We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent site, facilities and services” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mike's Dauin Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Dauin
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent site, facilities and services”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I'm a local resident of Dumaguete in the winter, and last winter our family day-visited Mike's resort several times. The food, location, staff, pool and services are all just excellent, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves each time. Some guests of mine stayed here overnight just to be on the beach, and they raved about how good it was -- their room, the food, the people. Resonable prices for what is provided, always. This is the place in Dauin (near the famous diving & snorkling reefs) that we can recommend most highly!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanshinseon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    50
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
91
154
51
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We wanted to go diving at Apo Island, heard bad reviews of the hotels there and this place was recommended. It was convenient to the airport with reasonable transportation if you're a large group, if your 1 or 2 not so much. Owned by an American, the facility and food were fantastic, we literally didn't have a bad meal. The food prices were reasonable but the room prices are a little pricey by Philippine standards and what is offered in the area. The staff was super friendly but that's common in the PI. The dive shop was clean and well run and the dive boat was one of the nicer boats I've seen here. The prices for dives was reasonable and in line with other dive shops in the PI, but their charge for snorkelers tagging along on the dive boat is way out of line with "normal" prices. It's secluded and quiet with no option for nightlife if that's what you're looking for. Private beach with no hawkers.

Room Tip: The deluxe room on the second floor has access to a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlaskaChick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We loved our stay at Mike's. The resort is clean and well-maintained, and had everything we needed. The rooms are spacious, AC worked great, and the beds are comfortable - a rarity in Asia that I treasure after enduring hard mattresses for a while! We're underwater photographers and our room had plenty of spaces for drying, cleaning and charging cameras. Food was great and prices were fantastic.

I can't say enough great things about the atmosphere and service. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, and Mike is always around chatting with guests, making sure you're well taken care of. You always feel welcome. And if they don't have what you want, chances are Mike knows someone and will procure it for you. He brought in a couple to do a massage for us right in our room. We really loved the intimate atmosphere. And our dive guides were fantastic - great humor and really good eyes for spotting all the wonderful macro critters. We appreciated the small groups too - makes macro photography much more enjoyable when you feel free to spend time with a subject.

We dove three days at Dauin and one at Apo Island. Apo was some of the best coral growth we've seen in a while, and had lots of turtles and schools. We were equally impressed with the Dauin sites. There are a bunch of great sites right off the beach and I think only Lembeh Straights had more diversity of macro life. However, the critters in Dauin were more active than we've seen elsewhere. Maybe because of less divers? We hardly saw anyone else on the sites. The boat Mike's runs is a large and comfortable banca.

We walked down the beach our last day peeking in other resorts and were really glad we had chosen Mike's. We will be back!

Room Tip: The two deluxe rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed at Mike's resort for 5 nights while doing some research in the area, and I am so glad that we did. Mike himself is wonderfully friendly and always there to offer advice, assistance and amusing conversation.

The rooms are a good size, comfortable and nicely decorated. The two storey area of rooms works really well, and the veranda is a great place to sit out and read first thing in the morning. The site itself is open, clean and very pretty - I especially like all the lanterns in the trees. At the end of the site is the beach itself and you are within walking distance to a number of marine protected areas that offer some good snorkelling as well as diving.

The food is all fairly cheap, generally 250 pesos is the maximum you'd spend on a meal. Thoroughly recommend the kinilaw (raw fish in coconut milk with fresh tomatoes, spring onion and ginger for those who are unaware) as it's definitely one of the best I've eaten in the Philippines. The gift shop is also very handy and I managed to pick up some nice locally made things to take back home.

in summary, I wholeheartedly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lizzie_H-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planet_Earth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

What does paradise look like? For me it looks a lot like Mike’s Dauin Beach Resort. I have never been anywhere that I have been made to feel more welcome or invited. To me it felt like returning home to family and friends after having been away for a while.
It starts at the front gate were you are met by the friendly and helpful staff. They got us situated into our spacious, clean and well appointed room. The bathroom was well stocked with towels and toiletries. The bed was large and comfortable with fresh linen.Our room was even furnished with a nice desk, dresser and free wi-fi.
Once we had our things put away we went back down to the restaurant area to have some lunch. The food at Mike’s is simple, but amazing. Every dish is freshly prepared and was both delicious and reasonably priced.
I then went off to dive while my family relaxed around Mike’s fantastic pool. It has a natural looking waterfall with lots of cool crawl spaces for the kids to explore.
Mike’s dive staff and boat are exactly like the resort, top notch. It is the nicest boat that I have had the pleasure to dive from in the Philippines. Plenty of space so you are not always bumping into other divers and the staff help you navigate around safely until you are into or out of your gear.
Back on shore the attention to detail start to show. There is a small pool built into the sidewalk as you come up the beach to clean the sand off of your feet. There are showers and wash tubs provided to clean yourself and your gear. Nothing seems to be missed. A lot of thought, care, and effort went into Mike’s Dauin Beach Resort and it really shows.
If you are looking for a memorable place to dive, stay or just hang out, look no further. I don’t believe you can find a better value, and I can’t think of anything that would make it a better place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ekatreturns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

I just got back from Dumaguete Phillippines, I was there from 12-1-12 to 4-12-12, I dove out of Mikes Resort for those 5-1/2 months and I will say Mike has the Best Resort in Dumaguete. The staff are all outstanding, the DM are excellent, you tell them what you are looking for and they will find it for you. The Staff will go out of their way to make you happy. The Resturant had great food and also the best Hambergers on the island. They also have a large selection of drinks and also my favorite, (Crown Royal). Mike has 8 Rooms at the Dive Resort and they are very confortable and clean. The diving in APO is fantastic, the coral reefs are nice and diving Daurin, you will find pretty much everything. Did a evening dive for the Mandrine Fish which only comes out dark and we got some very nice picture. Also the Whale Sharks were alsome. The day we dove with them there were 4 in the area, 18 feet of water about 100 yds from shore, got alot of nice pictures there. Mikes Dive Resort is the best in Dumaguete Philippines. If you have any questions about this resort you can e-mail me at psulion45@yahoo.com. Thanks Mike and Staff for everything and I will see you all again at the end of the year. This time I will be there for a year or so.

Lee Morris

Room Tip: All room are nice. You can go wrong on the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank psulion45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

I regularly bring small groups to Mikes simply because the entire staff makes every single diver feel like they are part of a big family. That's the feeling everyone gets about 15 minutes after you check in.

The rooms are big and spacious, huge private bathrooms, wifi in the rooms, and have ibg lounge chairs that are perfect for napping right outside your door.

Unlike other resorts in Dumaguete, Mikes only has 8 rooms, and the convenience of the rooms, dining area, bar, pool, and beach being so close together is a perfect combination.

Ive also brought divers to some of the other "big names" there which certainly advertise a lot more, BUT hands down every diver always picks Mikes as their favorite.

I know I sound like an ad agency, but Mikes really is that good, and his prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: Mike will soon be adding a spa but massage service are available and the last group kept them VERY b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peteguam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
1.8 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 14 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#7 of 14 in Dauin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
5.9 mi away
Acqua Dive
Acqua Dive
#1 of 3 in Zamboanguita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 33 in Dumaguete City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.7 mi away
Atmosphere Resort
Atmosphere Resort
#2 of 14 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sea Dream Resorts
Sea Dream Resorts
#6 of 14 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mike's Dauin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike's Dauin Beach Resort

Property: Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
Address: District 3, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mike's Dauin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mike's Dauin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mike`s Dauin Beach Hotel Dauin
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort Dumaguete City, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing