We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time”
Review of Hotel Hvar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hvar
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jelsa
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Hotel is in nice location, with sea view and 10 min walk from the cosy center of Jelsa town. For children there is a beach with shalow water and sand just a few min walk away. By car, there there are great places to visit around (Soline, Zavala, Pakleni otoci - Jerolim...).
The food was great, rooms are ok, lacking aircondition in hot and humid days. Its a great stay if you are not over-expecting.

Room Tip: Rooms to the sea side are far better, because of the view and the sun exposure (other side is quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lkssql
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 187 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2011

Nice hotel situated in a good place - walk down hill to the town of Jelsa, there is also a small sandy beach at the foot of the hill. Really enjoyed the break here, would definitely go back. Visited Hvar town one day which was nice and worth a visit . Restaurants in the town all really helpful and excellent food - Italian popular here.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrie2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We last stayed at this hotel 29 years ago in 1981 when it was the Hotel Mina. To our delight we found that not only had the hotel maintained the same character after so many years but incredibly our waiter from 1981, Dragan, was still at the hotel, although these days he works at the Pool Bar.
There were obviously changes, back in 1981 it was waiter service in the restaurant, now it is buffet style. However the standard of the food has improved tremendously and we were impressed with the variety of choice.
The hotel provides entertainment most nights, this is fine when it is outside on the terrace, but on nights it is inside unfortunately the bar really lacks any ambience.
All the hotel staff were very friendly and always found the time to talk.
As with the hotel, Jelsa has not altered and still retains an olde world charm.
The only disappointment was that the FKK boats no longer operate to Zeveco Island.
We took a day trip from Jelsa Harbour to Bol on the island of Brac and were fortunate enough to encounter a pod of 12 dolphins on the way over and would recommend this trip.
We booked our holiday through Balkan Travel and would do so again as their representatives at Split Airport and en route to the Hotel had everything well organised, from arranging a late meal in the overnight hotel in Split, (the flight arrives too late to catch the last ferry), having the ferry tickets ready and waiting, to the minibus at Starigrad port.
After so many years we wondered if we would be disappointed but in fact we thoroughly enjoyed our vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank notleyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

After seeing pictures of the Hotel Mina/Hvar in Jelsa i was a bit worried what it would be like, as the pictures werent great!
Anyway after arriving at the hotel late we found that they had put some food out especially for us, which was a nice touch. The room was comfortable and very clean.
The decor was a bit dated but i think they where renovating some of the rooms when we were there. The main thing i was happy about though was the fact everything seemed very clean and although the bathroom was quite small it had a really good shower, which was very important!
The food was average, but not horrible. It was just basic food, nothing 'authentic', which was a shame.
There was lots of activities going on in and around the hotel, and i thought the indoor swimming pool was lovely. Didnt like the look of the outdoor one though!
The hotel was in a great location just a few steps from the beautifully clear sea and a few more steps to the town centre.
The only big critisism i have was that i found a lot of the staff to be rude, especially 'Helga' in the restaurant!
Dont let that stop you though, just dont expect 5 star service.
Overall a pleasent hotel in a gorgeous location, where its very difficult to get bored!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank A9881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2005

The Hotel Mina is an awful Hotel - the main building resembles an inner city block of flats, the pool is tiny and horrible, the restaurant is awful. When we arrived we were given a room that faced away from the sea even though we had booked sea view rooms through Holiday Options (If Holiday Options was a hotel it would be the Hotel Mina - this is how highly I rate them)- we then had to wait 3 days before we could move rooms. The rooms are all basic to say the least, lots of 80's MFI furniture and a 'white' bath had a really horrible red stain which was huge.

If you have already booked to go to this Hotel it may be best to look on the bright side and see it as a comical trip and just laugh each time you are surprised by the hotel - after you finish dinner you are given a menu and asked what you would like to have for dinner the following day???? hahahaha brilliant!

To be fair the hotel is only a 2 star - oddly holiday options gives the hotel a 3 star rating which is a little worrying?

Jelsa on the other hand is beautiful!

  • Stayed: August 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank almondm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank miskahoskova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bikerdiver66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jelsa
13.5 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
13.4 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
13.1 mi away
The Palace Hvar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
455 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Lavanda
Hotel Lavanda
#1 of 5 in Stari Grad
86 reviews
13.2 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hvar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hvar

Address: Mala banda BB, Jelsa, Hvar Island 21465, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Jelsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jelsa
Price Range: $64 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hvar 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hvar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hvar Jelsa, Hvar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing