We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely spot to stay”
Review of Aqua-Landia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aqua-Landia
Ranked #9 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Dauin
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Aqua Landia for 5 days at the beginning of January. The pool was lovely and clean. Gardens were really pleasant. Air con worked. Bathrooms were clean and modern. The sink in the kitchen was a bit grubby but we didn't use it too often anyway. The restaurant offered a good range of food at a really good price. We had many meals there. Our kids overdosed on the mango smoothies. Ron the manager is very friendly and was happy to help us. I must recommend visiting red rock falls and the hot spring pool near it.
I would definitely recommend staying at Aqua Landia to anyone visiting the area

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Cfulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 67 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Imagine waking up in a villa next to a crystal clear pool, (with a bar) and 50 metres from the beach.
I dropped in for a swim and stayed for a week.
Great service, great staff, great atmosphere.
thanks for the hospitality I'll be back next visit without a doubt.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

One thing I know for sure is that the Philippines knows hospitality and service! Aqua Landia resort is quiet, quiet, quiet except for some chickens – which are apparently inevitable in the Philippines. If you are looking for seclusion and are OK with maybe roughing it a little bit in exchange for some peace and quiet and beautiful scenery and excellent tour packages than this is a great place! However – if you're on the go and wanna be at a club or any other place in a quick and honest manner than I would consider whether this much quiet meets your style.

Breakfast is included in the packages however breakfast is early – so plan accordingly! You have to walk a little bit to get to the tours but hey, that's just where its at!

I would call ahead to find out when their busy season is – as this is the times they will be the most heavily staffed and your needs will be met more quickly. During their quieter times they have less staff and may not be able to accommodate you as immediately. But for the most part I would say this spot deserves an excellent rating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay very much here. Overall it was the best place we've stayed at during our four weeks trip in the Philippines.

The rooms are very spacious, very clean, cool and have a large patio. Sheets and towels are changed regularly and aircon works fine.

The resort manager (Ron) is awesome. He knows a lot about the area and will arrange everything you wish for you. We found the staff also very helpfull, especially the guys who took care of us with out diving.

The resort is located in the middel of nowhere, which is nice for the peace and quietness. If you want to visit a bar or another restaurant, rent a motorbike (ask Ron) and go to Dumaguete. Easy to find.
We also enjoyed the garden and the shade provided by the lush trees, as stated in other reviews before.

Overall a great stay, would highly recommend and would also go back again!


  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelmore0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have been staying at various resorts in the Dauin area during my repeated dive trips there. I chose this resort for the availability of diving, and the price, which seemed very reasonable for the amenities offered.

I was not disappointed by the resort. it is not large (8 rooms), but has lush landscaping, and the road/traffic noise is quite muted. There were, as usual, plenty of chicken noises (this is normal for any Philippine province), most of which had no idea that it was the middle of the night, and that they shouldn't crow. You do get used to it, though.

The rooms are large, very clean, well-furnished with tables inside & out, a desk, chairs, a large clothes cabinet, a king size bed, and a great day-bed type thing on the front porch. There is a sizable kitchen area with a small refrigerator and sink, and plenty of countertops and cabinets. the bathroom is also large, with a nice size shower with an instant water heater. The rooms have windows on three sides, which can be opened for a natural breeze; as well, there is a ceiling fan and air conditioning unit.

The pool is big, clean, warm, nice, and has a deep end for dive instruction. It has a unique feature of all the Dauin resorts I've visited, which is a swim-up bar/restaurant. The food is good, and a to-order breakfast was included in the price of the room. The staff is very friendly and quite accommodating of any requests or needs the guests might have.

The dives put together by Ron, the manager, and Joel, the local dive master, were well planned and organized. They were accommodating as to where we went, and it was a pleasant experience all around.

The resort would have earned 5 stars, except for two items which are related to location - First, the resort is far from everything, and unless you have your own transport, it's difficult to get a ride into Dauin or Dumaguete. Outside the resort, the nearest convenience store or restaurant are 15 minutes away by tricycle. We ended up renting a scooter, which helped a lot. The other oddity is that this dive resort isn't on the beach - you need to walk down a dirt road and across an animal pasture to get to the shore, which is quite rocky. The good news is that the staff carry your dive gear for you.

Overall, I would (and will) go back, it was a very pleasant experience and stay, and the value is exceptionally good among the resorts in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fred b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in May and ended up extending our stay as we enjoyed it so much. The resort is real value for money in the Philippines. The rooms are huge, extremely clean and have a lovely terrace area to the front. We loved the pool. It had a swim up pool bar and was cleaned regularly.
Ron the manager was exceptional. So friendly and helpful. We booked a Padi diving course through him and were thoroughly satisfied with the service. He really made every effort to make our stay comfortable and fun. The dive instructor (Joel) he organised for us was very professional and enthusiastic and we completed the course in 3 days.
The food is lovely... It takes a while to be served but it is worth it.
One bad point about the hotel is maybe the inexperience of some of the younger members of the
staff. This did not spoil things at all though as Ron, Lordes and Joel made up for it!! Thanks so much for making our stay so pleasurable!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabrielleRode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked with this resort in Dauin as the photos showed have large rooms with kitchenette (kettle, bar fridge & sink), hot water showers, included breakfast, private verandas and wireless internet in addition to having an outdoor pool with a swim-up bar.

The first down-side to this "resort" we discovered was that it was slightly out of Dauin and further to the west, away from Dumaguette, so the local taxis did not know it or how to get us there (and charge extra) and nothing is accessible by walking, and it is difficult to flag down a trike or a taxi, unlike many of the other resorts. They advertise "roundtrip airport shuttle" but we could not communicate with them until we arrived in the Philippines and when we called them to request the shuttle, they told us to take a taxi.

They offered us a scooter to rent for 300 pesos (about $10) per day but it was not a licensed rental, so we were likely not covered under their insurance as they told us to tell the police that we were friends of the owner of the scooter (we had no idea who that was) if we were stopped and provided us with two skateboard helmets.

The rooms are large in comparison to the average rooms at the resorts in this area, but the shower and hot water did not work so we were bathing from a bucket of cold water. The room towels were not changed for the week we were there but when you go to the pool you can ask for fresh towels at the bar. The bed is pretty standard to most places in the area - thin foam mattress on bamboo frame, however the sheets were thread-bare, stained with holes.

Although we were promised housekeeping service everyday, we did not receive this service and by the third day, had to request it. We were taking our own rubbish out to avoid insects and rank odours (and since they request that we do not deposit toilet paper into the toilet but into a rubbish bin - it was a problem not to have that emptied everyday).

Apparently the regular staff (ie: chef and housekeeping) staff was dismissed after our first night as we were the only guests and were left with a rude, and lazy young girl (17-yrs old sister of the manger we discovered) to look after us most of the time. So we were left paying fancy resort prices with backpacker services. Not really the ideal romantic spot we had hoped for on our honeymoon.

The "free wireless internet" did not work work in our rooms, only at the bar, and it went down, but no one knows where/what the/a router is never mind how to reset it, so we had no internet access.

The kitchenette is really only to provide you with cold drinks as the bar shuts early - it is not equipped to make any meals or anything more complicated than a cup a tea. Breakfast is good, Filipino-style (eggs, sausage/bacon and rice) or English-style (eggs, sausage/bacon and toast) and served at the bar, and the mango or banana smoothies are divine. However, you must order before 09:30 to get breakfast - so if you are wanting to relax on your vacation or very jet lagged you may miss it and have to pay for lunch instead. There is an excellent chef on staff but only shows up for the dinner menu and only if there are more than two guests.

The girls tending the bar are excellent at opening beers, or providing bottles of water, but are not skilled with mixed drinks or cocktails and do not admit if they do not understand your order. The brewed coffee would remove the paint off the walls, but the tea was nice. It was nice to be able to sit in the pool, in the shade with a cool drink on a scorching hot day, but since it is so far out, they rarely get visitors from the other resorts unlike Mike's Dauin Resort or the Pura Vida Resort so there was no one else to chat with or interact with. It was very quiet - which in some ways was nice as it was quite but resulted in a lack of services for us.

Laundry service is available and take 24-48 hours and each piece has to be itemized and paid for instead of the usual flat fee for a small bag.

If they charged back-packer rates we would not complain but we were charged top rates (USD$72/nt) for this area for no service, no shower, no housekeeping, no dinner service, no transportation, etc. We felt it was fair to ask for a discount on our room rate but they refused and since we booked and paid in advance they would not allow us to cancel our reservation and refund any payment to go elsewhere. We ended up paying 20% of the remaining two nights to go elsewhere after an uncomfortable discussion with the American fellow who ran the place (but was not onsite everyday) because when he questioned his staff about the lack of services they blatantly lied about fixing the shower or providing housekeeping.

Room Tip: Ensure you confirm that you are getting a double or single bed(s)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Éil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonCoselman, Manager at Aqua-Landia, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

We apologize that you did not find your stay at our resort to be 100% satisfactory. We were also surprised when at check out, you brought up numerous problems. We realize that you left early in the morning to work on your sailboat and returned late at night and that did not always allow you to interact with the management and any other guests. However, we did have an amicable chat the night before you checked out. At which time, no problems or complaints were brought up. We were indeed surprised in the morning to be informed that you were checking out and had issues. The first being the shower, which I immediately checked with your husband and we both found it to be working perfectly. While it is hard to determine if the shower had failed during your stay. We appreciate the heads up on the matter and have not found it to malfunction since. While we were inspecting the shower, we also checked the cleanliness of the room and found everything tidy and proper. While it is possible that housekeeping missed a day that I am unaware of, we would have immediately sent them if we had been informed.

Yes we do charge a penalty for early check outs and cancellations. This policy is provided to you at the time of bookings and agreed to at that time. We did however reduce this penalty by 75%.

Our investigation when you were present showed possible miscommunications between you and our staff. However, allegations by you, that all the staff were lieing is unfounded. If your stay was effected by these miscommunications, we apologize and appreciate your concerns now as we did then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
10 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 35 in Dumaguete City
317 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dumaguete Springs Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Wellbeach Dive Resort
Wellbeach Dive Resort
#3 of 3 in Zamboanguita
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Dream Resorts
Sea Dream Resorts
#6 of 16 in Dauin
121 reviews
6.6 mi away
White Chocolate Hills Resort
White Chocolate Hills Resort
#2 of 2 in Zamboanguita
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua-Landia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua-Landia

Address: Masaplod Norte, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Dauin
Price Range: $50 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua-Landia 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Aqua-Landia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua-Landia Dauin, Dumaguete City, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing