We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just lovely...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
School Cottages Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Farmborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just lovely...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely 2 night stay at School Cottages and just had to write a review because we had such good service.
Easy to find, its location provided a perfect retreat for visiting Bath and nearby rural sites of interest (e.g. Chew Magna Lake + a plethora of local pubs/restaurants/farm shops).
We had a very friendly welcome and felt at home straight away.

The cottage itself is pretty and tasteful, modern-yet-traditional; a very pleasant room (with en-suite), cosy lounge, and conservatory overlooking the pretty garden, which has beautiful countryside character including chickens & adorable pygmy goats :)
Following a super-comfy & peaceful nights sleep, the breakfast menu goes above expectation - I had the flawless full english, and do keep some room for the homemade preserves!
Your host is exemplary: warm & kind, there with advice & tips on everything local, yet leaving you to enjoy your relaxing break. Perfect.

We also took advantage of the 'Spa break' package which included 2 hours at the Bath Thermae Spa (& towels + complimentary bottle of Sauv Blanc). I'm very glad we took this opportunity as not only was it more convenient but actually saved a few pounds too.

In short, the quality of the service and the accommodation exceeded our expectations.
Many thanks to Tim & Nige. We would certainly love to come back in Summer to see the garden in full bloom!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danwil50n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
171
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here recently and cannot praise it enough. It is an easy drive from Bath (approx 15/20 min) The room was cosy and well equipped with hairdryer, toiletries, wine glasses and bottle opener along with tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits. Bottled water also provided which was a nice touch. Breakfast was delicious with homemade jams and local produce used as part of the cooked breakfast and fresh eggs from the garden. A cosy lounge for guests to use which had a lovely log fire. Tim gave us a tray of tea and biscuits on arrival and was there to offer advise on places to eat for our evening meal. We choice The Carpenters Arms at Stanton Wick and can thoroughly recommend for its log fires and good food. School cottages has parking for four cars and provides excellent value for money. Thank you Tim for a most enjoyable stay and for providing us with an earlier breakfast due to our early start the following morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seday23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in the self-catering cottage over the new year period after we had been told about it by a friend.
We arrived to a friendly welcome from one of the owners who gave us a tour and answered our questions – although everything we asked turned out to be in a handy file provided. It also included a list of Restaurants in the area and distances from the cottage which we found really helpful (they also told us which ones were their favourites!).
The cottage was extremely clean which is important to me but I had no worries here.
They really have thought of everything – the kitchen has everything needed, it’s probably better equipped than my kitchen at home! All of the staples were provided (salt, pepper, oil, oxo cubes etc.) and they had kindly left us with a welcome package with a delicious bottle of fizz, cake and fresh egg’s from their chickens!
The two bedrooms were good for two couples, spacious and airy and had a real countryside look and feel.
We celebrated New Year in the cottage, cooking a lovely meal and enjoying it in the cosy living room – the real fire added a lovely atmosphere.
The next morning we went and saw their chickens and goats (in the grounds) and were told who was who – it was nice to get some fresh air after the evening and to speak to the Owner.
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would highly recommend – nothing was too much trouble (i.e. popping round for ketchup in our pyjama’s!) and we were made to feel at home.
It was difficult to leave the next day and we will be booking our next visit soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanworth in Arden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is definitely the best bed and breakfast we have stayed in. The welcome could not have been warmer and Tim is a perfect host. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the garden( and chickens). Breakfast was delicious, we visited the farm shop Tim uses to buy supplies to take home!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
facebook
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with two friends for two nights. We often stay in bed & breakfast but nothing as good as this. The welcome by Tim Bee(the owner) was very warm and friendly.The rooms had a double bed and ensuite with a shower were very clean and the ambiance was warm and overlooked the well kept gardens with goats and chickens. Tim made such delicious breakfasts, freshly laid eggs from his chickens, home made jams and bacon and sausages were from local farms.
Would we stay here again? Yes without a doubt.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I decided to go away for a belated Valentines treat. We stayed at School Cottages for 2 nights...we wished we could have stated for longer!

We arrived late on Friday evening where we were greeted by Tim, the owner. Even though it was Tim's birthday he had delayed his evening plans to greet us! Absolutely lovely man, great service and extremely humble.

The room we stayed in was so immaculate it looked as though it had only just been decorated..shiny taps, perfectly pressed linen and clean surfaces.

Both mornings we had breakfast, from a great selection. Fresh fruit, fresh eggs and beautiful home made jams...we had to buy some before we left!

It's a home from home, I will recommend to all! A great stay for all ages...

Well Done School Cottages!!

C.Wilson and C. Ireland

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our fourth stay at School Cottages and it was just as good as the previous times.

We received a wonderful warm welcome again from Tim with tea and biscuits in the lounge in front of the fire on arrival. Everywhere here is spotlessly clean and we always enjoy the lovely showers and especially the wonderful freshly cooked breakfasts with eggs from the hens in the garden and locally sourced produce and homemade jams - one of the reasons we keep going back!

All of the rooms are lovely and comfortable and well decorated, with plenty of teas, coffees, biscuits, and nice added touches like a bottle of water each and wine glasses.

The location of School Cottages is also excellent, close to Bath, Bristol, Wells, Cheddar and many other places, even on our 4th stay we're still discovering new places to see each time.

Would recommend in an instant - this feels like our home away from home and we feel so welcome and relaxed here. Looking forward to our next visit already!

Room Tip: We've now stayed in them all and they're all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmborough
5.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
8.8 mi away
Wheelbrook Mill
Wheelbrook Mill
#2 of 5 in Norton St Philip
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
6.2 mi away
Beech Cottage B&B
Beech Cottage B&B
#17 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School Cottages Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School Cottages Bed & Breakfast

Property: School Cottages Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Street, Farmborough, Bath BA2 0AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Farmborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Farmborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — School Cottages Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the pretty Somerset village of Farmborough, just minutes away from Bath, School Cottages Bed & Breakfast, set in lovely gardens, is the perfect combination of comfort, style and traditional charm. We believe the standard of our accommodation reflects our very high expectations of quality, attention to detail and service. Our stylish en-suite rooms offer affordable luxury, tastefully designed and furnished for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your School Cottages Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
School Cottages Hotel Farmborough
School Cottages Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing