We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hi Mike, we were so happy to be with you and at your resort..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Dauin
Certificate of Excellence
Ingelheim, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hi Mike, we were so happy to be with you and at your resort..”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

..after we fled dumaguete springs. You are a perfect host and your resort is very well look after.
Not to forget the invitation to the birthday of THE diving-instructor! Sry..forgot his name!:(
A BIG hug to him! Altogether...we had a very GOOD time! There are very comfortable "beach-chairs" on your terrace as well as on the beach/pool, for everything is taken care off!
There is one thing we missed: a minibar/little fridge in the room. The kitchen could improve a bit.
Nevertheless,highly recommended,specially for divers!TY to Mike, wife + team! We had a very good time!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 15RenateS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    51
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
93
165
56
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

As the title suggests; you don't stay at Mike's, you experience it.

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights. I dove everyday, she does not dive.

Mike's is a surprisingly small resort with large resort features. The restaurant was full service with a large staff. The menu us as large as any big Manila hotel and every meal we ate was good to excellent. My wife said she got a great massage. They had boats going out everyday to either Apo or some of the local sites. Nitrox was no problem. They had good instructors and usually two local dive masters on the boats. Unlike many dive shops they did not spend a lot of time teaching experience divers to clean their equipment. The staff cleaned, dried and packed all the equipment and had it ready for the next days dives.

Mike is a local character, which means a lot of the local expat business owners drop by in the evening for a few beers. You get to meet many of the folks living around Dauin. Small resorts can get boring but not Mike's. While we were there he threw a birthday party for his son and guest were invited. Many of the other resort owners attended. We all struggled trying to walk across a tight rope Mike had constructed over the pool. I more than most.

As I started out saying, you don't stay at Mike's - you experience it. I cannot wait for my next experience,.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are much larger and worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeyteJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I confirm the other positive reviewers regarding this little gem in Dauin. Our family had a nice vacation here for five days over Holy Week. Mike takes great care to ensure his place his well-run and his guests are happy. The dives and snorkeling trips for my husband and sister were great and I enjoyed snorkeling off the beach at the Dauin Sanctuary, about a ten minute walk down the beach. The food is excellent, with some of the best Mexican food in- country. This is a quiet, peaceful place with one hammock, one beach swing, a cute pool, novels for loan, and a couple kayaks, which is what we needed. Diving at Apo is world-class, and you will get individualized attention at Mike's Dive shop. We enjoyed an added, special treat in sharing Easter morning with Mike and his kids. We decorated eggs and had ourselves a little egg hunt and a grand time. Turn off your blackberry and come here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boracay island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Mikes beach resort, the diving was fantastic at nearby Apo Island, the food served at their restaurant delicious, rooms clean,comfortable and nicely appointed...grounds well maintained. Mike and his wife Joeann did a great job making our stay enjoyable, and lots of fun, their friendly staff provide great service. We will surely return next year...

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BoracayIslandKimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I arrived to stay a few nights to dive and reeelllaaaxxx.
Their service was excellent, food was very yummy !
The diving was a blast! Apo island was incredible.......
My room was kept beautifully clean.
Requested a few things brought to room and they delivered with big smiles from their staff.
Thumbs up
Thank you and your staff for giving me and my friends a reeellaaaxxxing time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbhgc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauin, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

This small hotel is set right on the beach in Dauin, in a picture perfect setting! The rooms are comfortable with AC, nice beds and wifi. They have a wide variety, of food and drinks offered in the restaurant of which I had the banana or mango pancakes almost every morning I was there. Nightly dinner specials are also very good. With 2 large dive boats they are able to cater to requests in most experience levels and I had 3 great dives at Apo island where everyone from the snorkelers to the most experienced divers had a great time! I highly recommend staying here and if not stop by for a bite to eat and enjoy the scenery! Mike is usually around to say hi also.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DiveTheVisayas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

my wife and I stayed at Mike's for 2nights and 3 days as a base for diving in Dumaguete. The price is in the middle of local beach resorts but we felt the cleanliness was excellent and the facilities more than adequate for what we required. This was the 3rd resort we had stayed in during our holiday and by far the best. We found Mike to be honest, helpful and approachable. The staff were fantastic and Mike should be proud of the way they avail themselves to the guests. The dive masters proved to be extremely useful and very friendly. I took advantage of jumping into the sea from the large rock found at Apo Island (30-40ft) and the divemaster came along to show me the safest way up. I dived 6 times and would say 4 of the 6 dives produced the critters I was there to see. I am already referring the resort to fellow divers in the Philippines. A big thank you to Mike and his crew.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
1.8 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 16 in Dauin
315 reviews
5.9 mi away
Acqua Dive
Acqua Dive
#1 of 3 in Zamboanguita
199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#6 of 16 in Dauin
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 35 in Dumaguete City
297 reviews
2.7 mi away
Atmosphere Resort
Atmosphere Resort
#2 of 16 in Dauin
533 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sea Dream Resorts
Sea Dream Resorts
#7 of 16 in Dauin
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mike's Dauin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike's Dauin Beach Resort

Property: Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
Address: District 3, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mike's Dauin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mike’s Dauin Dive Resort is a family run venue in Dauin, just 20 minutes south of Dumaguete on Negros Island. Our eight rooms are only meters from the beach, as is our lagoon pool complete with waterfall. Our aim is to provide you with the highest quality holiday and diving experience and our comfortable size means we can provide you with a relaxed and intimate resort atmosphere. Most guests board our custom built Banca boats to dive or snorkel the stunning paradise of Apo Island only a short ride away. This premier dive site is one of the oldest and best managed marine sanctuaries in the Philippines. Expect large shoals of fish, many sea turtles and spectacularly colourful coral gardens. Closer still are the dives at Dauin, rapidly gaining recognition as one of the best macro-photography sites in the Philippines with the chance of meeting Frogfish, Seahorses, Flamboyant Cuttlefish and the famous Blue-ringed Octopus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mike's Dauin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mike`s Dauin Beach Hotel Dauin
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort Dumaguete City, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing