We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Dong Hoi
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
333 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Great Location, Decent Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to visit Phuong Nhe and Paradise Caves in March. It's the nicest hotel in the area and is about 1.5 hrs from Paradise Cave (less to Phuong Nhe). It was deserted this time of year as it caters mostly to Vietnamese Tourists who vacation here in the summer to access the beach. Hotel staff doesn't speak English so it's a bit of a challenge to communicate.

Hotel is beachfront and had a nice spa (good value for spa services) and huge outdoor pool (not heated). The rooms are just ok, big but needs updating, bed was hard as a rock (Typical of Asian hotels) and decor caters to a local Vietnamese taste. The hotel is across the river from town, so only food within walking distance is at the resort and it's just Ok. Buffet breakfast included.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luvtosafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    87
    61
    26
    18
See reviews for
48
107
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dutch Alps
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

What an immense place, something we never expected here. We had a good room with everything in it one may expect and very clean and tidy.
Restaurant is worth going to, the food we had was delicious and well presented.
We used the spa for an unforgettable good massage, weather was actually too cold to do anything else. The place is so large they brought us to the spa in a golf-buggy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veldhuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is not like any other resort that we have visited. The resort is massive: Olympic size pool, live music at night, several restaurants, large patio bar area, beachfront, tennis courts, golf, and fresh water pond. However, there is an eerie feeling when you check in, and you constantly ask yourself "where is everyone" and "am I missing something." The best explanation is that Dong Hoi is still very underdeveloped and a less traveled area in Vietnam. The resort has hundreds of rooms but very few are filled. Fortunately, there was a convention when we were visiting, and we managed to see other guests at dinner. If you can overcome the eerie feeling that the hotel staff outnumber the guests, it was an OK stay given the choices in the area.

Our main reason for staying at Sun Spa was to visit the Phong Nha and Paradise Caves, which was a 45-60 minute drive from Sun Spa. The advantage of staying at Sun Spa is that it is easily accessible to transportation (airport, train, and bus stations). It was the only western style hotel that we could find in the area. Staff was friendly and eager to help but spoke minimal English making communication a little frustrating. We suspect that there is not a thriving hotel infrastructure in Dong Hoi, thus there are few well trained locals in the hotel business. Although more expensive than the guesthouses in the area, our room was clean and comfortable for our 2 night stay. Agree with other posters that this was not a destination for a beach getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrotter423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

a nice place , had views of sea , a great quiet location , very difficult to communicate with the staff as the english very poor , but they were very polite and tried to be helpful . vey clean room , the breakfast was ok , nice vietnamese cofee , an easy walk to the ocean , some unfinished work , but we can still reccommend

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emily b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

As stated, we only came here for dinner and to have a bit of a peak at the resort.

We walked in from the beach and found it very quiet and lonely, it almost seemed abandoned.
Large parts of the sea wall had collapsed and the building housing the spa in the 5star section was unfinished up the top, as if they had run out of money before it had been finalised. Oddly though, there was construction going on of other newer buildings in the resort.
We asked the receptionis for the 5 star hotel and bungalows if there was a restaurant nearby we could have dinner at, but it was closed up, and we were given a ride to the 4 star section where the restaurant was open.

It was a large room, but no one else was in there except staff at first. The menu was ok, but a bit expensive. The food was quite good though. We tended to choose more western dishes like pumpkin soup and pizza, things we had not really had in some time, and they came out nicely. Service seemed fine when we were there, if a little confused at times. Their English might not have been the best, but they were definitely friendly and cheerful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stay in the hotel for almost 1 week long for the business. The staff is awesome but not speaking English at all. Breakfast is with not many choices but consider it is normal in this time of the year as they have only 10 rooms occupied by my group.
The room is very good; clean, all have sea view and balcony; quite spacious but the house keeping is very strange as they normally come to the room at 9.00 and ask if we need to clean the room;
The hotel meals are pretty expensive; the food is quite good but services are really slow; have to wait 30 minutes for each order; the price is for Western of course. The bar is beautiful with live music every night. The singers are also good: some Philipino and some Vietnamese/
To sum up, the hotel is not very much high-end but it will be very good for the Vietnamese in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phong D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We arrived at this hotel at 8.30 AM, coming off the night train from Hanoi. We would have liked a shower before visiting the caves, but were told that check-in starts at 2 PM. If we wanted to check-in earlier, an extra night would be charged. Sun Spa Resort has 300 rooms, and as it is low-season, probably about 10 or so were occupied... So we traipsed off to the caves, all sticky.
On our return, we were given a room, USD 160 for the night. It then took housekeeping and engineers another hour to provide hot water. As the place is so empty; they had probably turned off the geysers in whole parts of the hotel.
But to be fair, it wasn't all bad. Our room had amazing views; the (even more expensive I think part of the) hotel has beautiful private villas, very nice swimming pools and beautiful landscaping. And the food was good too: my passionfruit and yoghurt mousse dessert was one of the best desserts ever, and breakfast has nice fresh crispy bread and pastries.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dong Hoi hotels
0.7 mi away
Muong Thanh Luxury Nhat Le Hotel
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#7 of 22 in Dong Hoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Muong Thanh Holiday Quang Binh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cao Minh Hotel
Cao Minh Hotel
#4 of 22 in Dong Hoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nam Long Plus Hotel
Nam Long Plus Hotel
#1 of 38 in Dong Hoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tung Homestay
Tung Homestay
#1 of 22 in Dong Hoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam

Property: Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam
Address: My Canh, Bao Ninh, Dong Hoi, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Binh Province > Dong Hoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dong Hoi
#2 Spa Hotel in Dong Hoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Spa Resort is set amidst 29 hectares of lush, landscaped gardens, It is located on the bank of the legendary of Nhat Le river and on the pristine white sands of Nhat Le Beach.This idyllic Resort in the picturesque Central Vietnamese and the perfect gateway to discover the World Heritage. Surrounded by water on three sides, our peninsular resort has 234 international standard rooms and suites, 12 beach front villas and 10 bungalows. All villas and bungalows offer luxurious facilities of 5 star international standards and reflect charming images of Vietnam's rich culture and warm hospitality. The Resort offers a wide variety of international restaurants, bar, numerous activities recreation, beauty spa which bring guest ultimate enjoying and truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam Hotel Dong Hoi
Sun Hotel Dong Hoi
Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam Dong Hoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing