We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding - Lovely owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
School Cottages Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Farmborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pewsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding - Lovely owner”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Just wanted to write to say how lovely Tim was.

I was searching for a cottage to stay before, during and after our wedding at Priston Mill in March, most importantly I needed somewhere to accommodate my bridal party before the wedding.
From the pictures a feel in love with the cottage and contacted Tim via email to book.
Tim was very helpful, pleasant and extremely kind.
He not only explained that he felt his cottage wouldn't be big enough for a group ( of 6 ) getting ready for a wedding, he offered for us to visit them before booking and selflessly recommended a lovely cottage just down the road which was perfect for us and had such a beautiful grounds for our photos.

Not many people out there who would be so honest or recommend other competitors !!
Thank you so much Tim.
Hope to come stay with you for our 1st anniversary

Lacey and Keith

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
172
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in School Cottages B&B. We found the perfect mixture of quiet and peaceful space in the countryside, surrounded by beautiful gardens and delightful animals, coupled with lots to do for days out in Bath and Wells. Tim was helpful, friendly and paid great attention to every detail during our stay. The breakfasts were a highlight of each day, especially the homemade jams!! We will return!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UsTwo062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My wife, son and I have just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at the self-catering cottage attached to the B&B. We wanted somewhere close enough to Bath but far enough out of the city centre for us to enjoy some 'space'. We certainly found that! The cottage is ideally situated 10-15 minutes drive away from Bath and is absolutely stunning inside. It was a true home from home. The cottage is easily large enough for a small family to stay in and the garden it looks out in to is a wonderful bonus. My son particularly enjoyed chatting to the goats and chickens that are housed in the far corner of the garden! If you're looking for somewhere to stay outside of either Bath or Bristol and have always shied away from a self-catering break, then let this be the first time you try something different. You will not be disappointed. We are already working out when we can go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife stayed here for a week to attend a nearby animal therapy course and I joined her for only one night, at the end of my business trip in NY. The place is very charming and easy to find! Tim was very friendly and even joined us for a drink at the local pub the evening I arrived.

I took a few photos of the newborn goats (I understand the parent goats are award-winning!) and also of the garden and surrounding area. The next day we continued our trip and explored the English countryside, but not before enjoying a nice breakfast made to order with amazing bread and jam, coffee and an egg muffin with extra crispy bacon (just as I had requested).

Great place ... looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: Not sure of the other rooms, but ours faced the garden (the front of the cottages) and was a nice lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoph_Klein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My family stayed at School Cottages last weekend. We hired the whole of the B & B and cottage for our sons wedding at Priston Mill. Nothing was too much trouble for Tim to provide, amend or go that extra mile for. The house is very comfortable and garden are a delight and the breakfast certainly prepared us for a long day ahead of us, including the freshly laid eggs from the chickens in the garden. We would certainly recommend School cottages to any friends and relatives staying in the vicinity. Thank you Tim

Room Tip: All rooms are well equipped and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val19572014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
115 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Some things in life are a must and this is one of them. Great for a visit to Bath with brilliant access via the nearby park and ride. The service and welcome is impossible to beat and the breakfast experience will live in your memory. The Pygmy goats are so cute and the garden is beautiful. This is the best way to relax in the South West. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneisspc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2014

A little piece of English paradise. This is a B&B that goes that little bit extra...I think it's the attention to detail that does it for me. The 5* service but retaining that personal touch.

From the moment we arrived we were impressed. We were welcomed with a pot of tea in front of the roaring log fire in the downstairs guest room. We loved the beautiful gardens, the spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed rooms, and the attentiveness and professionalism of our hosts.

You have to try the breakfast! Gorgeous full English with all locally sourced farm ingredients, and eggs from the hens down the garden. Large selection of fresh fruit salad, and cereals, and a variety of homemade jams, we tried them all, they're available to buy too!

We spent a lot of time in Bath which is just a very short 10-15 drive away, and found parking no problem. There's also a really easy park and ride. Our host Tim was on hand with helpful maps and advice/info about the best places to visit. The Roman Baths are superb, and also the new Museum in the Royal Crescent was fascinating, we wished we could have stayed longer.

Everything was perfect at School Cottages, lovely rooms, wonderful food, luxury products in the bathrooms, a perfect relaxing stay, close proximity to Bath....We will be back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmborough
5.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
8.8 mi away
Wheelbrook Mill
Wheelbrook Mill
#2 of 5 in Norton St Philip
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
6.2 mi away
Beech Cottage B&B
Beech Cottage B&B
#18 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School Cottages Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School Cottages Bed & Breakfast

Property: School Cottages Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Street, Farmborough, Bath BA2 0AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Farmborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Farmborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — School Cottages Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the pretty Somerset village of Farmborough, just minutes away from Bath, School Cottages Bed & Breakfast, set in lovely gardens, is the perfect combination of comfort, style and traditional charm. We believe the standard of our accommodation reflects our very high expectations of quality, attention to detail and service. Our stylish en-suite rooms offer affordable luxury, tastefully designed and furnished for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your School Cottages Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
School Cottages Hotel Farmborough
School Cottages Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing