We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stunning country B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
School Cottages Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Farmborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at School Cottages for a single night. We had the two standard double rooms in the main building itself.

The rooms were wonderful. Beds were comfy (if a little narrow for our tastes!), sheets and pillows lovely and general condition and cleaniness were outstanding. TV on the wall with freeview, coffee and tea facilities, hairdryer and complementary cookies. The bathroom was fantastic - I didn't want to get out of the shower!

The grounds are incredible with a pond and a bench, lots of fruit and vegetables growing, pygmy goats kept along with a group of chickens which provided the breakfast in the morning.

The breakfast was also top notch. Cereal, juice & yoghurt. Followed by a selection of cooked items - local sausages & bacon, forementioned eggs, mushrooms and tomatoes with toast and homemade jams. Tea and coffee too and it was a breakfast fit for a king!

Tim, the owner, was fantastic and friendly, gave us advice on the local pubs and area. And also very attentive with our needs at breakfast - and even sorted us out with extra toast!

We're getting married nearby next year and this B & B will be right up the top of our recommended list for guests.

Room Tip: Any - you wont be disappointed!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finchdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for School Cottages Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 279 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at School Cottages for 2 nights on our mini honeymoon break in Bath. This gem of a B&B is superb. Our hosts were attentive and charming without being 'in your face'. The whole place is beautifully kept and spotlessly clean. The perfect place to stay to visit Bath, local country pubs, The Pony and Trap and Carpenters Arms are both excellent and just a short drive away.
Breakfast was also top notch, especially the homemade preserves with heart-shaped toast! Thanks Tim!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happydays29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Wonderful place to stay, clean, homely,very welcoming! I would recommend staying here to anyone thinking about it. The owner Tim was so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and a good choice of options. We loved the fact that the eggs were layed by the chickens in the garden and the home jams were yummy! We will definitely be returning again. Great price, great room, great weekend. cannot priase it enough!

Michelle and David
x

Room Tip: Our room was perfect so i would imagine the others are too!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have stayed at School Cottages several times, the first time in December 2010. The welcome is always the same, very friendly and warm. The accommodation is excellent and the breakfasts are delicious.
It is ideally situated for visiting Bath and surrounding area. There are several good pubs and restaurants within walking or a short driving distance away.The area is also good if you enjoy geocaching!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kandmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was a really great experience. We stayed at School Cottages for two nights and this was a place to remember. It was all exceptionally clean, beautifully decorated, fab breakfast (I even met the hens who produced my breakfast egg!) beautiful gardens with slug free hostas.

Ideally situated between Bath and Bristol and near the Bath Park and Ride we were in the real centre of things. Sadly we had to leave go to a university reunion in Bath where we stayed in the Hilton which was not a patch on School Cottages and was much more expensive! We will definately stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoodlesDoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We recently stayed at School Cottage as a birthday treat, and what a treat it was. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Tim our host who really made us feel at home. Our room was spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom which had a great power shower. Downstairs was a cosy guest living room. In the mornings we couldn't get down quick enough for the breakfasts, plenty of choice and the homemade jams were delicious! Beautiful garden with a pond,chickens and sweet little goats! We will be recommending this B&B to all our friends and family and we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is by far the BEST B&B we have ever stayed in. Lovely room, comfy bed, amazing shower, super friendly host, delicious breakfast and don't even start me on the homemade raspberry jam... YUM YUM!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmborough
6.6 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
6.4 mi away
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
5.8 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#16 of 157 in Bath
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Summerhouse Bed & Breakfast
7.8 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 5 in Norton St Philip
503 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Hunters Rest Inn
The Hunters Rest Inn
#1 of 4 in Clutton
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School Cottages Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School Cottages Bed & Breakfast

Address: The Street, Farmborough, Bath BA2 0AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Farmborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Farmborough
Price Range: $88 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — School Cottages Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the pretty Somerset village of Farmborough, just minutes away from Bath, School Cottages Bed & Breakfast, set in lovely gardens, is the perfect combination of comfort, style and traditional charm. We believe the standard of our accommodation reflects our very high expectations of quality, attention to detail and service. Our stylish en-suite rooms offer affordable luxury, tastefully designed and furnished for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your School Cottages Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
School Cottages Bed And Breakfast
School Cottages Hotel Farmborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing