We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with fantastic view”

Paradiso Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 47 Restaurants in Jelsa
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food with fantastic view”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We visited Jelsa only for a day, and going from the beach we were looking for a nice place to have an early dinner. We are a family of five with three kids from 8 to 15 years old. We selected this place due to a menu that could satisfy both adults and kids, not to mention the great view this place could offer.

We had a dinner consisting of both traditional Croatian dishes and continental pasta finished of with different desserts including a Croatian delicious fruitcake. With the meal adults had some of their red house wine. The meal was great, and the wine was as expected, young but ok with our dishes.

Our waiter did an great job and we did not have to wait long for our orders. The experience was topped when we where offered a great sweet desert wine on the house.

In all, this was a great experience and also the bill was not a shock compared to the quality of food, service and beautiful view of the harbour areas. We would love to come back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trondeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    6
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hvar, Croatia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Good food, good wiev, simple & good, seaside is perfect, not so expensive compared with lunch in western Europe!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food, but expensive”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We tried this restaurant for a strange reason by our friend (he stayed in jelsa many years ago and he remembered about this restaurant)
anyway...the waiter was able to speak a very good italian and he suggested many solutions to have a good dinner
A plate with 6-7 fresh fishes was offered to see before the choice... We took rockfish , cooked by grill
We had shrimps buzzara (wonderful) and also grilled , vegetables and many other good fresh fishes...at the and of dinner we were completly full and satisfied...
The price honest , considering what we ate and about the quality and the appreciable way to cook the food
4 people, 1400 kuna totally, about 50 euro each person....for a dinner like that for sure in Italy we have to pay 70-80 euro for person, nobody the day after stayed bad and this is very important
I recommend this restaurant if you want quality and enjoy , and you dont care to safe money

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovely_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I totally agree with the previous reviewer. I could have written the very same review myself. We were there yesterday - 3 adults and 2 small children - hoping to get a bite to eat because outside of Jelsa there are practically NO restaurants or even a possibility to buy something basic to feed the kids. So we decided to try this restaurant on our way (located just the outskirts of Jelsa).

At the resturant, the fish was brought to our table by a very unfriendly waiter and we were not given menus either. I had to ask for the menus and the waiter was not only annoyed, but was extremely rude when I started asking questions about the food. He just kept pushing the fish.....

The grilled calamari was less then an appetizer size for 70 Kuna!! and the fish soup tasted really awful...
The homemade wine was nothing special - watery - but was more expensive than anywhere else.

In a nutshell: Awful service, very expensive and the food taste LESS than average. Don't waste your money here.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank seashell2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Would give a higher score but...”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Our food was good but the hard sell to go with the lobster dish was very annoying. Many places on Hvar have fresh fish displayed in a case for you to choose from if thats what you would like to have. At Paradiso the waiter brought the fish to the table and was insisting we have the lobster dish. We had not been given menus and when we asked for them the waiter seemed annoyed. We would have left at this point but lunch options are limited in Jelsa and we were starving. When we did get the menu we noticed that the lobster dish he was pushing on us was 600HK ($115 US)!!!! Obviously we decided NOT to do the lobster. We had octopus salad (good), scampi buzara (very good) & seafood risotto (average). The view is AMAZING. So normally I would give 4/5 starts for the food but the lobster incident was annoying enough to drop the overall rating to 3/5.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradiso Restaurant also viewed

Jelsa, Hvar Island
Jelsa, Hvar Island
 
Jelsa, Hvar Island
Jelsa, Hvar Island
 
Jelsa, Hvar Island
 

Been to Paradiso Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing