We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Dong Hoi
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Very nice resort, quite big. Big and comfy room with a flat screen tv, French doors and a terrace with view of the pool and the ocean. We were there in the aftermath of a typhoon and it kept on raining so we decided to try the spa; amazing! It's located on the property and were taken there (and back) by golf cart. We had our own room with a private bathroom and separate yacuzzi. The massage was awesome and we paid the same price as in some shabby place in Hanoi. Definitely worth going. The only downside for me was the restaurant, its pretty upscale, including the decoration, and doesn't fit the open and airy sea resort. And the food was not worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    95
    65
    32
    22
See reviews for
60
114
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Although we didn't see the hotel at its best, this is clearly a quality resort with lots of facilities.

Right on the beach, there was quite a bit of typhoon damage to the gardens and non-critical buildings. But much was being done to return the gardens to their former glory. The weather was wet and windy, which took the gloss off the outdoor pools and other external features of the hotel. When the sun shines this place must look awesome.

Internally, our room was clean and comfortable. A problem with the lighting in our room was quickly fixed by the attentive and efficient maintenance staff. The bed was large and firm, and the AC worked well, and quietly.

We ate dinner in the resort's restaurant, having enjoyed a glass of wine while listening to a local band knock out everything from Abba to Eagles. Dinner was very pleasant - good food, pleasant service. I especially recommend the desert of passion fruit mousse. Breakfast was the usual buffet-style variety of breads, pastries, local and western dishes, plus fruit. The hotel's own interpretation of hash browns - steamed potato crisps - was intriguing.

There is building work underway at the resort, but you neither hear nor see it from the main buildings. With two pools (one very large and the other large), two tennis courts, a basketball court and well equipped gym (there may have been more sports facilities but I timed out) there is plenty of opportunity to keep fit.

The location is a little off the beaten path, but a short taxi ride is all that is required to reach the main town.

Great for a short stop (we were only overnighting), and probably good for a longer stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexGandalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

A very nice resort and in quite a good location; if you are seeking to enjoy the sea front, Sun Spa Resort in the Quang Binh province and the city of Dong Hoi provide a great opportunity. The waters are pristine and crystal clear and actually quite warm and pleasant for a swim. There are lots of things that you can do. Water sport or other activities; the resort itself is near the business center and the shopping district and only 50 km from the famous caves of Phong Nha. The Phong Nha –Ke Bang National park is also in close proximity therefore adding to the many different activities that you can have.
The rooms in Sun Spa resort Quang Binh are very affordable. What’s good is that at occasions and depending on the period you can get discounts particularly if you book in advance. You can find rooms starting at $41 dollar for a night which will include two double beds; a fantastic offer if you are with friends and share a room; they are quite spacious. From $55 you can have your own room. The quality of the rooms are of international standards; well furnished including television, a lap top portal, air conditioner, and you have 24 hours service. The only down side is that the staff do not speak very well English therefore you need to try hard to be understood or have a dictionary handy to show the words that you mean. Beside that they are very friendly if you can get passed the language barrier.
You can either enjoy Vietnamese cuisine or western style cooking. At the Golden Lotus Restaurant there are delicious Vietnamese delicacies while Asian delight serves sea food and Asian recepies. You also have a terrace bar that is open air and provide anything from traditional Vietnamese drinks to cocktails and snacks. You may also order dinner in your room.
The resort has many facilities, recreational facilities include a swimming pool, a state of the art gym with all sorts of equipment, a tennis court, a steam bath, a sauna and spa. You also can have health and beauty treatment at the resort. Besides that there is also quite a good size parking lot and a lobby and reception facility where you have the opportunity to socialize with other tourists or with locals staying at the resort. Although I was there on vacation but I also noticed that it’s great for any business person on a short business trip and seek both relaxation and the opportunity to do his/her work. There are conference facilities. It’s possible to hold seminars, or any other type of corporate event.
Sun Spa resort in Dong Hoi, Quang Binh province in Vietnam is perfect and I would recommend to anyone seeking a nice place to stay either while on vacation or on a business trip in Vietnam and seeking to make the most of his/her stay. It’s great particularly if you are seeking to enjoy water activities. Jet skiing, para sailing, kayaking, windsurfing, snorkeling, and diving are just a few water sports. It’s Lots of fun, nice sunshine; A very good resort.

Room Tip: Best book in advance. you can get discount of up to 10%. special offers sometimes have 30% discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had to keep our luggage closed due to cockroaches in our room.

The hotel website promises a range of restaurants but in fact there is only one with overpriced mediocre food.

The final straw was having told us that we could change pounds or pay part of our bill in pounds we did not worry until Sunday evening when they told us they do not change twenty pound notes with Adam Smith on. They did not seem to understand that twenty pound notes without Adam Smith were not legal tender. They asked if we had any £100 notes instead! It put us in a really difficult position about being able to pay the bill although we managed to scrape together enough dollars. A stressful experience nonetheless!

Definitely would not recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nr243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dong Hoi hotels

Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It's was probably the worst hotel we stayed in during the whole holiday. It looked good on the net and we thought we could have a couple of days relaxation so we booked it. The staff were willing enough but the English was not very good. They seemed to know what was on the menu but deviate from it and it was hard work. I eventually got to the stage that even the simplest of task became frustrating. We only really went to Dong Hoi for the caves. They had a book with tours and prices but no information of what the tour included. The prices were per person and were quite high. But what wasn't explained was the fact that the more people booking, the less it was. As we were going to Hanoi after our stay here the hotel arranged the train tickets which was OK. The extra charge was the same as a return taxi fare to the station if I went myself so was not too bad. The lady booking them for us was very helpful. She was one of the few that seemed interested. The menu had quite a bit of Selection but for some reason was just bland. Plus this is where we had the the main meal turn up before the starter. It was no easy feat trying to get it swapped around. There were 2 pools which were quite nice but the beach was a mess due to the fact a Typhoon had ripped through there two weeks previous. We even had bad weather the last 2 days there ourselves. It was by no means a disaster stay, it just wasn't as good as the rest of the places we stayed at. Maybe once they have cleaned up the mess from the Typhoon it may be a better place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stamrish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I arrived few days after devastating typhoons that destroyed much of the hotel's damns and some facilities. The weather was quite bad so there weren't many people around.

Room qualities are pretty good.

Spa is great and cheap.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Siraveth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Barthelemy
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were very disappointed with this Hotel.
For a 4 star hotel, it was so difficult to find someone speaking English.

Only one word word in this Hotel, Economy,

Our room smell bad with air a very bad air conditioning, you cannot change the temperature economy,
To go to your room or the 5 spa spa, we recommend you a light, economy.

We did more 10 hotels in Vietnam and this one was terrible.....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafy971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dong Hoi hotels
0.7 mi away
Muong Thanh Luxury Nhat Le Hotel
0.7 mi away
Muong Thanh Holiday Quang Binh Hotel
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#6 of 24 in Dong Hoi
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vinh Hoang Hotel
Vinh Hoang Hotel
#4 of 24 in Dong Hoi
6 reviews
0.9 mi away
Saigon Quang Binh Hotel
Saigon Quang Binh Hotel
#18 of 24 in Dong Hoi
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gold Coast Hotel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam

Property: Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam
Address: My Canh, Bao Ninh, Dong Hoi, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Binh Province > Dong Hoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dong Hoi
#2 Spa Hotel in Dong Hoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Spa Resort is set amidst 29 hectares of lush, landscaped gardens, It is located on the bank of the legendary of Nhat Le river and on the pristine white sands of Nhat Le Beach.This idyllic Resort in the picturesque Central Vietnamese and the perfect gateway to discover the World Heritage. Surrounded by water on three sides, our peninsular resort has 234 international standard rooms and suites, 12 beach front villas and 10 bungalows. All villas and bungalows offer luxurious facilities of 5 star international standards and reflect charming images of Vietnam's rich culture and warm hospitality. The Resort offers a wide variety of international restaurants, bar, numerous activities recreation, beauty spa which bring guest ultimate enjoying and truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam Hotel Dong Hoi
Sun Hotel Dong Hoi
Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam Dong Hoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing