We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Pura Vida and can't wait to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Dauin
Certificate of Excellence
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
150 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Love Pura Vida and can't wait to return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I recently took a dive group of 18 to Pura Vida and we all loved it! The rooms are big, clean, and comfy with nice bed linens. Each room has a different sea creature's name (confusing in that they aren't numbered, but it became a source of fun when we realized that one couple was in the Sweetlips room). A/C works well and there was plenty of hot water in the showers and decent water pressure. The rooms have TV's with lots of channels. Wi-fi is free, but you do have to pay for bottled water. If you keep your bottle and refill it, refills are $.50. We were on the meal plan. While the food is fresh and abundant, keep in mind that it's not gourmet fare. The staff works very hard to accommodate their guests, however. The friendly German manager loves chatting with guests, and when he discovered that we loved German food, he made sure that the cook made schnitzel one night. Rooms have great patios so there's room to lounge or to dry gear.

The dive boats are the best I've ever been on! They're super wide, very comfortable, and stable so you get a smooth ride. The dive masters do everything for you, including put your fins on. How they remember everyone's gear is mind boggling. Fresh fruit, water, coffee and tea are on the boat, but if you want anything else, you need to take it on, including soft drinks or other snack foods. Muck diving from the house reef is excellent and there are so many tiny critters to photograph. The gang saw blue ringed octopus, frog fish, lots of flatworms and nudabranchs, and seahorses. There's an abundance of rinse tanks. A Nitrox package for 3 days was only $33. The ratio of DM's to guests was about 1 to 4, but they don't herd you or rush you. Jan, Adelfa and J-Boy were amazing at finding the smallest creatures!

The beach is beautiful and there's lots of cushioned chairs to sit and enjoy the sunset. We also enjoyed watching the local kids use the banca boats as their personal jungle gym.

Service is excellent in all respects. Laundry service for 2 people was less than $5.

One of our favorite things at the resort was the spa. Appointments were easy to get, they offer several different kinds of massages, and the average price was $23 for an hour. We all agreed that they were the best massages we've ever had.

On the downside the beds are hard and some of the rooms have tiny showers. Also, there are no blow dryers in the rooms.

Ghostpipe and Seahorse rooms directly face the water but have small showers. The best shower was in Leaf Fish.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kpickerell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    88
    25
    7
    2
See reviews for
50
108
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grabs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is one of the top places to stay and dive in the Philippines. Very well organized, very good staff and good food. We stayed here 6 years ago when their food was average but they must have invested into the chef, the food is now rallly good, almost as good as next door

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DXT0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Wow, said someone a while ago, we still have those 'Schneckenpfanne' (something special to prepare snails). What can we do we it??? Oh said someone, let us call it 'Swiss Holes'. May be then someone orders this dish... But what can we put there, those holes are pretty well fitted for snails but nothing much will fit there? Oh said someone, if we only ask a price high enough nobody will ask questions about this... And we call it at SWISS specialty (something like the holes in the Emmenthaler Cheese), so you just show that you are ignorant if you don't know about this...
I am pretty sure there were a lot of San Miguel and/or Tanduay around when they got this idea. And now it is there on the menu! You can hardly imagine to squeeze some food into these tiny holes.
Unbelievable. But don't try it, I did it for you a while ago.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank JoggiDumaguete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

When I came there, they had a special on "Tuna Penne", so I ate that up for lunch. Very delicious...

They have a very professional and organized dive operation going on at this resort, as well. The only detraction I would have here is that they don't have any "afternoon" dive boats for any guests that might arrive in the morning and want to dive that same afternoon. They have shore dive options, but those severely limit where you can go and what you can see.

Their breakfast could be better stocked, but it is acceptable for what they have. Try the omelettes, they will balance out the other things.

The rooms are great...kind of like individual villas for couples and families, at a reasonable price. The only detractor I would have about the room is that it's a small shower only and not a tub. That, and the TV was small and placed a farther distance away from the bed than I would expect...unless you have great vision, you aren't seeing much from the bed.

Their wireless internet is also relatively fast; I was pleasantly surprised.

For the overall resort grounds, the manicured grass and paved walkways made a huge impression on me...very soft-footed so that I could walk barefoot outside of my room.

Overall...a good value, particularly if you book one of their package deals.

Room Tip: The rooms aren't numbered but have individual names...named after some of the fish that can be f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJawsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. We were planning to stay on APO island, but the two of us got sick a few days before going there, so we decided to go somewhere very relaxing. And we found a great place: Pura Vida beach resort. Very nice location, very clean, good breakfast. We stayed in one of the cottages, was really very nice to relax, sleep on the outside bed in the afternoon, enjoying the food in the restaurant. Would definetely go back!

The on site dive center operator, sea-explorer, is ok, however I do think that one should expect good rental gear from an operator who is advertising that they are the top of the world. The dive trips, were great, but the gear wasn't. Dirty masks, old BCDs, finns in not all sizes etc. The diving though is superb, especially around APO island.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan-WillemMalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Hmm what can i say about Pura Vida! well its a very boring resort if youre not going diving. For a third world country and by the state of other hotels nearby this is probably the best hotel youre going to get! food was standard. However, it was the best food i ate for the two weeks i was there. Breakfast is extremely boring; omelette, pancakes, toast, shrivelled bacon, flies, stray cats; the usual breakfast in the Phils.
The beach is dirty; broken glass, stray dog faeces, stray cats. The resort is not enclosed so local people are able to enter the resort along with the cows they walk along the beach. One night, there was about 4 security guards on the beach! im not sure if this made me feel better or worse.

Taxi's are unreliable! no taxi's available after 10:30pm back form the town. In the day time we walked up to the main road and took a 'motorbike carriage thing'. These are cheap! ask for its private hire otherwise you will get locals sitting on the roof etc...also we warned about by locals that forgeigners' have been held by gun point and taken back to their hotel to empty their safes.

DO NOT DRINK FROM THE TAP! i didnt but i did eat something dodgy while i was there which put me on the toilet for two days!

I went to this location for a friends wedding and i really couldnt wait to come home. I do have one good memory though! my partner proposed and we got engaged here :)

The massage place on site is also very good and very reasonably priced.

ONE OF THE MOST ANNOYING THINGS ABOUT THIS HOTEL IS: we got moved half way through the week to a different room! to me, this is unacceptable. I spoke to reception he werent in the slight bit interested and when i looked at the noticeboard in reception, there were daily room changes!! so dont unpack your bag; you might be moved!

Also, make sure you leave ample time to get to the airport on the way home! check in is extremely slow! and save some money to pay taxes to leave the country!!!

If you want an even more shocking experience go to Manila for a night!! if youre not used to poverty, begging, shanty towns etc then this isnt the place for you! lock the taxi doors too!

Room Tip: Our first room was on the beach front however, barking dogs and cats at 4am was not good! when we ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roberts1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Our driver was waiting as we left the ferry. We wanted to buy water but were informed no outside drink or food was permitted in resort. Water refills are available for 20 pesos. Standard rooms are individual bungalows with porches. They do not have kettles or a mini-bar. Windows and doors do not seal properly so bring bug spray – there is a mosquito net over the bed. Beds are firm with two pillows each. A/c and fan keep room cool despite air seepage through the cracks. Hot water is plentiful but shower head is hung too high and sprays all over the place. It’s better as a hand held shower. No WIFI, TV or sink plug in room. WIFI is available at reception and restaurant and signal is okay. Safe and locked cupboard are in room. Music from outside resort is loud at night. Dive shop is located here. Pool is clean. Beach is dark sand. Plenty of sun beds. Beach restaurant is nice. Food is okay (didn’t like the pizza). Breakfast was okay – cereals, yummy bread, lots of jams, fruit, cold bacon, etc. Staff are friendly and sweet. Concierge came over to meet us.

Pat gave us an orientation of the dive shop which was very helpful. Posters indicate dive sites and what you can see there. Many dives are coastal – about 10 minutes by boat. They do a whale shark dive here at 6:30am (see Turtle Bay resort for review of this). Every other day they go to Apo Island for 3 dives with fantastic coral and lots of fish. Lunch is extra. They seem fairly flexible with their dive schedule. Gear was okay. Crew is great with helping you with gear and getting on the boat. Visibility ranged from 6 to 10 metres. Good variety of fish (frog, scorpion, stone, boxfish, grouper, puffer, etc.) and lots of macro – life. Transfer to Cabilao was by boat leaving at 6:30am and included two dives at Balicasag which were phenomenal – saw a huge school of jacks (in the 1000s) and lots of turtles.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gbonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dauin hotels
0.1 mi away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 14 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#7 of 14 in Dauin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Dorado Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Atmosphere Resort
Atmosphere Resort
#2 of 14 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort

Property: Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Address: Washington Road | District 3, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dauin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dauin
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dauin
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, spacious resort is located in Dauin, 15 kms south of Dumaguete City on Negros Island. Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort is built from divers for divers and is under Swiss management. Real tropical atmosphere with lots of coconut palm trees and other plants. Directly on the nice sandy beach and with its large swimming pool, it's as well an ideal place for families.Perfekt for Divers.Sea-explorers-management 5 star. Familie rooms-sweets-delux-standart(aircon)and economy rooms and soon 14-luxus appartments have a look at vidahomes.Ph stay with us with a smile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Beach & Dive Hotel Dauin
Pura Vida Beach And Dive Resort
Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort Dauin, Dumaguete City, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing