We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Diving Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Dauin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and family spent 4 days here in Dauin, we occupied 4 rooms. This was our first time on the island of Negros. We truly had an excellent stay at this well run 8 unit diving resort. Mike provided 5 star service for me and my guests true to his other top reviews. The rooms were very nice and clean. The food at MIke's restaurant was some of the best I've had in Philippines at any comparable resort. The Dive Masters "Ace" and "Gabriel" provided our group with many memorable dives and fantastic sights among the reefs of Dauin and Apo island. They took good care of our gear, cleaning post dive, and carrying to and from the boat was really a nice touch. I doubt you can find a a better personalized and pleasant experience anywhere. My son Chris received his divers certification here which was conducted by Mike himself, a memory Chris will never forget in this beautiful, quiet, and peaceful South Pacific destination.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jga37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 458 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed just over a week, did some diving, snorkeling, and general tourist things. Mike and Joy are wonderful people, and they genuinely care about each and every guest. The advantage of a small, family resort is that your requests aren't just another line on someone's list - this is a cozy and relaxed setting for a restful and fun vacation. The staff is always cleaning, the inside and grounds are immaculate and in perfect condition. The pictures just aren't showing this gem of a resort as it should be shown.
The staff are attentive, friendly, polite, and provide excellent service without being in your face all the time. The menu is varied and large, providing local fare, as well as American, and Mexican food choices. If they have a dinner special, I suggest you try it - their stuffed squid was divine (and Thanks, Joe, for the lasagna! What a special treat. Where else would the co-owner bake a homemade lasagna and share it? I have been to hundreds of places worldwide, without exaggeration, and that was a first).
The dive guides are friendly, knowledgeable, competent, but easy-going - this is a no-pressure pleasure dive, and what a great experience! The dive sites are worth repeat visits. I have never seen more lionfish in one place at one time. The cup of coffee between dives is a nice, personal touch, and the boat crew gets all your gear cared for with record speed and perfect technique.
Everywhere in this resort, from the rooms, to the lawn around the pool, to the beach, invites relaxation. There is a big bed, air conditioning and a ceiling fan in the room, cable TV, wireless internet, and plenty of comfortable seats and lounge chairs, a well stocked bar, and great views of sunrise over the beach.
The best surprise of all was the reasonable cost. I've stayed in Philippine resorts that cost more than twice this much that weren't any better. We had all the comfort we could possibly want without needing to camp out in a bamboo hut with a portable fan, for almost the same money.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the place. The Deluxe rooms just look more directly at the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fred b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very friendly hands on owner who oversees things personally on a regular basis. Fantastic food, a very courteous, smiling, polite, and friendly staff. Prompt service with attention to detail.
A small place comparerd to some, but bigger does not mean better.
Definitely on our we shall return list. A great place to eat and relax in a quiet setting. Definitely some of the best food anywhere around the Dumaguete City area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We spent 6 nights at Mike's at the end of August, and really enjoyed ourselves. The room was really nicely furnished and the bathroom was huge with a great shower plus the seats on the verandah outside our room were sooo comfortable. The food was great...I particularly enjoyed the mexican burritos (not very Filipino, I know), and the restaurant staff were very good....you could tell they were trained by an American to provide excellent service.
We are both pretty experienced divers, and were really impressed by both the muck diving at the local sites, and the diving at Apo Island. At Apo the hard corals are absolutely beautiful... probably the best we have seen in over 1,000 dives in tropical waters. What we also liked was how close the dive sites were to the resort, leaving plenty of time for relaxing at the pool between dives, and even the days out to Apo, have you back before 4pm, with a 9am start.
We plan to go back!

Room Tip: The upstairs deluxe room had a great view,...................
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Roz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I went there with my boyfriend and my sister. We're divers and we thought of diving in Dumaguete so we checked out Mike's beach resort. The staff were nice, always smiling, it made us feel very welcome and relaxed. And unlike most resort owners, Mike himself kept checking up on us and making sure we were feeling great and having a good time, starting a conversation here and there. The rooms are spacious, with a nice king-sized bed. Very comfortable. Plus, they make sure that the divers are safe. We were supposed to go diving at Apo Island but the weather was rough. We were still contemplating on going, but Mike was concerned about our welfare that he told us to just sit it out or dive in Dauin instead. :) Food was great, we kept ordering the specials which were all great. Also, they had this resort mascot lol, a friendly black labrador named Lola. She kept roaming around the resort, asking for belly rubs from the resort guests, it was so cute. And for me being a dog person, it was an added bonus! All in all, it was a very good beach resort for me. Highly recommended. Also, if you're thinking about doing a dive course there, make sure to ask for Bob Kieran, what an awesome guy. :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank superdimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a very family friendly resort as Mike has two young children of his own there. My kids adored the pool as it had rocks they could jump from into the pool.. we left the kids for an evening with Mike and his family so we could go diving at no cost. Rooms are fine although the showers do not have a very strong water flow.. it was adequate though. It is right next to an upmarket resort on the beach if you want a larger menu selection and more Western style meals for kids. We did 1 night dive with the resort and it was well organised.

Room Tip: The only difference I could see between the normal and deluxe rooms was that the deluxe room had a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lemanieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

If you are looking for a TOP RATE facility with professional staff go no further.....Mike has it all.

No joke, you can lay back in one of his lounge chairs at the edge of the beach in the shade of the trees and look out at the water. Stand up and walk forward 20 meters and you are in the sea or walk backwards 10 meters and you are in his swimming pool complete with a nice waterfall. There is even a wading pool for the children. Exit the pool and 5 meters away are the rooms......what absolute convenience. And he is still making more improvements.....like the outdoor BBQ area.

This is my second trip to Mikes place and both times have been remarkable. I dived at both Apo Island and in Dauin. He has a very good dive guide (Gabriel) with keen eyes. Both of the banka boats were very safe and well maintained with safety equipment (life vests, first aid kits, oxygen, etc.) One of the bankas even has a covered cabin to help keep you dry during rough seas.

I have lived in the Philippines for 3 years and done a lot of diving all over the country and Mike's place has some of the best package deals available. As a PADI diving instructor I focus on underwater videography/photography and Mike provided a location for maintaining my equipment as well as a battery charging area. If you are a dive professional ask Mike about his available discounts.

You will be hard pressed to find a location like this that provides top service in all categories.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OWSI-PADI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
1.8 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 16 in Dauin
321 reviews
5.9 mi away
Acqua Dive
Acqua Dive
#1 of 3 in Zamboanguita
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#7 of 16 in Dauin
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 35 in Dumaguete City
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Dorado Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Atmosphere Resort
Atmosphere Resort
#2 of 16 in Dauin
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mike's Dauin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike's Dauin Beach Resort

Address: District 3, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dauin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
Price Range: $59 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mike's Dauin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mike’s Dauin Dive Resort is a family run venue in Dauin, just 20 minutes south of Dumaguete on Negros Island. Our eight rooms are only meters from the beach, as is our lagoon pool complete with waterfall. Our aim is to provide you with the highest quality holiday and diving experience and our comfortable size means we can provide you with a relaxed and intimate resort atmosphere. Most guests board our custom built Banca boats to dive or snorkel the stunning paradise of Apo Island only a short ride away. This premier dive site is one of the oldest and best managed marine sanctuaries in the Philippines. Expect large shoals of fish, many sea turtles and spectacularly colourful coral gardens. Closer still are the dives at Dauin, rapidly gaining recognition as one of the best macro-photography sites in the Philippines with the chance of meeting Frogfish, Seahorses, Flamboyant Cuttlefish and the famous Blue-ringed Octopus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Mike's Dauin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mike`s Dauin Beach Hotel Dauin
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort Dumaguete City, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing