We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H10 Taburiente Playa
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

On the whole we had a lovely weeks holiday at this hotel. I agree that there are some points that need to be upgraded, the carpets in the bar area are threadbare in places. The rooms are clean and quite roomy. We had a lovely view over the pool area and the sea. There are no problems getting a sun lounger at any time of the day but look for one that's not saggy. The staff are truly the biggest asset, there is nothing to much trouble for them and they are always smiling, especially the guy in the bar. They are very hard working and nothing seems to be any problem for them. The food is plentiful even if we didn't always know what is was we were eating, but it all tasted great. Unfortunately the entertainment is awful in the evenings. Over the course of a week we saw four different acts, each just as bad as the other. We would of stayed in the bar longer drinking the lovely cocktails had the entertainment been entertaining. As it was we were generally back in our room by 9:30 watching the only channel that showed movies in English. That's the other point, tv's need to be upgraded. I know that you don't go away to watch tv but its nice to sometimes watch something. Generally though it was a very relaxing holiday.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jules558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    387
    231
    57
    24
See reviews for
151
536
49
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

No atmosphere, hotel tired. Not a 4 star. Food nice but repetitive and Uninspirational. Strange massage. Walking good and staff were very friendly. Had a bottle of champagne brought to me for my bday.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Portugal611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spent a week at the Taburiente PLaya, and were very disappointed as it is certainly not up to four star standard. It badly needs refurbishment - there are threadbare patches in the carpets and graffiti in the lifts, our bathroom was dingy and the shower did not work properly.

The public areas of the hotel are well kept, particularly the pool area and plants, which were immaculate, and the atrium lounge with hanging plants and fish pool is impressive.

As far as the food is concerned, we always found something to eat from, the wide choice on offer, particularly at breakfast. Bearing in mind that hotel guests are from a variety of nationalities and the food has to appeal to all of them, the kitchen staff did well. We generally chose the ready cooked food prepared by the very friendly Carmen, and we thought the choice of fresh salad was very good indeed.

Other guests have commented on the room cleaning but we were unlucky in this respect, perhaps because several maids cleaned our room that week so the standard varied. One day our room was not cleaned at all, toiletries and towels were not replenished, and a dirty cleaning cloth was left on the table.

There was no noticeable management presence in the hotel, nor in the dining room, which made it all feel very impersonal.

La Palma is a beautiful island, ideal for a walking holiday or just relaxing in an unspoilt place away from mass tourism. There is a good local bus service and we enjoyed the excursion to the interior of the island.

We would return to La Palma - but not to the Taburiente Playa unless it pulls up its socks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zippypoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed for 1 week from 15 March and found the hotel to be as good as the 2 previous times we have visited.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful, especially David in the salon bar.
The rooms are comfortable and kept spotlessly clean by the very hard working maids, as are all the ;public areas.
We had a south facing room with views out towards Tenerife and on most days we could see Teide in the distance, and although only a short distance from the airport, noise is not a problem and we found it interesting to watch the few planes a day land and take off.

Room Tip: Choose a south facing room for views of ocean and airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We returned from La Palma on the 15th March, Had a lovely stay at the H10 Taburiente Playa.
The hotel is exeptionally clean, The food is excellent, so much to choose from, breakfast really good, looked forward to it each day. Room spacious, bed enormous,view very nice overlooking the sea. Mainly older people at this time of year 55-65 although some younger some older. Not much in the way of entertainment, just a singer and organist with backing music,
they were good if you like that sort of thing. However we went for a quiet break and were not disappointed. Nice swimmimng pools, one heated. Close to the beach which is also nice.
A nice island to visit. Car recommended although busses are available.
Take a trip up to the observatories, breathtaking views.Visit Santa cruz for some shops an hours walk or 10 minute bus ride. WARNING: Don't take travellers cheques, nowhere will cash them, as
one elderly couple found out, when we were there, and they had no bank cards with them so couldn't do any of the trips they had planned.
I would definitely use this hotel again, no problem at all being near the airport infact a bonus.

Room Tip: Sea view best, and probably the quieter side, East facing rooms gave a view of Santa Cruz and the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NorfolkJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I agree with other reviewers that some parts of the hotel are ready for reburbishment: our bathroom, though clean, was showing signs of age in a dodgy flush, displaced ceiling tiles and poor lighting. However, our room was agreeable, with adequate storage and a comfortable bed. Our balcony overlooked the pool area, but as the hotel was fairly quiet, this did not cause a problem. We asked about airconditioning and were immediately offered an alternative, north-facing room if we wished, but we declined, putting our feeling of being overheated to the sudden contrast with March weather in the UK! The staff in the hotel were all polite, helpful and efficient. The quality of the buffet dining was a little variable, but we did not have any difficulty finding something acceptable to eat at breakfast and dinner.
The island of La Palma offers dramatic and surprisingly varied scenery with many clearly signed routes. The local bus service is very reasonably priced, particularly if you purchase the "bono" card which gives a discount on all journeys and can be used for two people. The bus from outside the hotel takes you to Santa Cruz in about 10 minutes, from where you can catch connections to most parts of the island, making it possible to do linear as well as circular routes.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool could be noisy in the height of the season. There is a view of the runwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last week and found the overall experience to be disappointing the hotel desperately needs a refurbishment; the corridor outside our room smelt of damp, opening the windows would have helped; the food although in abundance was of poor quality particularly the breakfast. However, the staff were extremely helpful and courteous and the hotel was clean. But overall I didn't feel it was good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa De Los Cancajos
12.3 mi away
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Pri...
#1 of 6 in Fuencaliente de la Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Las Olas
Hotel Las Olas
#1 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sol La Palma Hotel
Sol La Palma Hotel
#1 of 6 in Puerto Naos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
#1 of 9 in Tazacorte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda San Jorge
Hacienda San Jorge
#1 of 13 in Brena Baja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel La Palma Romantica
Hotel La Palma Romantica
#1 of 1 in Barlovento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Taburiente Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Taburiente Playa

Property: H10 Taburiente Playa
Address: | A 300 metros de la Playa de los Cancajos, 38712 Playa De Los Cancajos, La Palma, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Playa De Los Cancajos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Playa De Los Cancajos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Taburiente Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H10 Taburiente Playa stands on the seafront, just 300 metres from the renowned Los Cancajos beach. The hotel's terraces with sea views, comfortable rooms, varied range of cuisine and large swimming pools make it the ideal place for your stay on the island. The bright rooms at the H10 Taburiente Playa have elegant and functional decor and are equipped with all the amenities needed to ensure a pleasant stay. The H10 Taburiente Playa offers its guests a full range of cuisine based on a selection of fresh produce and show cooking.​​ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your H10 Taburiente Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Taburiente Playa Hotel Playa De Los Cancajos
Hotasa Taburiente Playa Hotel
H10 Taburiente Playa La Palma/Playa De Los Cancajos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing