We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Dauin
Reviewed July 16, 2013

In June 2013 I traveled with two dive buddies to do some diving in the fabled Dumaguete area. Originally, we had not booked in to this hotel; we found it by accident. We were pleased with everything from the start. The resort grounds are beautiful and well kept. The bungalows surround the pool area. The amply sized rooms are air-conditioned, have a stocked refrigerator, comfortable beds, hot water showers and are cleaned daily. Price of the room includes a breakfast of eggs, toast/buns and coffee...more than enough, but, if you wish, you can order off the menu. Lunch and dinner are selected from a daily menu placed on the chalk board. The food was ample and delicious. Massages are available by appointment. Adjacent to the dinning room is a lounge with a large TV. Divers can view their videos/photographs or enjoy videos shot by Silke (owner). If you stay at Amontillado you will not be disappointed and say hello to Regina who manages the resort.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mantamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 74 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here in November 2012 and just loved it. Great friendly staff and the bed was the best i have slept on after over 2 years in the Philippines. Just wish i had more than 2 nights here. Next time id like to bring a friend :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

In april 2013 I’ve spent three weeks in the Philippines for a diving trip. I went to three different Islands (Malapascua, Negros and Cebu Moalboal) and this turned out to be one of the best trips I’ve ever made. Looking back I must say that the best place to stay and to dive was Amontillado Beach & Dive Resort in Dauin. The resort is based at a small beach close to Apo Island. My booking also included transfer and when I got of the ferry the chauffeur was there and only 40 minutes away from the busy city I arrived in a quiet paradise. There was warm welcome by the management at the bar and although it was late it was still possible to order some good food.
The next days were filled with some excellent diving (small groups). The dive master (Ian) is a local with lots of experience. He knows every animal or coral living in the blue and is an expert in spotting it all. He showed us creatures we’ve never seen before. I am sure that without him we never would have found all this verity of species. Our trip to Apo Island is one to remember! There the coral is untouched and goes on and on. The clear blue water and all the turtles laying lazy on the coral was amazing.
The resort is in one word great. The bungalows have these luxurious atmosphere, they are spacious, clean and very comfortable. Sitting on your veranda can you overlook the beautiful green garden and the pool. The staff is so friendly and everything you ask for they will try to make it happen. The bar and restaurant area feels like a large living room. The pool is clean and nice to swim in or to spent time next to it. Besides al this above I really love the sound of silence at the resort. Comparing with the other resorts there were no roosters or karaoke-bars, just the see and the small birds flying in the garden.
Amontillado Beach & Dive Resort in Dauin is a place I would go back to and I would recommend to everybody who is considering a (dive) trip to the Philippines. Also traveling single it is a warm and safe place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

As diver I am looking for a quiet comfortable environment with relaxed diving. Visited the resort earlier this month and enjoyed it very much in all aspects; really value for money. All staff is very friendly and help full. The resort is spacious, has a big garden (and no mosquitos) with a nice pool and is located at a quiet beach. I stayed in a garden bungalow with A/C and found it very clean with a comfortable bed. The breakfast and lunch offers a large variety of choices. For dinner every day a choice out of 3 starters, 3 main courses and 3 deserts can be made. The choices vary every day and the quality of the food is good (European standard). I experienced the diving as very personal with flexibility in the dive program. The dive area itself with Apo, Sumilon, Siquijor and the sandy slopes (critters) of Dauin are well known and can easily be reached with the resort's large and fast Bangka. Wish you happy diving too.

Room Tip: The beach bungalows for a magnificent sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoJoFrPl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

It's one of the most beautiful resorts I've ever seen. The rooms are clean and cosy, the people are friendly, the service is great & the food is delicious! You should definitely go to the Amontillado Resort!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MeFehrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

The location for diving is beautiful. The staff is friendly, especially the waitresses. The beach-houses are not bad. The promised warm well-water never materialized. But the whole place is a tad overpriced and the extra's we ended up paying every day were annoying. We had pre-payed the holiday, but ended up paying extra for minor stuff. For a boiled egg. For a banana. For a slither of cheese (non-dutch). The endless extra's became a joke among guests.

On a lighter note, I must say we were warned: the thriftyness of the Dutch manager is notorious. Hey, we wanted to dive the area and that's what we did with divemaster Ian - at the highest rate we ever paid in the visayas: 1900 p.

One thing really bothered us. It was the sad,sad sight of many birds in cages. The illegally smuggled hornbills from Indonesia, slowly withering away. The parakeets. A neurotically jumping, talking beo in a too small rusty cage over the dining area. The manager is well aware of the regulations. As a Dutch expat he must be aware of animals needlessly suffering. But i guess he is the type which, when he wants exotic birds in his garden, rules don't apply to him. Obviously it is also lost to him, that the colonial times are over. He barked at his staff whenever he needed something done.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank lviss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

First of all we would like to thank the reviewer for his kind words in the beginning of his review. Some of his more critical statements i would like to reply to below:

- Overpriced. This is always open for interpretation and often there is a relationship between price and quality. And quality is often more expensive. Apparently the reviewer expected our resort to be cheaper. He criticises that he had to pay extra for for example an egg and a banana. As example our breakfast includes at no extra charge buns, toast, butter, different kinds of marmelade, eggs (fried, boiled or scrambled), coffee or tea, a fresh fruit juice and a platter with fresh fruits. Anything additional to this indeed has to be paid, as is usual in many restaurants. Our main dishes in the evening cost average approx. P 450,- (so approx. Euro 8,-) which is very reasonable considering the high quality of our dishes.

- No Dutch cheese. Sorry, my apologies for that: Here in the Province we can only get Emmenthaler cheese. Which is Swiss. My tip to Dutchmen who cannot do without Dutch cheese during their holiday: vacuum-pack a piece and take it along from Holland.

- Dive prices. Correct; the reviewer did not pre-book any dives, nor did he avail of our cheap packages, but booked single dives only (at P. 1,900.- per dive). If the reviewer would have pre-booked a package, his prices would have been approx. P 1,300.- Furthermore prices are always related to quality. Of course one can dive cheaper in the Philippnes, but then one has to lower his standards of comfort and safety.

- Birds. Correct, we have a few tropical birds, legally purchased in the Philippines. They have ample space and thrive.

- Colonial Master. I am afraid that here the reviewer is showing too much fantasy; I do not bark orders to my staff. But, as is usual in the Philippines, there is great respect for the employer and he is called "Sir" by his staff. Possibly this gave the reviewer the impression that I am a dinosaur who still believes in the good old colonial times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We Tina 350 dives and Reiner 720 dives stayed two and a half week in February/March 2011 at Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort.

The Amontillado beach resort a little outside of Dauin and apart from the main street it is a very restfully place.
We booked a garden bungalow with air condition, half-board and a dive package.

The room was nice and spacious, chairs and a hammock on the veranda to while away with a good book or drink. The bath clean but old and as the “hot” water was supplied by a hot spring not always really hot (but acceptable). According the owner the bathrooms will be modernized soon.

The beach is not great (stones- no sandy beach) but the resort has a beautiful garden with a well maintained sweet water pool in the centre – a very nice place to relax. The house reef in front of the resort is good for snorkelling.

The resort has a nice restaurant and lounge area, the quality of the food was good and sometimes even delicious. The stuff was very friendly and helpful as well as the owners Silke and Peter which we could meet during the second part of our stay.

Diving was excellent. Beside a numerous smaller dive sites along the coast (mainly smaller sanctuaries with smaller (nice) coral blocks and sea grass areas) dive sites included the coral reefs at Apo Island and also places at the deep south of Negros (Jurassic Park). At both places you can find perfect coral gardens.

This was our second trip to the Philippines. As we expected not so many fishes (compared to other places like maledives) but fantastic for macro photography (beautiful coloured nudibranches. frog fishes, harlequin ghost pipefishes, different kinds of small shrimps and sepias and a lot of small stuff we never have seen before) …We took a lot of pictures. Many thanks to the dive guides. Both showed us a lot of small stuff which we sometimes wouldn’t have seen and they also gave us time enough to take a lot of photos, never were in hurry.
Also the diving service was very good. You only had to select your equipment and put it into a box. Everything was carried to the diving boat and back to the diving base.


As described the focus was on macro stuff but with a little luck you also could see big groupers, barracudas, turtles….

We really enjoyed our holiday in the amontillado beach resort. And can recommend it especially to anyone that is interested in macro photography and looking for an excellent place to dive and relax.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reinmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dauin hotels
0.2 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 17 in Dauin
333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#6 of 17 in Dauin
72 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vida Homes Condo Resort
1.3 mi away
El Dorado Beach Resort
El Dorado Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Dauin
156 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort

Address: Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
Price Range: $60 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amontillado Beach & Dive Resort is peacefully situated straight on the beach. 8 compfortable rooms are located in the spacious tropical garden while 4 rooms are situated on the beach. All rooms are decorated with local art and have electronic A/C, bathroom en-suite, minibar, safe, good beds, ample storage room and a private terasse. The resort has 2 fresh water pools, spa, lounge and an excellent restaurant. We furthermore offer diving tours to more than 40 top dive sites and tours into the national park "Cuernos de Negros" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amontillado Beach And Dive Resort Dauin, Dumaguete City, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing