We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing missing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Dorado Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Dauin
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just returned from an 8 night stay at this resort. From arranging the reservation (thanks Merlita), to our pick up at the ferry terminal all he way to check out nothing was left for us to do but enjoy and relax. Staff were friendly and efficient and more than helpful. Had an especially great time with the girls at the pool bar. Had the resort been a little more full I suspect it could REALLY be a fun spot. The grounds and rooms were clean and everything seemed to be in working order. If i was looking for a low point it would be the fitness facilities being a bit on the light side, but it certainly is adequate as is.
We had stayed in the area 3 times before at other (more expensive) resorts, but El Dorado matches the other resorts in every aspect, maybe even surpassing in some departments

Room Tip: if you want to be away from the pool/party area ask for a rooms 1 to 12.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovethedeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for El Dorado Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 142 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed here 2 days as part of a diving safari. The room was nice, spacious enough with aircon, large bed and good shower. There is a good pool, relaxing area, chairs, garden, restaurant. Beautiful. My biggest complaint (!) was that the wifi wasn't free - something you expect these days for resorts of this type.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joeri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for 4 days and we had a wonderful time. I learned how to SCUBA dive and obtained my open water SSI certification. The room we stayed in was one of the more expensive rooms and my only complaint was that it could have been cleaner. We had big lizards that lived in the roof area and apparently a lot of their excrements fell on our floor and the canopy above our bed. To the resorts credit when we requested it to be cleaned the staff attended to this right away. The bathroom was by far the coolest feature of the room, it featured an outdoor shower and I absolutely loved it!
The staff was by far one of the best I have had the pleasure of experiencing in all of the resorts we visited. One evening we fell asleep and woke after dinner like 1 am. We were hungry and went to the restaurant and they actually called the cook to come in and prepare a meal for us. I was very much impressed because I thought we would only have access to snacks until the morning. It is little things like this that make or break a resort in my opinion, and this action will guarantee that the next time we are in Dumaguete we will stay here!
The TV in the room did not work very well but it was only a minor inconvenience since we did not spend a lot of time in our room. The grounds in general were very well kept and as I mentioned the staff and service was A+++ I would totally recommend staying here - it was also extremely budget friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I spent 1 week at this resort and I thought it was a very nice place. The rooms were comfortable. They included Shower, small refrigerator (Stocked with cold soft drinks and beer), TV with remote, and air conditioner. Just a walk down the path and you are at the beach. They have their own restaurant on the beach and the food was very good. They have boats and equipment to take guest's out diving if you like that sort of thing. They also have a pool and bar for swimming & relaxing. The staff their were always very friendly and attend to all of your needs. I would go back again and I would recommend this place to anyone. They even have a van to pick you up and drop you off at the airport in Dumaguete.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeattleMike1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a lovely friendly resort where all the staff are very attentive. The full board is amazing but if you don't have a humongous appetite then I would advise only going half board! All the food was amazing and very generous portions. The Dive Society is well run with really helpful staff. Nothing was too much of a problem and there is a really relaxed atmosphere. I would recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: I went for the standard room and found it was fine.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rhianna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have allready stayed here 4 times. My last time in 2011. This time i was only here for diving. I stayed at Thalatta Resort. (check my trip report). But that was a mistake. This is the place to be when you are in the neighborhood. If you want your dives to be special and and well taken care of, come to El Dorado. My special compliments to my diveguide Lito. He makes my holiday worth while. So much experience, and ofcourse lots of fun. Just ask what you want to see.. and I am sure he will find it for you (maybe no polar bear). Thank you Lito for two wonderful days (also thanks from Enrico). The resort is excellent. Restaurant is great and the staff is just perfect. Don't hesitate.. it worth the trip!

Room Tip: In the pass i stayed in the standard rooms. They are small, but have aircon, hot shower and a double...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ErikJanSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there one week in a standard room mostly for diving.

The resort is well managed and maintained,(bar, garden and pool really lovely and clean) many different types of room, the staff is very friendly and the restaurant was good even if they have little vegetarian choices. The breakfast is awesome.
It's a very good place to stay, but probably only for divers as the beach is not really nice, you have direct sun only until midday and 4 pm around the swimming pool.

My only complain concerns the wifi for which you have to pay per device... In 2013 with that price for the room, I expected a free wifi!

That said, it's a good value for money and we spent a great week there (taking in account the overpriced area)

They also have a small fitness place outside in the shadow.

There's a quite big range of difference between the rooms, we visited a deluxe and it's much bigger than a standard one and seems to have a better a/c maybe.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joris87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
0.3 mi away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 16 in Dauin
321 reviews
6.1 mi away
Acqua Dive
Acqua Dive
#1 of 3 in Zamboanguita
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#7 of 16 in Dauin
54 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 35 in Dumaguete City
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Beach Resort

Address: Washington Street, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
#5 Spa Hotel in Dauin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
Price Range: $62 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Dorado Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mabuhay and welcome to a perfect starting point to your well deserved vacation or weekend getaway which the whole family enjoys! Nestled amidst lush coco palms, tropical plants and always facing the sun, EL DORADO BEACH RESORT, is the Pioneer Beach Resort and icon featuring DIVE SOCIETY, SSI DIVE CENTER, by the shores of Dauin. With decades of experience in genuine Filipino care paired with Swiss hospitality & management, we provide the ideal combination of fun and relaxation in our admirable amenities and terrific location along numerous Scuba Diving sanctuaries like Apo Island. Make yourself at home in our unique resort that boasts a variety of 47 modern, bright and artistically furnished rooms for any budget type and studio apartments for those who wish to stay a bit longer. Additional in-room amenities include comfortable bedding, flat-screen TVs, warm & cold rainfall and regular shower, bidet toilet, safety box and mini bar for almost all rooms. Room Service is readily available for lunch, dinner and midnight snacks. Enjoy complimentary WI-FI in public areas, mouth-watering dining at our all day PEPE’S BEACHSIDE RESTAURANT with local and international cuisine featuring oft live cooking, and a spacious GYM for YOGA and the like during your stay. Something interesting for your dinner palate could include our all you can eat Mongolian buffet style on Saturdays or Japanese Teppanyaki Table with prior reservation. We bring travellers, scuba divers and locals together here: our ambient POOL BAR and cozy BELLRINGER BAR & LOUNGES offer widescreen movies at night as you swim in our wonderfully illuminated pool featuring underwater speakers. Those travelling to Dauin can make use of many available lounge beds or beach chairs during the day whilst basking in the sunlight. Native interior, up-to-date technology and a highly spirited team is our winning formula for you to plan your next event in our WILHELM TELL FUNCTION HALL. We offer unforgettable events of up to 60 guests that can be tailor made by our EL DORADO KITCHEN or local catering services such as MIFUNE JAPANESE RESTAURANT. Our resort is just about a 7 minute walk from the South National Highway with easily accessible local transportation to Dumaguete City, the City of Gentle People. For your convenience, we also offer air-conditioned Van service at a surcharge fee for special trips like to the famous “All-under-one-roof” nightspot: WHY NOT? Le Chalet Restaurant, Discotheque, Deli Shop, Internet Cafe, etc. Starting with your room key, we look forward to giving you a memorable experience time and time again...for years to come! Have a safe journey to Dauin and see you soon with us! :-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your El Dorado Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Beach Hotel Dauin
El Dorado Beach Resort Dauin, Dumaguete City, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing