We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If your Australian don't touch it with a ten foot pole”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Dong Hoi
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If your Australian don't touch it with a ten foot pole”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

As mentioned by previous guests the ocean view means pearing through Palm trees and bushes. The meal in the main restaurant equals the standard of a MCDonalds meal only much more expensive. Would have loved a Macca's after dining there so I felt a bit fuller. Decided not not have desert as I didn't feel like waisting my money. I think they need to go to South Vietnam to take some lessons on what their guest needs are and how to look after them otherwise they will never go forward in the Hospitality industry. It appears these comments have been made before but not addressed. Don't waste your money, they need to be trained on what Hospitality means accross the board.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weewock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    87
    61
    26
    18
See reviews for
48
107
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

It has been a business trip for me, i booked an ocean suit but "unfortunately" this type of rooms were not available so the hotel upgraded me to a sea vila. It was fantastic, right at the sea, own swimmingpool, garden, nice room with same size extraordinary and luxury bathroom. There were some mosquitos, but not many and the house is built in a way that even in case the windows are closed, you can clearly hear the waves of the see. There is an ongoing rehabilitation outside at the seashore, due to the last year tayfun. My only concern relates to the breakfast, that was the only thing below level. No yogurt, very few fruits, however local food and pho was available for compensation. Everything for money, even the map of the city, but affordable, mainly close to nothing (map, bicycle 20.000 VND) Good, recomended place to stay.

Room Tip: The vila is fantastic, rooms said to be fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mecserim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed four nights. It felt like a hostage crisis. You get there, and you're like, "This is cool, I'm off the beaten path, everyone here is Vietnamese, the room is fine, restaurant not bad. And I can probably get used to that smell in the hallway." So my rating for one night would be a 3.5 stars. Then you realize the food is really plain/bad, the beach is unusable, the pool is kind of groady, and you want to move on. Btw, there are zero other options to eat, and you are near zero stores at which to buy something. The caves are many hours away. No one speaks passable English. And I guarantee your room bill will be messed up, even if you check it the night before. And the laundry stained our clothes. Other than that, Mrs. Lincoln, how was the play? Sun Group needs to spend some money and invest in this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallas_discern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dong Hoi hotels

Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Landscape is very beautiful, romantic, stretching coast, blue water, clean. Good food, attentive service, friendly environment. I like Sun Spa Resort!

Welcome to ASEAN Tourism http://www.aseantourism.travel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AseanTourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

First, the beach is closed from the storm in December. They are working on fixing it but you should know this in case it factors on where you stay. The pool fortunately is lovely and the only nice thing about the hotel besides their breakfast. Food was terrible and expensive. Chicken wings in fish sauce were tasty. Squid with Thai basil was ok but it was mostly onions. The sweet and sour pork ribs were inedible. Asked for non-smoking room and was upgraded to a "suite" that actually had a cigarette butt in the ashtray. Complained but they do not understand English. Power kept surging. Lights flickered on throughout the night even though they were off. Fire waiting to happen. Tub drained onto floor, and the whole bathroom was soaked. Hot water but have to wait for second person to shower. Poor amenities. Stayed at much nicer places for less money with far better service.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank theworldaw8s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just spent 5 nights at the resort, partly work and as a tourist. Despite the bleak weather and the beach a construction site due to the recent storm damage, I really enjoyed my stay. My room was spacious, clean and great view. Really good venue for work purposes. Minor detail was the kettle not working but this was instantly replaced. Breakfast was divine, staff courteous and friendly and efficiently assisted with organising tours which also were really good. It is close to the main part of town which is worth exploring. The architecture and landscaping is interesting and unusual and I hope it is maintained at its best. I did feel refreshed and pampered (without even experiencing the fabulous spa) as your are supposed to at a resort.

Room Tip: The villas look perfect but room overlooking pool and beach best. Just remember live music at the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rellis812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Sun Spa should be one of those memorable resorts that makes you want to return and to recommend your friends to go. It should be, but sadly it really isn't.

Located on a spectacular peninsula and covering massive grounds, Sun Spa is crying out to reach its potential. No doubt the storms of 2013 have had a major effect on bookings. Our large business group managed a great deal on rooms and meeting space in the four star section. Here's some thoughts:

The Rooms
The four star king rooms are spacious and very comfortable. For me, the firm beds are fantastic and make for a great night's sleep. They're tastefully decorated, with a small TV & DVD player, a working desk and good furniture. Typical with many hotel rooms, lighting is fairly attractive but not so bright. The bathroom, as mentioned by others, is average at best. A general lack of maintenance is obvious as evidenced by my towel rack being very loose on the wall and a fairly dodgy power slot where the room key goes - mostly works but sometimes doesn't. Hot water appears to be fine but the shower in the bath is pretty ordinary and due to the fixed angle sprays water everywhere. Amenities are good.

The Food
Contrary to other reviews, I've found the food here very good, especially for such a large resort complex. Each meal has been well made, good flavours and great value for money. no complaints at all!

The Spa
This is only available in the five star section, a quick golf cart ride away or a nice walk. The spa is vast, stretching forever. Booking is a bit hit and miss, the general staff at the spa need to work on their customer service a little. The masseuse I had was fantastic though! Really did a terrific job - well worth it for a hot stone massage. They have a very good locker security system whereby you can only re-access your locker with a combination of the key ring they give you and a master key held by senior staff. Good security thinking.

The Staff
All staff I have interacted with have been really good. Warm, friendly, helpful and wanting to make the stay as pleasant as possible. Pretty impressed.

The Pool Bar
Beware that a Viet band plays in the evenings at crazy loud volumes. Many of us complained and managed to, briefly, get it turned down or off. It's just silly - no effort whatsoever to read the audience, who are mainly foreign tourists, middle-aged or older. Wanting a nice quiet post-dinner environment to enjoy a drink and listen to either quiet music or the waves crashing on the shore. The music is really bad and way, way TOO LOUD! To top it all off, the manager present at the bar simply told us to go inside if we didn't like it. What a dumb message. Sending guests away so he can enjoy loud music. Really dumb - those same guests (a big group) would stay much longer and spend more on drinks if the music was at a decent volume.

General
The resort suffers from overall lack of care and maintenance. It just looks run down and tired, when it should be amazing! Having looked forward to this for ages, it turns out to be a bit disappointing. While staff are really good, management is arrogant and dismissive when complaints are made about loud music late at night. Something has to change here - management need to seriously think about their attitude and consider the wishes of their actual guests. Until this change, I think reviews will continue to reflect the poor management that afflicts this potentially amazing resort. And that's a real shame. I hope it all changes for the better, and soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustHappilyWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dong Hoi hotels
0.7 mi away
Muong Thanh Luxury Nhat Le Hotel
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#7 of 22 in Dong Hoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muong Thanh Holiday Quang Binh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cao Minh Hotel
Cao Minh Hotel
#4 of 22 in Dong Hoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nam Long Plus Hotel
Nam Long Plus Hotel
#1 of 38 in Dong Hoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tung Homestay
Tung Homestay
#1 of 22 in Dong Hoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam

Property: Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam
Address: My Canh, Bao Ninh, Dong Hoi, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Binh Province > Dong Hoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dong Hoi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dong Hoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Spa Resort is set amidst 29 hectares of lush, landscaped gardens, It is located on the bank of the legendary of Nhat Le river and on the pristine white sands of Nhat Le Beach.This idyllic Resort in the picturesque Central Vietnamese and the perfect gateway to discover the World Heritage. Surrounded by water on three sides, our peninsular resort has 234 international standard rooms and suites, 12 beach front villas and 10 bungalows. All villas and bungalows offer luxurious facilities of 5 star international standards and reflect charming images of Vietnam's rich culture and warm hospitality. The Resort offers a wide variety of international restaurants, bar, numerous activities recreation, beauty spa which bring guest ultimate enjoying and truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam Hotel Dong Hoi
Sun Hotel Dong Hoi
Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam Dong Hoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing