We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bahura”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bahura Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Dauin
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bahura”
Reviewed December 30, 2007

The rooms were okay. Staff is not well trained. This place is not well managed; seems like management doesn't have any H&R management knowledge (or even minimum Customer SErvice knowledge) in order to run this place.

* No info whatsoever of the resort services in the rooms
* No restaurant menu in the rooms
* Everytime you call for room service, you are told to call the F&B department - they don't have that information available to you in a brochure.

When I booke for our rooms over the phone (three phone calls and I made sure everything was clear before heading to this resort which is a 1.5 hr drive from where we were), as soon as I arrived and checked in, the first thing the front desk told me was "sorry there is a problem with the room you booked...."

The first night we dined at the restaurant there were bugs all over. They probably haven't heard of such a thing called a bug zapper or even yet a citronella candle.

I have been to a few resorts some expesive, some not - I don't mind paying 5,300 a night if I get my money's worth. This one was just a total dispointment. Very mediocre service. I really think they need to shut this down for a few months in order to train their staff and re-open with a manager who is knowledgeable in the Hospitality Industry!

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank islndchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    46
    20
    18
    10
See reviews for
44
35
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2007

In most ways the Bahura resort is a fine place to stay, for both active water sports and lazy relaxation. The two story villas are very modern, attractive, clean and comfortable with lots of room to stretch out...more than satisfactory...but handicapped folks will have difficulty negotiating the narrow, winding staircase to the bedroom. Also, if booking a villa , ask them to turn the A/C on 3 hours before your arrival....it takes a while to cool down. The pool is great....large, separate roped off areas for 13 foot depth, family-friendly yet romantic under the stars... nicely shaped and landscaped, good swimming day or night. The restaurant is very good...attentive service, good food. The opportunities for diviing, snorkeling, a boat trip to Apo Island...all well managed. Friendly, helpful staff. The only problem is the beach itself...lots of rocks and stones among the sand...and the stones extend well out into the water...so it's hard on the feet....but that's what nature planned. Would I return? You bet I would! if you're going, plan a side trip to Valencia...it's a nice, picturesque little town. And spend some time in Dumaguete....good food and entertainment at Coco Amigos.....and try to say hello to Mike Butler, impresario!

  • Liked — Design, comfort, space
  • Disliked — narrow staircase to bedroom, A/C turned off on arrival
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotrod419fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We were a two family group and the main objective of our trip was to go scuba diving. However, we had with us children who were too young to go diving so we were looking for a resort where we could leave our younger ones and their nanny's while we went diving.

The resort itself is located about 30 minutes from the city of Dumaguete. The grounds are quite spacious and do not give you a hemmed in feeling.

We rented both villas and rooms for our group and both the villas and the rooms were very nicely furnished and had relatively complete amenities.

The villa was very spacious and had a tv with cable, dvd player (with dvd movies available to borrow at the front desk), refrigirator and small dining table good for four. The airconditioner in the villa at first looked too small for the size of the villa, but eventually was able to cool the villa satisfactorily. The bathroom was tasteful, very large and spacious as well with an open shower and a separate bathtub.

The rooms had the same amenities except for the dining table and the bathtub. Good size rooms and bathrooms.

The resort has two large pools that were well maintained.

The beach is right in front of the resort. It has brown sand and is quite rocky but has sandy portions as well and good reefs for snorkeling.

The service is very good and the food is decent to good. We had a bit of a problem with the buffet lunch on a Sunday cause they had so many guests who came just for the day, but the staff tried their best to be accommodating considering the confusion. The resort was not very full the rest of the week.

The diving off the resort is decent but the diving in Apo Island was excellent! Do not waste your time diving off the coast and go straight to Apo Island if you have limited time for diving. The resort has its own dive shop and dive operation and the dive staff was very good and accommodating as well. Apo Island is about 30 minutes by boat (local pumpboat).

All in all, we were very happy with the whole experience and would recommend the resort to other diving friends.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank aoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2007

Getting There:
We stayed for 6 nights at this resort. The resort was about between 15 and 45 minutes from the Dumaguete airport as there is only one main road.

The Resort:
We were told that the resort was renovated about 1.5 years ago and it look new. The resort was set in spacious and greenery grounds that were nicely landscaped. The buildings looked very attractive with the red roof. The villas looked very nice too but we did not stay in one of them.

The resort had 2 large pools with one being shallower and more catered for children. The other pool was nicer and had a deep section for SCUBA diving training. There were lifeguards on duty every day! Apart from a massage area, we did not see any other spa facilities.

There were not any other resorts or restaurants in the vicinity.

Like a lot of resorts in the Philippines, the resort's pools and restaurants were opened to the public. We did not mind that at all as there were not that many people when we were there.

On our way to the various diving sites by boat, we noticed that this resort was the most attractive when viewing from the sea. It was also much further south than other resorts.

The resort was kept very clean and there were staff constantly cleaning the pools and watering the plants and grounds.

There was no internet access.

Accommodation:
We stayed in a Deluxe room on the ground floor in one of the two main buildings. The room was spacious and had simple but nice teak-like wooden furniture and not those bamboo ones. There were 2 semi-double beds and the thick mattress was on the hard side which was nice. 2 bottles of drinking water were complimentary every day.

The bathroom was also spacious with an open shower area. No bathtub. Hot water was available but the shower's pressure was very weak and the hot water took a bit of time to come.

There was a TV and DVD player but no channels were available. DVDs were available for free at the Front Desk though.

There was also no deposit safe in the room but we left our valuables in the safe of the resort which was probably much safer.

The Beach:
The sand was black in this part of the Philippines and stones and rocks were common so it is best to wear sandals. We did not go swimming because the sea in front of the resort was quite rough with current. I don't think it is suitable for children.

I think most people go there for diving and not so much for lazying on the beach. I did not see anyone sunbathing in the beach anywhere along the coast.

The Food:
As there was no other restaurants available nearby, we ended eating all of our meals at the resort's restaurant.

The included breakfast was not a buffet one but offer 3 choices: Filipino, American and Continental. As expected, the prices were higher but we thought they were still reasonable. There were quite a good selection of Filipino dishes on the menu. Western dishes were more limited and were not authentic.

The Diving:
The resort had its own dive shop and there were not many divers using it when we were there.

Fun dives' prices were reasonable (USD 23 per beach or boat dive, and USD 86 for 3 dives at Apo Island excluding lunch). We were given a reduced price of PHP 800 per day per person for full equipment rental, which I thought was quite expensive especially given the fact that their equipment was quite old and not properly maintained. Best to bring your own gear if you plan to do serious diving.

The diving was very good. Each dive site had something different to offer. Visibility was very good but the water's temperature (25-27 C) could get cold after long dives.

The Service:
We thought the service was good and the staff was very friendly and tried their best to serve you. Because the resort was not busy during our stay, we got to know quite a few staff. The service at the restaurant was slow at times but this was caused more by the kitchen staff than the waiting staff.

One thing was that we could hear loud disco music from our room in the evening during the weekend. The music was not from the resort and after speaking with the resort's manager, it was from nearby properties and the manager did his best to talk to those properties' owners. We did not hear the music after that so I don't know if it is a weekend thing or not.

  • Liked — Spacious
  • Disliked — Beach
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hippodiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2007

Bahura Resort/Spa in Dauin: This luxurious, romantic hideaway is the best-kept secret of Dauin. In the 1980's this beach was a public beach; unexpectedly this turned out to be the place to stay in for a great vacation. We stayed in the 2-story villa. The setting was very tropical and enchanting. However, the spiral stairways are a little bit narrow for mature guests. At the time we stayed there, the remote air conditioner was not too functional. The satellite connections and telephones were not working. The hospitality of the staff and management were great. The concierge was very helpful. It is a bit expensive for all the amenities that were not functioninng.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthiamay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2007

This resort changed owners about 2 years ago, and has been nicely renovated. It doesn't have this tacky 1980's bamboo&florals look of so many other resorts in the Philippines. The villas facing the sea are particularly elegant. The food is good; plenty of DVDs to borrow; staff very helpful. There is a dive club in the resort, kayaks and jet skis to rent, and a coral reef only a few meters off the beach.
It is a bit more expensive than other available resorts in Dauin but is of much higher quality.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank Mystery_Klient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
2.6 mi away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
4.4 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 15 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wellbeach Dive Resort
Wellbeach Dive Resort
#3 of 3 in Zamboanguita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#7 of 15 in Dauin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atmosphere Resort
Atmosphere Resort
#2 of 15 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Dream Resorts
Sea Dream Resorts
#6 of 15 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahura Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahura Resort and Spa

Property: Bahura Resort and Spa
Address: Km 20 Maayongtubig | Dumaguete, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Dauin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahura Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This premier beach resort, located in Dauin, offers a variety of recreational activities. Bahura is a beachside property housed within a coconut plantation, and is only half an hour from Dumaguete Airport. Guests will enjoy easy access to a variety of locations, such as numerous historical, cultural, and tourist attractions. Guests can enjoy a vast selection of interesting attractions such as hiking, kayaking, rappelling, picnicking at the beach, and diving in the amazing dive sites of Dumaguete. The Bahura Resort and Spa is the perfect property for visitors that want a sensibly priced hotel in a grand location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Bahura Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahura Hotel Dauin
Bahura Hotel Dumaguete
Bahura Resort Dumaguete
Bahura Resort And Spa Dauin, Dumaguete City, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing