a 10-minute drive from the island's capital, Santa Cruz de la Palma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Las Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Las Olas Hotel Playa De Los Cancajos
Hotel Las Olas La Palma/Playa De Los Cancajos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing