We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
School Cottages Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Farmborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night on 8th December in a double B&B room. School Cottages is a gorgeous place to stay with friendly, helpful hosts. The room was gorgeous and very comfortable. The location is great for visiting Bath. Breakfast was amazing! Will definitely stay here again if we come back to this area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
175
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed at this great accommodation with our daughter for a few nights recently to enable us to visit the Roman Baths and other ancient sites and experience a day at the new Thermo Baths in Bath. That was part of our Bed and Breakfast package and included a bottle of wine School Cottages provided. That was a totally enjoyable experience from the moment we arrived when we were both made to feel most welcome by Tim, providing us with tea and biscuits by a log fire in the guests’ lounge, after showing us our room. Following which Tim on request offered us a local map and printed list of local pubs and restaurants he recommended in the area for meals, other than the excellent breakfast he offered us each morning. A breakfast complimented by Tim’s own free rooming chicken’s eggs that he freshly cooked as we preferred followed by delicious homemade jams and numerous refills of fresh coffee, tea and toast. The on-suite-bathroom was spotless as was the top quality bedding and towels. Tim even provided us with additional clean towels to take with us for use at the Thermo Baths. This B&B is a complete first class experience that we hope to repeat in the future and would recommend to all.

Room Tip: As this is the first time I stayed with our daughter can not comment on other rooms except to say we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is the second time that we have stayed at School Cottages. I am delighted to say that it was as good as the first. On arrival you are greeted by lovely welcoming Tim (the owner) with refreshments. If it is cold/wet the log fire in the lounge will be burning brightly. You are then shown to an immaculately clean and welcoming bedroom. The bedrooms have everything you need - comfortable bed,tv,hairdryer etc, tea/coffee/hot chocolate making facilities and biscuits. There are also wine glasses and a bottle opener!!
The ensuite bathrooms are fully stocked with toiletries and fluffy large towels. The 3 course breakfast has an amazing choice. One you would only expect in a large hotel. However, from my experience, the quality here is far superior. The food is freshly cooked to order and sourced either on-site or locally.Make sure you have a wander around the well kept gardens and meet the goats and chickens.Nothing is too much trouble to make your stay memorable. We love this place !!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

stayed at this lovely little b+b for just 1 night but have to say had a wonderful stay.
the beautiful cottage is in a great location for walks or for trips into nearby towns or just to sit in its lovely gardens and relax.
the rooms are really nicely decorated with modern ensuite. everything you could need for a short stay.
the cottage/b+b is lovely and the hosts couldnt be more helpful and friendly. we felt so welcome as soon as we arrived.
the breakfast was delicious too.
my partner and i would definetly recommend school cottages bed and beakfast to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktnkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I visited this B&B to have a relaxing break for a couple of nights. Tim (the owner) was so welcoming and we had a hot pot of tea and biscuits on arrival. The ambiance of the cottage is warm and inviting and it smells really nice!! Our room overlooked the lovely garden and had a double bed and ensuite with a shower. I was a little disappointed not to be able to have a relaxing bath, but the shower was so invigorating with plenty of hot water that it didn't matter.
The only two downsides to the room were that the curtains weren't blackout. It's ok at this time of year when it doesn't get light in the morning 'til 7, but would have annoyed me in summer. But this is personal preference. Also, we were woken each morning by the noise of people moving around above us. The floors must be squeaky and it was quite loud. It was nice to have a TV and the room was well equipped with a hair dryer, numerous mirrors and tea, coffee and hot chocolate. Bottled water and biscuits were also provided.
The breakfast was fab, especially the raspberry jam. The location of the B&B is perfect as its a short easy drive to Bath, yet it's so quiet and peaceful with no traffic noise.
Tim was so helpful - nothing was too much trouble. He recommended places to eat and things to do. We enjoyed a delightful meal at 'The Pony and Trap' pub, and took advantage of the 10% off offer for the Thermae Spa. It's best to visit here first thing in the morning as you can't book and there can be long queue's in peak times.
I would definitely recommend staying at this beautiful cottage. You get a really personal service and it feels like a home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kizzymcandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury Kent
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was more than a stay in a Bed and Breakfast, that is not to do it justice. From the moment we arrived, the proprietor, Tim, made us welcome as we have never experienced before in any hotel or B and B. He was polite, kind, interested in us and beautifully mannered. The accomodation is elegant and surgically clean, the breakfasts are worthy of a 5 star hotel but better in that one is treated as a person to be talked to rather than a unit to be processed. All ingredients are sourced from Tim's own garden or from local producers, in all my years I have never felt more relevant as a customer. My wife and I were treated as old family friends rather than people passing through. I could go on but all that is left to say is that this is a beautiful place run by the most customer conscious proprietors it has ever been my pleasure to meet. My wife is already plotting our return. Simply magnificent on so many levels. We both felt uplifted due to our visit. You must experience this absolute gem!.
David & Maxine Hillier.

Room Tip: All excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Certainly a high point in our holiday, School Cottages is the most wonderful place to stay if you're looking for a memorable base for exploring Bath & surrounds. For only a 10 minute drive from Bath (where there is ample inexpensive underground parking) we felt like we were staying somewhere right out of a story book. Tim was very helpful and made such delicious breakfasts - freshly laid eggs from his chickens, home grown tomatoes, local bacon & sausage and Somerset mushrooms. Not to mention his stunning homemade jams - over the time we stayed there we were able to try Ginger & Rhubarb, Elderberry, Damson Plum, Raspberry and Orange Marmalade. My daughter and I were especially delighted to be able to visit Tim's lovely hens and friendly little pigmy goats, which are tucked away behind the beautiful English gardens.

The rooms were all immaculate and welcoming, the bathrooms and showers generous - Tim seems to have achieved the right balance in all areas of this B&B.

I can't recommend School Cottages highly enough - the stay made our trip very memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VQ_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmborough
2.0 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
148 reviews
6.6 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
6.7 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Carpenters Arms
The Carpenters Arms
#1 of 1 in Stanton Wick
290 reviews
5.8 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#18 of 158 in Bath
792 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 158 in Bath
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School Cottages Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School Cottages Bed & Breakfast

Property: School Cottages Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Street, Farmborough, Bath BA2 0AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Farmborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Farmborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — School Cottages Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the pretty Somerset village of Farmborough, just minutes away from Bath, School Cottages Bed & Breakfast, set in lovely gardens, is the perfect combination of comfort, style and traditional charm. We believe the standard of our accommodation reflects our very high expectations of quality, attention to detail and service. Our stylish en-suite rooms offer affordable luxury, tastefully designed and furnished for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your School Cottages Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
School Cottages Bed And Breakfast
School Cottages Hotel Farmborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing