We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great diving getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Dauin
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great diving getaway”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We recently spent a week at Atlantis (in May 2014) and enjoyed ourselves immensely. I dive but my partner doesn't and we booked a reservation for a room only. Five minutes after our arrival I was invited out on a dive with a group of several other divers. Talk about feeling welcome! But first we sat in the open air dining area for our room check in procedure and Toby, the manager, came over and visited a while - he's a great guy and has lots of stories.
Everyone was very friendly - they all said hello often and they knew our names even before we had met some of them. They are extremely well organized and we were very well taken care of. They really know how to take care of their guests.
The dive team is great. They emphasize safety and follow through with it on every dive. You will need a dive computer and can rent one from them if you don't have your own (you can rent other gear as well if need be). Diving fees are per dive or it's a flat rate for daily unlimited diving. When we were there you could dive up to five times in a day. The break-even point is around three dives, so if you are diving three or more dives it pays to get the unlimited diving. I don't know how it works if you are with a group but as a single diver they let me decide each day what I wanted to do. Of course I took unlimited every day! They have lots of nitrox tanks so it's well worth getting nitrox certified either before arriving or from them once you're there.
Every diver gets a shelf and clothes rack for gear. There's a great room for photographers with counter space and outlets enough for everyone. The dive shop is compact and beautifully maintained. They really take their diving and their guests seriously. They review every dive before going out and have nice hand-drawn maps of each dive area. They take care of all your equipment - they emphasize that they want their guests to be able to concentrate on diving and not on hauling stuff back and forth to the boats.
Diving along the shore is lots of muck diving and I saw critters I'd never before seen. There are also coral formations although many were damaged in the typhoons of a few years ago. There's a car down there that's become a reef as well as other man-made stuff that's been taken over by critters.
The real treat is the day trip over to Apo Island, about 45 minutes away. There are absolutely stunning corals and marine life abounds. There's a turtle sanctuary and it's turtles all the way down! There's also a fantastic wall dive. I wish we'd been there longer to have a second trip out there. I'm not sure how often they take a boat to Apo, probably more often during high season. There are two morning dives and then the crew barbecues a huge lunch for everyone and time for a stroll on the island or a nap or both. Then there's an afternoon dive and back to the resort. If there's time enough you can have another offshore dive or two.
The food is great, they have an excellent chef and there's a menu with plenty of choices. Every day at lunch and dinner there are chef's specials - a choice of appetizer, choice of usually about four main entrees and a dessert. It's a great deal and wonderful food. For you fellow caffeine addicts you'll be glad to hear they make great espresso.
There is a lovely spa but I never got around to visiting it so I can't much comment other than it looks very inviting. There is also a nice pool with a bar next to it up behind the spa and it was a great place to take a dip after diving.
They have a small shop where you can get equipment you might need and they have lots of t-shirts and the like. If you need toiletries or snacks and the like you can take a taxi or car into town. We never had a reason to leave the resort our entire visit - everything we needed was right there.
They have pick up and drop off to the airport, about a 20 minute drive. Our driver, who took us to the airport, actually had us sit down while he stood in line with our passports and luggage and got us checked in for our flight. He didn't leave us until he saw that we were through all the formalities and in the waiting area.
I could go on but if you've read this far I think you've gotten my drift. We will definitely be returning to Dauin and Atlantis in the future. I want to swim with them turtles again!

Room Tip: There are four rooms facing the ocean that looked great but I don't think there's a bad room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisDiveResorts, Public Relations Manager at Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thanks Rhiar – we loved your “drift”. You articulated the essence of our dive resort extremely well and we appreciate your wonderful review. Hope on your return trip you find a bit of time to try our spa – and I am sure the turtles will be very happy to swim with you again ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    55
    15
    2
    6
See reviews for
31
106
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The Atlantis Dive Resort in Dumaguete is a great place to stay they are located in a beautiful area next to the ocean and they have great service. Learning how to dive there has been a blast especially with my diving coach Norman who works there and in puerto galera atlantis (He's the best). For all you diving lovers or who want to learn how to dive, Atlantis hotel Dumaguete is the place for you! Great accomodation, great service, great food, all dive instructors are professional and great, lots of fun and the whole team really made my stay worthwhile. Thankyou Padi and Atlantis Hotel you have made my one week a hell of an experience! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisDiveResorts, Public Relations Manager at Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Glad our team helped make your trip great Sophia. Keep in mind that we offer the entire range of PADI courses, so you can join us again for AOW, Rescue Diver and EFR, Specialty courses…. all the way up to IDC for you to continue your diving education. Thank you for your excellent review - and for posting the photos. ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2014

the resort is amazing and the staff are so friendly! They remember your names. The dive instructors are brilliant and fun, My instructor being "Marco." This was my first time in dumaguete and it was the best time of my life.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treise2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisDiveResorts, Public Relations Manager at Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Your first time, and we definitely hope it is not your last Treise! Thank you for your amazing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I was kind of an odd duck when I stayed here: a single diver with a room-only reservation. Most of the guests were in dive groups with prepaid packages that bundled all their meals, room diving, etc. Also, I had booked my reservation in China (and Chinese) and somehow they thought I was a party of two!

All this was no problem. The excellence of the hotel and dive staff, and the natural Filipino grace and hospitality, was a delight as I was coming from a very busy week of business and looked forward to the diving and relaxing spa.

Since I was there to dive, I will comment on that first: fantastic macro (aka 'muck') diving with knowledgable divemasters who knew where to look. Take the Apo Island boat($75 extra charge, lunch included) and have three dives on the most pristine reefs I have seen in a long, long time. I did not dare to think reefs were in such good condition so close to land-based dive resorts. So, my first two days of diving made the whole trip worthwhile. But I still had three more days and they did not disappoint. So many critters and the night dives were some of the best I've had. I have been diving all over Asia Pacific waters for twenty years and my time at Dumaguete revived my hope that there are still quality reefs and dive operations out there.

Bring your dive computer: use of one is mandatory. You can get up to six dives a day for a flat rate, but I was not on a package so the pricing depends on what you arrange before arrival. The food and drink was wonderful, beer cold and welcome after so much diving, and the other guests were fun and congenial. What more could you want?

All in all, an impressive, professional, wonderful dive resort, and only about an hour's flight from Manila. Go during whale shark season and you may get lucky!

Room Tip: Check out the spa: reasonable and welcome after so much diving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cklonowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisDiveResorts, Public Relations Manager at Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks for your excellent review Carol, and we’re so glad you enjoyed the diving, our resort, and spending some relaxing time in the spa. Indeed most of our guests do opt for our all-inclusive packages with accommodations, all meals and diving included, as these packages do provide the best value. You’re right about the great condition of our reefs as our diving in Dumaguete and Apo is all located in the Dauin Marine Sanctuary, which is one of the world’s first marine sanctuaries, keeping our reefs pristine and giving this area the moniker of “Macro Paradise of the Philippines”.

We apologize, but the information we received from your online reservation was indeed for 2 people, and though your last minute reservation was for accommodations and breakfast only, the all-inclusive option was also available when you booked to take advantage of our all-inclusive rates.

No need to wait for whale shark season to get lucky, as you can visit us again year-round and schedule an optional day trip to nearby Oslob where you can snorkel with these beautiful creatures any day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Lovely accommodation, superb food, helpful staff and a first class diving experience. The team took care of the group from arrival through to departure. Great with young divers and experienced adults. I cannot recommend highly enough. Dive team are knowledgable and pay careful attention to equipment and safety. The camera room is a superb facility and the spa is perfect for post dive relaxing. Will also organise day trips and special evening entertainment.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisDiveResorts, Public Relations Manager at Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks Helen for your high recommendation - and we love being called brilliant. ☺ Our dive staff is definitely first class, and we proudly just received our 10-year service award from PADI. Since you mentioned the camera room, I’m sure you captured some wonderful photos (or videos) from your dives and a return trip will only add to your photographic collection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We have been in this resort for three nights for a long weekend and we particularly liked the attention to details that all the staff show to you. For example they remember my drinks preference but, more important, they asked me if I had food allergies and they were making sure my food had no peanuts.

Resort is very green and well maintained, beach is not big but if you are there you are almost surely a diver so you won't spend much time above water anyway.

Food is really nice and the menu changes everyday.

Only advice, try to go there with a diving package because if you book the dives individually there as we did it becomes very expensive. I especially didn't agree with the 75 USD/person charge for 45min boat trip and back to Apo island which was not including the dive cost nor the marine park fee...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet_Manila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisDiveResorts, Public Relations Manager at Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Attention to detail is exactly what brings our guests back time after time. You are totally correct that the best value at our resort is in our all-inclusive package that includes accommodations, all meals at Toko’s restaurant, and diving (up to five dives a day including night dives). Packages of 4 nights and more also include a trip to Apo Island, but shorter stays (of 3 nights like you booked, or less) have that option available al-a-carte and these rates are pro-rated to reflect that difference. Thank you for your very good review and we hope you will be able to spend more than just a long weekend with us on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

In short, if you can be bothered to read this we had a relaxing time, good laughs, excellent staff, superb rooms, great diving, excellent (relaxing) beers and better than the Red Sea on any day.

This trip was everything you want in a holiday. The locals could not do enough for you. The service levels are high but not 'in your face'. We highly recommend Atlantis in Dumaguete. The true test being; would we go again? YES we would without hesitation.

Room Tip: See Toby there and he will sort out all your adventurous needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piranha69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisDiveResorts, Public Relations Manager at Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Wonderful that you found everything you want in a holiday with us! And the best part of your excellent review (which we greatly appreciate) is that you would visit us again – without hesitation. You’re absolutely right that there is nothing quite as good as relaxing after a great day of diving with a nice cold beer (or other beverage of choice) ☺
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
0.7 mi away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 16 in Dauin
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#6 of 16 in Dauin
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Acqua Dive
Acqua Dive
#1 of 3 in Zamboanguita
199 reviews
3.4 mi away
Atmosphere Resort
Atmosphere Resort
#2 of 16 in Dauin
533 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea Dream Resorts
Sea Dream Resorts
#7 of 16 in Dauin
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete

Property: Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete
Address: Lipayo, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines (Formerly Atlantis Dive Resorts & Liveaboards)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dauin
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dauin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a thirty minute drive from the local airport (only a sixty minute flight from Manila), on a long peaceful stretch of beach, lies the lush and luxurious Atlantis Dive Resort. Surrounded by an amazing tropical garden with some of the rarest plants to be found in the Philippines it is just a short trip to some of the most renowned dive sites in Asia - Apo Island, Siquijor and of course the local Dauin Marine Sanctuaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Dive Resorts & Liveaboards Hotel Dumaguete City
Atlantis Dive Resorts And Liveaboards
Atlantis Hotel Dumaguete
Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete Dauin, Dumaguete City, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing