We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dauin's Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mike's Dauin Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Dauin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dauin's Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Some might think that the title is a bit too much but BEST is the only word I have in mind for our experience in Mike's Dauin Beach Resort. We stayed 11 nights and my family were immediately "at home." Mike is a great host! He takes care of the guests as he would his family. The rooms are clean, the food is great and the staff are always there to help. Their a gem!---But my and the children's favorite was an adorable black Labrador named Lola. We already love the place but she closed the deal :-) My husband was diving almost everyday and enjoyed the dive sites. He was always happy after a dive; seeing turtles, colorful, healthy reefs and fishes. My daughter did some diving too but due to a cough, she couldn't continue as her chest was a bit tight. My son and I did some snorkeling at Apo Island. BEAUTIFUL! Sunset is spent watching the local fishermen help each other pull their fishing nets to shore which my kids had the opportunity to experience. It became part of our daily routine. While there, ask Mike about the Whale Shark experience. Unforgettable. He also does dive lessons so if you want to get that PADI certificate in an ambiance just like home, you should go HERE!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justice1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    50
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
91
154
51
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed in two other Negros hotels/beach resorts and, with my family, we looked at a number of others. Mike's Dauin Beach Resort is the best. It is tasteful, the staff are tops, Mike is laid back, the rooms are good, the pool is cool, it's all clean and well maintained. The only negative thing was a lack of bedside lamps (and that might well have been resolved if I had asked). The bills were always correct, everyone is versatile and even Lola, the dog. makes you feel welcome. It (Dauin) is also acceptably accessible from Dumaguette. You need to book in advance as the place is often fully booked.

Tourist places on Negros are not cheap. Travel around the area is mostly by jeepney or tricycles (which are cheap but, obviously, they come with certain risks). Entertainment in Dumaguete is limited but the people are friendly enough and I don't think any of us ever felt at risk (unlike when I went to Bacolod). The best shopping mall is Robinsons but most of the prices were similar to the UK.

We went on two snorkeling trips, arranged by Mike, both were excellent, well run, included food and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Titus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Resort location is away from the hustle and bustle of city life which makes it relaxing. Staff was very courteous, accommodating and friendly. I salute Mike for his excellent management. Room was clean and tidy. Food was very good. Rates are very reasonable. I highly recommend the resort to both local and foreign tourists.

aronc

Room Tip: Book way in advance as the resort is always full. It's a place I would readily return to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aronManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just returned from my 6 day stay at Mike's. Possibly the best vacation of my life. The Resort while small had everything you need. Great staff, food and diving as well as a great room. I will be a regular there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The staff at Mike's resort was great. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed the laid back, relaxed environment. I've done a lot of traveling, but this was my first trip to the Philippines, and staying at Mike's place was a perfect introduction. We had an awesome diving experience...in fact, our dive at Apo Island was the best I've had.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottGundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I can't recommend this place enough. It is cheap, possibly the cheapest resort on Dunaguete. The staff are great, the food is good and the drink is cheap. We didn't dive but went snorkeling with the whale sharks then on a reef. The place is fantastic and so relaxing, if I visit the Philippines again I will stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liamskennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Booking a hotel at the very last minute, we called Mike on his personal phone (number on the website). He is very reactive, and we had a room with extra bed which was basically a mattress on the floor but it was OK.

The room we had was clean with private bathroom/toilet.

The activities are diving/snorkelling and the boat and crew members are so great. We had 2 amazing days with Junior/Victor/Ignacio/Marlon diving and hanging out on the boat.
The hotel is very family-friendly. I like it a lot.

Dauin is about 30min from Dumaguete by jeepney. I like it better because it's smaller and quieter.
If I go back, I would definitely go back at Mike's.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vivich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
1.8 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 14 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#7 of 14 in Dauin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
5.9 mi away
Acqua Dive
Acqua Dive
#1 of 3 in Zamboanguita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 33 in Dumaguete City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.7 mi away
Atmosphere Resort
Atmosphere Resort
#2 of 14 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sea Dream Resorts
Sea Dream Resorts
#6 of 14 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mike's Dauin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike's Dauin Beach Resort

Property: Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
Address: District 3, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mike's Dauin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mike's Dauin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mike`s Dauin Beach Hotel Dauin
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort Dumaguete City, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing