We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Dauin
Certificate of Excellence
Dumaguete
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Local Getaway”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We wanted to find a resort close to home where we could take my little boy swimming, eat some great food and have a few refreshments, escape from the in-laws, and not spend a fortune for a two day stay. Happy to say that the stay was great! Clean resort, rooms, pool, and staff. Given the delightful stay and friendly staff and affordable rates, we will do it again. Another bonus was meeting some dive vacationers from Denmark and California. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Corner rooms near pool are larger and have a veranda .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    51
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
92
161
54
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Just returned from our first trip to the Philippines. We are divers and chose Mike's Resort for its location and amenities. Our reservation was for 10 nights and ended up staying for 12 (more on that shortly).

While many who travel to the Philippines like to "island hop" or change locations multiple times during their vacation, we wanted to find a place that offered a great variety of diving from one central location. Mike's Resort did not disappoint!

We did the whale shark snorkel at Cebu and two dives at Sumilon Island, which were amazing. Swimming with the whale sharks has been a dream of mine since I started diving and it was better than I had imagined.

We did 11 dives at Apo Island, which had the healthiest, most beautiful corals I had ever seen. There was no shortage of sealife, including turtles, sea kraits, bumphead parrot fish, eels, giant clams and many more.

We did 3 dives at Siquijor Island which boasted both beautiful corals and great sealife. Deep walls, blue ribbon eels and a pod of dolphins who greeted us upon arrival were just a few of the highlights.

We also did 13 muck dives in Dauin and the macro life was unbelievable! Mike's divemasters were professional and fun and helped us find the critters we really wanted to see: ornate ghost pipefish,robust pipefish, frog fish, sea horses, cuttlefish, porcelain crabs, mantis shrimp and a wunderpus octopus. Our last dive of the trip was the mandarin fish dive and again, the divemaster came through! We saw SO MANY things we had never seen before.

We are experienced divers and we've always been fussy about setting up and handling our own gear, but Mike's knowledgeable boat crews quickly earned our trust. They worked tirelessly to ensure that all we had to do was jump off the boat and have a great time.

All of this without ever having to pack our bags and move to another location. The rooms were spacious, clean and had air conditioning, which is a must for me. Drying racks outside of each room were a great touch. In the food department, there was a good variety of dishes to choose from off the menu, but the real culinary delights were the nightly specials. Our favorites included the whole grilled mahi mahi, grilled stuffed squid and grilled tuna steaks.

Now all of this is reason enough for me to give the highest recommendation, but there is one more thing I wanted to share. On the morning of our day of departure, I suffered a medical emergency. Nothing could be scarier than to be 8900 miles from home, in an unfamiliar country and being in this situation. Mike quickly jumped into action. He got us a driver to take me to the ER and frequently checked on me. We missed our flight and the airline refused to work with us to change our tickets. He spent hours on the phone, reached out his contacts and helped my travel mates secure us new tickets home. I needed a couple of additional nights to get well enough to travel and he juggled his reservations around to allow us to stay over, even though he was going to be sold out.

I am not just a traveler, but I am also a property executive for a major hotel chain that starts with an "M". Mike and his team's effort to provide us with a memorable stay as well as the help we needed during a difficult situation embodies what I would call the "spirit to serve". We arrived as guests and left as friends.

I would stay there again in a heartbeat and highly recommend this resort to anyone! We will be back the next time our travels take us to the Philippines!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

All kidding aside, we just spent two weeks at this resort. Mike and his staff are top notch. The resort is excellent too. We had a rough start when our baggage didn't show up on arrival at the airport. Mike took care of us helping us get everything we needed to start our vacation so we didn't dwell on not having our clothing or dive gear. The boat crews are excellent. Ace and Marlon were excellent and finding all of the underwater critters that we wanted to see on our 26 dives. The food was great. Just be patient, like any other tropical location, it gets done on "island time". I highly recommend staying here for a great dive vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kylerupp031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The room was excellent: massive wardrobe, good desk for cameras etc, comfy bed, big bathroom, drying rails outside the door. Spotlessly clean.
The food was great: a leaning toward Mexican and American done really well.
The diving was epic: 3 dives at Apo Island and 2 muck dives at Dauin. Seemlessly organised with great divemasters (Mike took us himself on our second day). Also notable credit to Mike for managing the kitchen to ensure the right breakfasts were at the right time so dive boats can leave on time... it made a huge difference.
The staff were all welcoming and professional.
We also found it very refreshing in the Philippines to find an owner operator who remains so involved in all areas of his business. In doing so he manages to maintain an atmosphere that is both relaxed and yet very professional and provides an excellent holiday experience for divers and non-divers alike. (The families that were there with their kids seemed to be having a ball).

We stayed in 5 different hotels in the Philippines and this was the best by miles!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m1shm4sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinholds, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

we stayed at the resort from 12/27/13 to 1/10/14 the rooms were clean and comfortable and boat crew and dive masters were wonderful they spoiled you and made sure you had what you needed and made your dives fun and comfortable tell them what you want to see and they tried everything they could to find it for you .
I am a fussy eater but the food was very good no matter what I ordered and the grilled fish they did was amazing. Mike was a big part of your stay and was always there to ask if your dives were good , or asking any request for dinner, what did you see, you couldn't ask for a better host.
Everything was right there at the resort a pool , beach, boats, dinning, drinks, massage, snorkeling , diving, laundry service, and yes a little partying also.
we had a small issue when we arrived the airlines lost our luggage so we were a bit grumpy but Mike stepped up got us a car and driver told him where to take us and to wait for us and we got a few outfits to hold us over. I have never had a owner of a resort do for us what he did while we were there. Thank you Mike for a exceptional stay one we will never forget
YES we would stay there again and would recommend it to any one going to the Philippines.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Level Contributor
472 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have stayed here for 3 nights in dec. 2013. The Resort is very nice, clean and the staff are all nice.
The menu is very much into tex-mex and American style so do not expect the higher level of cusine.
The pool is nice surrounded with sunchairs, they just did not put mattresses on them. They had one!
As written we are not divers and then you really miss the beach part. Its there but not nice, compared to for instance Sugar Beach in Sipalay.
So if your are not diving, it is easy to find other places.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonaMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Mike's is special - small, friendly, relaxed, and easy. The rooms are great - inclusive water, kettle with tea/coffee. All rooms have a terrace or balcony for private space, and a drying rack. All details have been thought of. Food is great, especially the spicy burritos. Mike's family, and Lola the dog are a fun part of the resort. The beach is not white sand idyllic but perfect for walks and if you want to visit the other resorts along the beach for a beer. There is an excellent massage lady available, and kayaks to rent. A trip to the local market can be arranged, and caving/waterfall trips. Adventure Dive is the diving part of Mike's, and also run by him. The pool is perfect for OW courses (and a dip). The diving is varied and all boat diving - Mike has 2 boats and 3 or 4 great local guides so groups are never big. Dive equipment is good and the boat boys always on hand to help. All round a special place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
1.8 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 15 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#7 of 15 in Dauin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
5.9 mi away
Acqua Dive
Acqua Dive
#1 of 3 in Zamboanguita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#13 of 34 in Dumaguete City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.7 mi away
Atmosphere Resort
Atmosphere Resort
#2 of 15 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sea Dream Resorts
Sea Dream Resorts
#6 of 15 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mike's Dauin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike's Dauin Beach Resort

Property: Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
Address: District 3, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mike's Dauin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mike's Dauin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mike`s Dauin Beach Hotel Dauin
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort Dumaguete City, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing