We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort and great diving!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Dorado Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Dauin
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Lovely resort and great diving!”
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Stayed at El Dorado Beach Resort for 4 nights at the start of our Philippines trip and absolutely loved the resort. The standard room was small but clean and comfortable. The space was well designed with ample shelving and a hanging rail for clothes. The en suite was also very clean with hot water and there was a fridge in the room.

Outside was a line for drying clothes and a table and chairs over looking the pathway which runs down through the resort from the reception area to the beach.

The pool area was nice with a bar and undercover "lounging area with the comfiest cushions known to man" - I saw several people napping on them during our stay - me included!

The restuarant at the beach served a wide range of food with the Thai menu being our favourite. We opted for bed and breakfast and were happy with this as it gave us the choice of when and what to eat at other times. The resort also offers half and full board.

There was a sign up for tepenaki meals although we didn't see anybody having one.

The Swiss run dive outfit was pricier than other places we dived on our trip but was well run and had gear in good condition. Dive masters were all excellent - particular praise for Ray and Lito who seemed to find every critter we wanted!! Local dive sites were amazing and trips to Apo Island are also available (weather permitting).

The resort offers a free airport pick up which was very handy after a long flights!

Note - Not much to do here if you don't dive though!! Although there was a gym and archery (random!) and a pool table.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank holidayjems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    52
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
14
64
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Butte
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

El Dorado, is in a great quiet location, with reasonably priced rooms, attached dive shop, and great beachside restaurant all on a nice landscaped lot .. Not much else to do unless you are a diver, however lots of things to see in the area, if you are prepared to travel a little

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank PHnewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

El Dorado is a nice resort, although a little overpriced. The room was clean, plenty of space and nice shower. The restaurant was good and offered a variety of dishes. We paid for only half-board, which means you get breakfast and either lunch or dinner. That sounds good except that you have to decide when you check in, whether you want to have lunch or dinner. They don’t let you decide on the daily basis according to your plans. Staff were pretty friendly, although their English skills were not so good. The best part was the scuba diving. The diving masters were great, very friendly, funny and good at finding creatures to show us. Great muck diving, reef and drift diving. The corals at the Apo Island are spectacular! Siquijor Island was good too.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanAndresDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

My wife, son 7 I stayed here for 4 nights towards the end of May, 2009 and had a great time. We were in the Philippines for about a month visiting my wife's family in another town on the same island. We had originally planned to spend the last six days back in Manila before our return to the US, but decided at the last minute to spend some of the time here, and were very glad we did! I didn't really have any prior knowledge of the place, but we had to drive right by it anyway and it was mentioned in our Philippines travel guide. When we arrived the staff very graciously allowed us to take a quick look around before we decided and told our driver he could drop us off.

The place is very quiet & relaxed, has a lovely bar next to the swimming pool, and a great restaurant overlooking the sea. We're not divers, but we enjoyed watching the dive boats bringing the mainly German & Swiss guests to Apo Island an back.

The accomodations were simple but comfortable, someone described as 'the Flinstones meets tropical resort' - hard to describe, but actually very nice!

As mentioned, the beach itself possibly not the type you're used to swimming on, but very nice to take walks on. Location is seaside but right off the main provinicial highway that folows the coast for much of the southern portion of the island. Some local attractions are only a tricycle ride away, like Malatapy market and non-diving boat rides to APO island. Also about a half hour south of Dumaguete by Jeepney. We were told that the owner also owned the 'Why Not' disco in Dumaguete, and there were free shuttle trips there every evening.

Everyone, guests and staff, were very friendly, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SanMiguelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Staff are friendly , food in restaurant is very tasty and not expensive.
Diveshop also are very good.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank newayhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

We had a great experience with El Dorado last weekend. The place is sooo nice. Though we booked in a standard room, but we had our meals upgraded/full-boarded. And that was the best deal ever! Our room is clean and cozy. The surrounding is perfect for couples (or even with friends). Food is fantastic. Great customer service.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joanjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Hello folks !!! We've been in dauin dumagute city . we stayed at el dorado beach resort and we stayed at the tree house :-) that room is so cozy and native we didnt used aircon coz tree house no aircon but it was cold . we stayed 7 days in this place . The sand is not white it is a black peeble the sea water is very clear . Oh the best exprienced i ever had was when we went to had a snorkle the coral is sooooooo terrific looks soooo good lovely lively !!!! the resort staffs had a good attitude very accommodating. But one of the diving staff was ill mannered he reckon i can't understand voisayan language and he said a bad words to me which it upset me heaps . But aside frm him the restaurant is really good . good food and every night there are cultural dancers and hey el dorado offers an unlimited free breakfast and they have the best breakfast we had . so guys check it out !!

Helpful?
3 Thank josephineovens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
0.3 mi away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 16 in Dauin
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#6 of 16 in Dauin
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 35 in Dumaguete City
298 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sea Dream Resorts
Sea Dream Resorts
#7 of 16 in Dauin
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Beach Resort

Property: El Dorado Beach Resort
Address: Washington Street, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
#5 Spa Hotel in Dauin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Dorado Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mabuhay and welcome to a perfect starting point to your well deserved vacation or weekend getaway which the whole family enjoys! Nestled amidst lush coco palms, tropical plants and always facing the sun, EL DORADO BEACH RESORT, is the Pioneer Beach Resort and icon featuring DIVE SOCIETY, SSI DIVE CENTER, by the shores of Dauin. With decades of experience in genuine Filipino care paired with Swiss hospitality & management, we provide the ideal combination of fun and relaxation in our admirable amenities and terrific location along numerous Scuba Diving sanctuaries like Apo Island. Make yourself at home in our unique resort that boasts a variety of 47 modern, bright and artistically furnished rooms for any budget type and studio apartments for those who wish to stay a bit longer. Additional in-room amenities include comfortable bedding, flat-screen TVs, warm & cold rainfall and regular shower, bidet toilet, safety box and mini bar for almost all rooms. Room Service is readily available for lunch, dinner and midnight snacks. Enjoy complimentary WI-FI in public areas, mouth-watering dining at our all day PEPE’S BEACHSIDE RESTAURANT with local and international cuisine featuring oft live cooking, and a spacious GYM for YOGA and the like during your stay. Something interesting for your dinner palate could include our all you can eat Mongolian buffet style on Saturdays or Japanese Teppanyaki Table with prior reservation. We bring travellers, scuba divers and locals together here: our ambient POOL BAR and cozy BELLRINGER BAR & LOUNGES offer widescreen movies at night as you swim in our wonderfully illuminated pool featuring underwater speakers. Those travelling to Dauin can make use of many available lounge beds or beach chairs during the day whilst basking in the sunlight. Native interior, up-to-date technology and a highly spirited team is our winning formula for you to plan your next event in our WILHELM TELL FUNCTION HALL. We offer unforgettable events of up to 60 guests that can be tailor made by our EL DORADO KITCHEN or local catering services such as MIFUNE JAPANESE RESTAURANT. Our resort is just about a 7 minute walk from the South National Highway with easily accessible local transportation to Dumaguete City, the City of Gentle People. For your convenience, we also offer air-conditioned Van service at a surcharge fee for special trips like to the famous “All-under-one-roof” nightspot: WHY NOT? Le Chalet Restaurant, Discotheque, Deli Shop, Internet Cafe, etc. Starting with your room key, we look forward to giving you a memorable experience time and time again...for years to come! Have a safe journey to Dauin and see you soon with us! :-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Dorado Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Beach Hotel Dauin
El Dorado Beach Resort Dauin, Dumaguete City, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing