We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H10 Taburiente Playa
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We returned from La Palma on the 15th March, Had a lovely stay at the H10 Taburiente Playa.
The hotel is exeptionally clean, The food is excellent, so much to choose from, breakfast really good, looked forward to it each day. Room spacious, bed enormous,view very nice overlooking the sea. Mainly older people at this time of year 55-65 although some younger some older. Not much in the way of entertainment, just a singer and organist with backing music,
they were good if you like that sort of thing. However we went for a quiet break and were not disappointed. Nice swimmimng pools, one heated. Close to the beach which is also nice.
A nice island to visit. Car recommended although busses are available.
Take a trip up to the observatories, breathtaking views.Visit Santa cruz for some shops an hours walk or 10 minute bus ride. WARNING: Don't take travellers cheques, nowhere will cash them, as
one elderly couple found out, when we were there, and they had no bank cards with them so couldn't do any of the trips they had planned.
I would definitely use this hotel again, no problem at all being near the airport infact a bonus.

Room Tip: Sea view best, and probably the quieter side, East facing rooms gave a view of Santa Cruz and the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NorfolkJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

I agree with other reviewers that some parts of the hotel are ready for reburbishment: our bathroom, though clean, was showing signs of age in a dodgy flush, displaced ceiling tiles and poor lighting. However, our room was agreeable, with adequate storage and a comfortable bed. Our balcony overlooked the pool area, but as the hotel was fairly quiet, this did not cause a problem. We asked about airconditioning and were immediately offered an alternative, north-facing room if we wished, but we declined, putting our feeling of being overheated to the sudden contrast with March weather in the UK! The staff in the hotel were all polite, helpful and efficient. The quality of the buffet dining was a little variable, but we did not have any difficulty finding something acceptable to eat at breakfast and dinner.
The island of La Palma offers dramatic and surprisingly varied scenery with many clearly signed routes. The local bus service is very reasonably priced, particularly if you purchase the "bono" card which gives a discount on all journeys and can be used for two people. The bus from outside the hotel takes you to Santa Cruz in about 10 minutes, from where you can catch connections to most parts of the island, making it possible to do linear as well as circular routes.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool could be noisy in the height of the season. There is a view of the runwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last week and found the overall experience to be disappointing the hotel desperately needs a refurbishment; the corridor outside our room smelt of damp, opening the windows would have helped; the food although in abundance was of poor quality particularly the breakfast. However, the staff were extremely helpful and courteous and the hotel was clean. But overall I didn't feel it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hazel000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had read all the reviews on this site before travelling so we were not surprised by rather dated feel of the hotel. The rooms are large with plenty of storage and spotless bathroom. We emailed ahead and requested south facing rooms and were delighted to find we had rooms 415 and 416 looking south towards the airport with balconies over the pool. our first impressions of the dining was very good. There was a huge display of varied foods on the buffet section and fresh fish and chicken cooked on the grill while you waited along with a huge pan of freshly cooked paella. Service was very good too and wine prices about the same as you would expect to pay in a UK restaurant. By the end otf the week the dinners were rather predictable but in a hotel this size I suppose that is inevitable. On two nights we had to to queue for ages to get in the resaurant but that was because the airport had been closed due to the horrendous weather and the hotel was full to overflowing with guests unable to leave the island. La Palma is a lovely island, totally unspoilt and we would recommend hiring a car or a couple of days to see all the sights at your own pace. The heated pool was lovely for the beginning of March, the other pool was freezing !
As other people have said the entertainment was ok the first time you went to it but wore a little thin after that. Some different performances would have been very welcome.
We went for a relaxing break and, all in all, this filled the bill but if you are looking for excitement this is not the place for you.
We came home very disillusioned though. On our first day we went to reception to get pool towels and were asked for 15Euros in cash which would be refunded at the end of the holiday.
We returned the towels when we checked out and asked for the refund only to be told that they never take cash for towels, it should be added to room bill then taken off when towels returned.
They just would not beleive us that one of their staff had indeed, taken cash. All we got was shrugging of shoulders and "we do not take cash". So we had to leave for our flight with a very bad final impression of this hotel. BE WARNED ...DO NOT GIVE CASH FOR TOWELS !!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlamingDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, Director General at H10 Taburiente Playa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen the H10 Taburiente Playa Hotel to spend your holidays in La Palma.

I am glad to know that your experience in the hotel was good. Regarding your comments of the pool towels, I would like to inform that we never accept cash for deposits. The deposit of 15 € is charged to your room account and once you bring the towles back, the amount is taken off the room account. Keep in mind that every cash payment should be accompanied with its bill and you had no bill when you were asked by the receptionist. Maybe it was a misunderstanding and I am sorry that the end of your holidays had finished like this.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

An efficiently run hotel with all the facilities you'd expect of a 4 star holiday hotel. We used it as a base for a walking holiday - there's a bus twice a day into Santa Cruz with onward connections and it's only 10 minutes from the airport. During our stay there was a prolonged tropical storm and the airport was closed for 2 days resulting in an unexpected influx of 300+ extra guests. The staf coped incredibly well and retained their calm, friendly demeanour. Rooms are reasonably sized and equipped and kept spotlessly clean. The food array at breakfast and dinner is huge and changes daily including meat and fish grilled while you wait in the evening and omlettes freshly cooked in the morning. Public areas are very pleasant - big atrium with live plants cascading down from room internal corridors and fish ponds and cascades. Good pool and nearby beach for sun slugs. The house entertainment duo are fairly excruciating but some people seemed to like them and you can escape easily. Rooms had a mini-bar fridge - not stocked but they didn't seem to mind if you put your own beers and sandwich fillings in there. There's a Spar a few metres away. If you have a late check out they will allow you to keep your room on beyond midday but it costs 30 euros extra

Room Tip: All rooms seemed much the same but a few do face inland
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pgwswth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, Director General at H10 Taburiente Playa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your kind review. As you mentioned, There was a lot of poeple who couldn't go back home due to the tropical storm. We did our very best in order to cope with this situation and our reward is your recognition to our work.

I hope to see you in the H10 Taburiente Playa again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We wanted a simple holiday to escape the winter blues and we came home wanting to sample more of this wonderful Spanish island and resort - it was perfect! The hotel transfer is just 15 minutes away from the nearly new airport. From many rooms this can be seen in the distance, but the few flights do not give a problem at all. All aircraft have to avoid polluting the atmosphere of the island and therefore immediately turn out to sea, so very little disturbance.
The efficient bus service seems to travel the entire island every 30 minutes, making it very easy to explore and at €1.30 to €2. maximum per leg, why bother to endure the stress of driving, though there are plenty of good hire cars available at €30 per day complete. The roads are narrow and in very good condition, given the mountainous terrain. In order to access the National park of Caldera De Tabururiente you will need to organise a permit in advance, so why not make the use of the many guided tours. Our Thomson's German guide Rudy, was so knowledgable and passionate about the islands history, culture and agriculture, he was great company and very entertaining. With Banana plantations in every conceivable space, the local farming community earn more than most professionals elsewhere.
There is no crime and the national pride is illustrated by the many colourful cottages and attractive terraced gardens. The natives made for a perfect welcome to the Spanish culture. In fact I would go so far to say they are ahead of the French in their courtesy, food and art.
Each village has it's own well stocked mini-market, mostly Spar, with an abundance of fresh fruit and vegetables etc.
Due to the Volcanic nature, the coasts are very hilly, with few beaches available and the strength of the Atlantic swell would not make for safe swimming. The nearby beach does have tidal pools that are perfect for swimming and absolutely spotless with NO litter. The walking is fantastic although hilly. Their are signposts and illustrated guides and cabins everywhere, making it virtually impossible to get lost. Though don't venture alone, due to the rough terrain, although tracks and paths are given a rating.
Our own hotel, the H10 Taburiente displayed an enormous spread of food, which became its own downfall, for any criticism you may read elsewhere. To cater for 250+ rooms it is a buffet style, but of reasonable enough quality for the price you are paying. The lady grill chef was so welcoming, offering a range of freshly cooked food. There are so many Tapas style bars and restaurants nearby, so go out and enjoy the wonder that is Spanish food at its best. They all seem to take a great pride in the friendly service and you will receive more vegetables and fruit that French restaurants.
The hotel staff were all extremely friendly and it was very clean and comfortable. The main lobby terraced walled garden and streams make an amazing and impressive feature. Yes some of the interior and exterior are beginning to need a make-over, but I would highly recommend this hotel and its stunningly tranquil island. We asked for a quite room which looked to the north, so we did not get direct sunshine, most others do and overlook the fairly quiet pools and sun terrace. Don't expect perfect weather, for that is why it is so green and colourful.
With the immense wealth and self sustainable farming, as well as the political clout of the International Space Observatory, any future commercial tourism development its strictly banned. In fact to maintain the pure clean atmosphere required by the space station, industry itself is very restricted, thereby guaranteeing there is no pollution.
We can only add that perhaps you should only tell close friends to ensure it stays as perfect as we found it to be!

Room Tip: Rooms facing north are quiet, but lack the atmosphere of the main terraces. All balconies ensure per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, Director General at H10 Taburiente Playa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciete it and it encourages us to keep improving day by day.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

As others have said, a good hotel, but becoming a little tired at the edges.

The resort itself is very quiet (February), which leads you to the hotel bar / entertainment. Oh dear, as Spock may say "its life Jim, but not as we know it". But for the slightly older regular hotel clients which this hotel appeals to, the entertainment is fine.

My room was south facing onto the airport. I previously read the reports about being so close to the airport not being a problem, and it wasnt. To me, it was a bonus to overlook the airport, It was more like a side show. With so few planes landing and taking off, after a few days I started to look forward to it for something to watch. I have no interst in planes, other than a means of transport!

The evening meals are supplemented by freshly cooked "in front of your eyes" a constantly changing variety of meat and fish courses. These are done to your own preference. Fantastic.

Its a pity that the free wi fi is only available in the hotel recepton / bar area.

It was a nice touch that in February one of the hotel pools was heated.

Overall a nice hotel, but as it is so large and grand it can come across as bland and impersonal.

Would I use it again? Yes.

Room Tip: As Spanish hotel food in general is not served piping hot, do like I did, use the conveniently place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, Director General at H10 Taburiente Playa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our aim is to improve our services in order to satisfy our guests expectations, and it is grateful to read comments like this.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa De Los Cancajos
12.3 mi away
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Pri...
#1 of 6 in Fuencaliente de la Palma
4,937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda San Jorge
Hacienda San Jorge
#1 of 13 in Brena Baja
585 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sol La Palma Hotel by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Las Olas
Hotel Las Olas
#1 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
609 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
#1 of 9 in Tazacorte
264 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel La Palma Romantica
Hotel La Palma Romantica
#1 of 1 in Barlovento
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Taburiente Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Taburiente Playa

Address: | A 300 metros de la Playa de los Cancajos, 38712 Playa De Los Cancajos, La Palma, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Playa De Los Cancajos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Playa De Los Cancajos
Price Range: $77 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Taburiente Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H10 Taburiente Playa stands on the seafront, just 300 metres from the renowned Los Cancajos beach. The hotel's terraces with sea views, comfortable rooms, varied range of cuisine and large swimming pools make it the ideal place for your stay on the island. The bright rooms at the H10 Taburiente Playa have elegant and functional decor and are equipped with all the amenities needed to ensure a pleasant stay. The H10 Taburiente Playa offers its guests a full range of cuisine based on a selection of fresh produce and show cooking.​​ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your H10 Taburiente Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Taburiente Playa Hotel Playa De Los Cancajos
Hotasa Taburiente Playa Hotel
H10 Taburiente Playa La Palma/Playa De Los Cancajos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing