We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for Filipinos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Dorado Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Dauin
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not for Filipinos”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Drove from Cebu to Dumaguete (6 hour drive) yesterday to meet friends in Dumaguete and expressly for the purpose of teaching my GF to swim (yeah, caucasian guy teaching an island girl to swim). Dumaguete friends recommended El Dorado resort... nice swimming pool (true) and P150 "Entrance Fee" (says so, stamped right on the receipt).

Issue #1: Absolutely no external consumables allowed on the premises. STRICTLY ENFORCED. We had just finished lunch in Dumaguete. GF still had part of a 500ml bottle of water, I still had ice from a soda I had with lunch... Nothing else, no edibles, no other drinks... just water and ice. We were REQUIRED to dispose of these (throw them in trash) by security guard at the entrance before we were allowed to proceed to the check-in counter.

Issue #2: At check-in counter, were informed the "Entrance Fee" was P150, consumable. Paid P300 for the two of us, proceeded to pool area where security told us we are NOT allowed to use pool, pool is for room guests of the resort only.

I protested that I paid an "Entrance Fee" and intended to use the pool. Was told "For a while, SIr, for a while... Supervisor is coming". So I waited... "for a while".

When the "Supervisor"/(owner?) arrived, a 50'ish caucasian with a heavy Swiss accent, I repeated my protest and was told the "Entrance fee" only allowed me into the bar/restaurant area where it was "fully consumable" for food and drink (after they took away my only drink (ice and water) at the main entrance), now I'm expected to pay a MINIMUM or P150 (each) for the Resort's overpriced "consumables"?... and I'm not even allowed to use the pool... which was my only reason for being there in the first place!

Not in this (or any other) lifetime.... I demanded my money back. The owner complied, meantime explaining the reason for the resort's policy...

Listen up! This is good...(as one caucasian to another...)

As an American in the Philippines, I should "Understand how Filipinos are"... If resort did not have this policy in place, the freeloading Filipinos would come and pay the "Entrance Fee" only, then lounge around the pool all day and not buy anything.

I've been to Switzerland. The Swiss that I met in Zurich were IMHO intelligent, astute business people, although expert at extracting as much cash for as little value in return as possible. (closet-sized hotel room cost equal to or greater than full-size comfortable room in US business hotel).

I was astounded at this man's offering up such an insulting (to the people who own the country in which he is attempting to do business) explanation, to a COMPLETE STRANGER. In a single sentence, he has classed ALL Filipinos as "freeloaders", who are not welcome to use the facilities at his "resort".

I told my Filipino friends (from Dumaguete) of the conversation and they were (very rightly) insulted.

My recommendation: Avoid this "resort" like the plague.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank LuvsComfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    52
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
14
64
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

One, we needed to get away from Manila around New Year's to escape the smog and noise; two, we wanted a hotel by the sea so we could visit friends in Dumaguete. I picked the best El Dorado could offer, a 'Private Garden' room. On one side an enclosed pocket garden with a thatched lanai where we could lie on hammocks or lounging chairs. Our own little oasis within the resort. On the other side of our spacious room we had an outdoor shower within lush tropical foliage--but without the uninvited guests one can have in the tropics like frogs, lizards, or spiders. Our huge room was made in such a way we could create a cross-draft and not have to turn on the air-conditioning, which my husband can't stand. This is a resort that caters to divers, especially German-speakers (we're French/English-speaking). Lito, a local dive master, kindly drew a map on the sand to show me how to get to the reef at Dauin north,10 min. walk on the beach from the hotel--the reef fish were colorful and varied, but the corals had been damaged by a recent typhoon. Despite that, the reef enchanted me every time I snorkelled. The beach is great for walking, your daily run.
Our room was very clean. The Swiss owner is 'hands-on' and makes sure the restaurant works smoothly. Jenny, a young Swiss woman from Basel, is his girl Friday and although not an official PR person, does this task quite naturally. For us Jenny was a source of information and made our stay more pleasant.
We could choose between excellent tomato soup, or a baguette ham sandwich with lettuce (the hotel owner's deli in downtown Dumaguete makes fantastic bread, no mean feat in this part of the world), or pad Thai, or Filipino dishes like kinilaw or pancit. The roesti was great!
When we travel we look for space, tranquillity, privacy, and good food. El Dorado had all these, plus friendly staff. The laundry line above the lanai so I could hang up my wet swimsuit and towel was a thoughtful touch.
It's a shame they allow the various dogs (clients? owner's?) to nap on the cushions by the pool, I didn't feel like lying down on them myself.

Room Tip: Go for the Private Garden Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mfwrites_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

My friend and I was really looking forward to our stay at the Resort. The grounds were nice, and the room were accetable. But our first night our room was entered and we rob of our money. This was done while we was a sleep. They stole all the cash, a camera, suitcase and a cell phone. A safe box is provided in the room, if that is what u want to call a safe box. The thin plate box that a screw driver could open. We was on a top floor with balconey. They entered thought a window that we find out later was not locked. It wouldnt be locked. Then left thought the balconey sliding door. At least they left the Credit Cards and Passport.
They say they have security that walk the grounds, but we never saw that.
The Room we had was #28. A jacuzzi room.
We checked out because we didnt feel safe.
Later on we find out that another room was broken into and they stole two laptop.
Both of us were Americans and I would advice not to stay at this beach resort. Stay somewhere else that has and shows security.
The resort was very applogenic about it. But one time is enough
The resort it self was nice. Its too bad we didnt get to spend more time there to enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank ball4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We never dive, lol. In fact, I liked the rooms we accommodate near the beach with jacuzzi. We enjoy relaxing at jacuzzi. I liked the rooms.
We have spent more time in rooms than atmosphere, joke..

But i was disappointed how they clean our room. huh! not totally perfect.

Nice food, but They must do something with so many flies while we are eating.

Room Tip: Near at the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Stayed at El Dorado Beach Resort for 4 nights at the start of our Philippines trip and absolutely loved the resort. The standard room was small but clean and comfortable. The space was well designed with ample shelving and a hanging rail for clothes. The en suite was also very clean with hot water and there was a fridge in the room.

Outside was a line for drying clothes and a table and chairs over looking the pathway which runs down through the resort from the reception area to the beach.

The pool area was nice with a bar and undercover "lounging area with the comfiest cushions known to man" - I saw several people napping on them during our stay - me included!

The restuarant at the beach served a wide range of food with the Thai menu being our favourite. We opted for bed and breakfast and were happy with this as it gave us the choice of when and what to eat at other times. The resort also offers half and full board.

There was a sign up for tepenaki meals although we didn't see anybody having one.

The Swiss run dive outfit was pricier than other places we dived on our trip but was well run and had gear in good condition. Dive masters were all excellent - particular praise for Ray and Lito who seemed to find every critter we wanted!! Local dive sites were amazing and trips to Apo Island are also available (weather permitting).

The resort offers a free airport pick up which was very handy after a long flights!

Note - Not much to do here if you don't dive though!! Although there was a gym and archery (random!) and a pool table.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank holidayjems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butte
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

El Dorado, is in a great quiet location, with reasonably priced rooms, attached dive shop, and great beachside restaurant all on a nice landscaped lot .. Not much else to do unless you are a diver, however lots of things to see in the area, if you are prepared to travel a little

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank PHnewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

El Dorado is a nice resort, although a little overpriced. The room was clean, plenty of space and nice shower. The restaurant was good and offered a variety of dishes. We paid for only half-board, which means you get breakfast and either lunch or dinner. That sounds good except that you have to decide when you check in, whether you want to have lunch or dinner. They don’t let you decide on the daily basis according to your plans. Staff were pretty friendly, although their English skills were not so good. The best part was the scuba diving. The diving masters were great, very friendly, funny and good at finding creatures to show us. Great muck diving, reef and drift diving. The corals at the Apo Island are spectacular! Siquijor Island was good too.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanAndresDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
0.3 mi away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 16 in Dauin
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#6 of 16 in Dauin
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 35 in Dumaguete City
297 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sea Dream Resorts
Sea Dream Resorts
#7 of 16 in Dauin
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Beach Resort

Property: El Dorado Beach Resort
Address: Washington Street, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
#5 Spa Hotel in Dauin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Dorado Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mabuhay and welcome to a perfect starting point to your well deserved vacation or weekend getaway which the whole family enjoys! Nestled amidst lush coco palms, tropical plants and always facing the sun, EL DORADO BEACH RESORT, is the Pioneer Beach Resort and icon featuring DIVE SOCIETY, SSI DIVE CENTER, by the shores of Dauin. With decades of experience in genuine Filipino care paired with Swiss hospitality & management, we provide the ideal combination of fun and relaxation in our admirable amenities and terrific location along numerous Scuba Diving sanctuaries like Apo Island. Make yourself at home in our unique resort that boasts a variety of 47 modern, bright and artistically furnished rooms for any budget type and studio apartments for those who wish to stay a bit longer. Additional in-room amenities include comfortable bedding, flat-screen TVs, warm & cold rainfall and regular shower, bidet toilet, safety box and mini bar for almost all rooms. Room Service is readily available for lunch, dinner and midnight snacks. Enjoy complimentary WI-FI in public areas, mouth-watering dining at our all day PEPE’S BEACHSIDE RESTAURANT with local and international cuisine featuring oft live cooking, and a spacious GYM for YOGA and the like during your stay. Something interesting for your dinner palate could include our all you can eat Mongolian buffet style on Saturdays or Japanese Teppanyaki Table with prior reservation. We bring travellers, scuba divers and locals together here: our ambient POOL BAR and cozy BELLRINGER BAR & LOUNGES offer widescreen movies at night as you swim in our wonderfully illuminated pool featuring underwater speakers. Those travelling to Dauin can make use of many available lounge beds or beach chairs during the day whilst basking in the sunlight. Native interior, up-to-date technology and a highly spirited team is our winning formula for you to plan your next event in our WILHELM TELL FUNCTION HALL. We offer unforgettable events of up to 60 guests that can be tailor made by our EL DORADO KITCHEN or local catering services such as MIFUNE JAPANESE RESTAURANT. Our resort is just about a 7 minute walk from the South National Highway with easily accessible local transportation to Dumaguete City, the City of Gentle People. For your convenience, we also offer air-conditioned Van service at a surcharge fee for special trips like to the famous “All-under-one-roof” nightspot: WHY NOT? Le Chalet Restaurant, Discotheque, Deli Shop, Internet Cafe, etc. Starting with your room key, we look forward to giving you a memorable experience time and time again...for years to come! Have a safe journey to Dauin and see you soon with us! :-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Dorado Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Beach Hotel Dauin
El Dorado Beach Resort Dauin, Dumaguete City, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing