We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atlantis Dumaguete is a beautiful, peaceful resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Dauin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and kind . The guests were always addressed by name by all staff . The resort itself is lush and very beautifully landscaped. The rooms were very well appointed and very comfortable . The meals were exceptional . There was always a choice which also included a vegetarian option. What impressed me the most is how the staff went above and beyond to arrange special requests for their clients . Although I am not a diver , I still found that I had options open to me to keep busy . I would definitely return to this resort . I found the whole experience extremely relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneSimcoe_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisDiveResorts, Public Relations Manager at Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

As we are primarily known as a dive resort, it is so nice to hear how a non-diver still is able to thoroughly enjoy the experience of our services and activities. Vegetarian options are offered at all meals (and extremely popular with all our guests) and our chefs welcome the opportunity to create meals that incorporate other dietary requests as well. Thank you for choosing us for your vacation and we also look forward to your return stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 368 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

Atlantis is unique resort for travelers that want to dive in professional conditions. I strongly recommend to go there if you want to dive in negros, but if you don't, it probably not the best place fot you to stay. Never the less , the resort is very beautiful , combining tree cabins and a one big very impressive garden. The rooms are okay , hot water and good air con,the highlight is the room balcony, over there you can read a book and relax from your dives . The service of the staff was really good, espically the dive team ( ask for Marco!) . We stayed there for 3 nights, and didn't left the resort it didn't seem like we're missing attractions in the area. The Food is very good, they are taking themselves very siriuos , and you can take that for granted in the Philippines.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ido s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisDiveResorts, Public Relations Manager at Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Diving is indeed the main reason the majority of our guests chose our resort, and to brag just a bit ☺ we have just received our PADI 10-year Service Award. The majority of our dive sites are within 10 minutes and day trips to nearby Apo Island, which is one of the world’s best-known marine sanctuaries, are offered. Never leaving the resort is the concept behind our all-inclusive vacations with meals, diving, fresh water pool and spa at your disposal. Our staff strives very hard to impress you with their service, including our gardeners! Thank you for choosing to spend a few days with us, and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

excellent all round ! it did "exactly as it said on the tin"! I don't often write reviews and notice that the previous ones covered most ! but its that attention to you as a person that makes this more than a good resort! feel like a friend and cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisDiveResorts, Public Relations Manager at Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thanks for understanding our resort's concept of "arrive as a guest....leave as a friend".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was our second time to Atlantis in Dumaguete and we were once again blown away by the high quality of the diving, customer service and overall resort experience. At Atlantis, you truly want for nothing. We paid for the unlimited diving and full board package, which is the way to go as the options for dining outside the resort are fairly limited, unless you walk to other resorts down the beach. But why would you when Toko's has such great food at every meal? Plus, they accommodate vegetarians and people with various food allergies, phobias or dislikes. It is a lot like being at home, with the staff being so hospitable. The rooms (we had an ocean view room) are smallish, like at most dive resorts, but just wonderful otherwise. They even have cable if you want to veg out before bed. However, to me, what sets Atlantis apart from other resorts/dive centers we have been to in Asia is the complete professionalism of the dive operation, managed by Paul. It is a very clean shop and they adhere to high standards of dive safety and preparation, from the enriched air operation to the dive briefings. There is an awesome camera room with large spaces for photographers and compressed air "on tap." I even think they have the best gear rinsing area of the places we've visited, and we have been to quite a few. The guides (our main guide was Junnar...highly recommended) are just outstanding and they know where to find all of the macro critters that make this a muck diving haven. The boat and support crews are equally phenomenal...you don't have to do anything except get in and out of the water, they take care of the rest. They have a couple of large bancas and several smaller speedboats. We also did day trips to both Apo and Siquijor Islands for some wall and soft coral experiences. One catch, the water was a bit cool, so I highly recommend a 3 mm full suit at a minimum, as well as some kind of hood or beanie, at least at this time of year (March). I ended up wearing a 2.5 mm shortie over my 3 mm full suit for the last couple of days and was a happy camper, but I live/dive on Guam so am a wimp when it comes to such things. If your normal diving locale is Scapa Flow or Lake Superior, you may not feel the same way. For the day trips, the resort sent a cook and server along, and they laid out a magnificent BBQ spread for us at both places (again, plenty of options for vegetarians and fish-only eaters). We also did the whale shark experience at Oslob, Cebu. While I understand the practice of feeding the whale sharks is controversial, it was truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience for us to swim with these huge fish. Atlantis does not allow its customers to dive with the whale sharks, so it is a snorkeling-only experience, but in watching divers below us try to come up for a better view, on the whole I would say we had the better vantage point anyway. They also did up a BBQ for us at Oslob. The price per person was $95, which included land transport by jeepney, ferry passage from Negros to Cebu, lunch w/beer and soft drinks included, and all fees associated with the whale shark experience. It was an hour or so in the water all told for a 6-7 hr day, but worth it from my perspective. All told we did 20 dives in 5 dive days, plus the whale shark experience, so we certainly felt like we got our money's worth for the priceless experiences we had and the new friends we met. And, yes, the house band also played for us on Fri night, which happened to be our last night. What a hoot and a good party. BL, Atlantis is my resort of choice and Dumaguete my location of choice for a variety of muck diving, nice walls and a totally satisfying dive vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisDiveResorts, Public Relations Manager at Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Welcome Back! What wonderful advertising you just did for us - and we couldn't have said it better ourselves :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We were searching for an add-on to our booking on the Philippine Siren and were able to join a group sponsored by the PADI Diving Society. The PADI travel rep was very good in working with us and with both Atlantis and the Siren people to help us with our travel arrangements. We flew into Cebu City and over-nighted at the Water Front Hotel directly adjacent to the airport terminal. Nice hotel, good room and excellent breakfast buffet included. A car and driver picked us up and drove us about 4 hours to the southern tip of Cebu Island for the short ferry ride to Dumaguete where we were met by the Atlantis rep in a van. The grounds at Atlantis are a tropical garden; our room was clean and comfortable and adjacent to the swimming pool. Since this is primarily a dive resort, the pool was usually quiet and not very busy. The restaurant/bar over looks the beach. The food was very good with multiple choices for all meals . The staff was very friendly and soon knew names for all of the guests - don't know how they manage that. Drinks were relatively expensive and small-ish made in the precise measurement style rather than the American bartender "pour while you count" style. Daily drink specials did seem to be a better deal. The local Filipino Beer San Miguel was cold and reasonably priced. The manager Toby was around frequently and willing to chat about just about anything. Get the impression that he has only been there a short time and that under him a good operation will only get even better.

The dive operation is extremely well organized by manager Paul; even though there were over 50 divers, each group was timed to avoid conflicts with other groups. Each diver has a cubby for gear and a place to hang wetsuits, fins BC's, etc. There are rinse tanks for cameras, gear and wetsuits. Once you set up your gear the first time, they have a system for insuring that your bc and reg make it to your boat for every dive. Dive boats either nose in or back in to the beach where divers wade out to board. This is very labor intensive for the staff but they all seem cheerful and enthusiastic. Our divemaster was a diving veteran of many years, Genie. He was indeed magic in locating the many strange and wonderful creatures in the mostly sand muck diving on the Dauin coast where the resort is located. We saw many kinds of ghost pipefish, the blue ring, mimic and wonderpus octopi, the flamboyant cuttlefish and many more of the things you usually only see in dive magazines. We dove with other divemasters a couple of times as well and they seem very good as spotting as well. Besides the muck diving, they also make trips to the pristine reefs at Apo and Siquijor Islands. These trips include two morning dives, hot lunch cooked on the boat and an afternoon dive. On one boat the crew entertained during the lunch break with rock and roll songs on guitar and improvised drum set. Great fun.
[At a party at the resort, these two guys were joined by a bass guitar player from the kitchen staff to form the Nitrox Band. What a hoot!]

Overall, we give Atlantis very high marks and would recommend the place highly to other divers looking to see the wonders of muck diving. My girlfriend went to the spa and received an excellent two hour hot stone massage for only $45. Other guests were also highly enthusiastic about the spa massages and treatments. We were very impressed by the way Atlantis stepped up to assist over thirty guests when their flight out was cancelled by bad weather at the Dumaguete airport (Detailed in some other reviews.)

Room Tip: Resort is compact so all rooms are convenient to the dining room/bar and dive shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisDiveResorts, Public Relations Manager at Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

It was great having the PADI Dive Society at our resort this year! Thanks for the excellent cudos for our diving operation. FYI - we are a PADI 5 Star Gold Palm Resort :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Instant relaxation in comfortable rooms, loved the suites with the cushioned sofa so we could spread ourselves with ease. Gardens provide screening and visually enhance the surroundings and all is pleasing to the eye - and we can always forgive the interesting drive from the road to the resort (relative to the land owners I must emphasise!) which makes Atlantis appear even more of an oasis.
What can we say about the staff? Helpful, cheerful, good humoured and fun to be with. Thank you Josh (who managed to keep us supplied with our favourite wines) Cathy, Joanna, Audrey (giggle), Milty (sorry if misspelt) and Gloria. And the kitchen staff who provided such a good standard of meals and catered to our whims.
Diving was as expected - brilliant - thanks to Junnor, Wing (blue ringed octopus and chimp in his pocket!!) Alf, and Dek. Dive crews were slick and thanks all for the excellent fast transport :-)
Cannot forget Neil and his guitar (thanks for the 'Eye of the Tiger' at Apo).
The list of staff is endless - grounds, rooms, and ohhhhhh the spa !!
We didn't need an alarm clock as the local cockerel did us the service - and boy are they gorgeous glossy birds. I liked it so much I have changed my alarm now I am home to a cock crow so that I can smile with memories each morning.
Hope this will make you smile Toby !!!!
Best wishes to you all and trust we will see you all again. x Jacqui & John

Room Tip: Suites have covered and walled balcony with lovely sofa for additional comfort and room to spread an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisDiveResorts, Public Relations Manager at Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thanks for embracing our 'Filipino charm' and for your wonderful review of our resort. Our resort manager Toby has indeed inspired his staff, and it is a joy to watch them interacting with our guests. We also look forward to your return because you "arrived as a guest......but left as a friend".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was the only non diving member of a party of 6, who spent 2 weeks at the Atlantis Resort.
My views are therefore are primarily as a tourist and a non diver.
I am not one given to heaping praise on staff just for carrying out the tasks for which they are employed.
However one has to say, that without exception the staff not only carried out their duties efficiently but they did so with charm and genuine enthusiasm.

We had booked “ full board” Bed, Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner this turned out to be a good decision, it was not only good value but surprising varied in terms of choice always at least 4 choices for main coursed at both Lunch and Dinner.
Breakfast, was a case of what would you like, just give them a few minutes, fresh juice, followed by fruit, anything you like cooked, etc.
The quality of the food was very good for a holiday resort!
The kitchen is to be commended.

It would be invidious to pick out any one of the waiting staff they were all superb but credit must go to their Manager, Ed who on a daily basis went out of his way to ensure all was well and even requested if their were any special requests for dinner? (I have a minor dietary restriction)

The party had different room requirements, two couples, had Garden Suits which meet their, spread out everything requirements!!
Next to a well laid out pool.

We had a Waterfront Suite which turned out to be prefect for me as a non diver!
It was possible to watch all the comings and going of the Divers and the Dive staff.
As a non diver, I would like to say that I was really impressed at the attention to detail, safety and care the dive staff took with respect to all of the activities during the loading and unloading of the boats. (Divers and Equipment)

To see the assistance they provided to the diver, well one has to say it was remarkable.
If one employed a fulltime Valet/Butler more help would not have been provided.
My “better half” had done a PDAI “Open Water” course prior to arrival.
During our stay she elected to do “Advanced Open Water” and a “Nitrox Course” The training was excellent with a combination of support, assistance and meticulous attention to safety.
Needless to say she was exceedingly pleased to attain qualification on both courses with the fantastic tutoring from “Marco, the chief training specialist”.
A big thank you to Marco from both of us.

No matter how good a location is, in this case exceptional,
at the end of the day the holiday is only as good the overall experience.
In this case it can be summed up in a word; Excellent!
As a non diver, I would return for a relaxed holiday.

Room Tip: Room tip. We had room 2 upstairs Seafront, magnificent view and great to watch the comings and goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisDiveResorts, Public Relations Manager at Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

It is so wonderful to hear how a non-diving guest views our resort - and in such an extremely complimentary way! As your "better half" learned, we are also a PADI 5 Star Gold Palm Resort and an excellent place to complete additional diving certifications with our professional staff and facilities. Maybe on your next vacation with us you might try a Discover Scuba Diving course with Marco as well :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
0.7 mi away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 16 in Dauin
324 reviews
6.5 mi away
Acqua Dive
Acqua Dive
#1 of 3 in Zamboanguita
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vida Homes Condo Resort
0.1 mi away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#6 of 16 in Dauin
58 reviews
3.4 mi away
Atmosphere Resort
Atmosphere Resort
#2 of 16 in Dauin
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete

Address: Lipayo, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines (Formerly Atlantis Dive Resorts & Liveaboards)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dauin
#2 Spa Hotel in Dauin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
Price Range: $92 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a thirty minute drive from the local airport (only a sixty minute flight from Manila), on a long peaceful stretch of beach, lies the lush and luxurious Atlantis Dive Resort. Surrounded by an amazing tropical garden with some of the rarest plants to be found in the Philippines it is just a short trip to some of the most renowned dive sites in Asia - Apo Island, Siquijor and of course the local Dauin Marine Sanctuaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Dive Resorts & Liveaboards Hotel Dumaguete City
Atlantis Dive Resorts And Liveaboards
Atlantis Hotel Dumaguete
Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete Dauin, Dumaguete City, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing