We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit above average for foreigner; good for local tourists!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Dong Hoi
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stay in the hotel for almost 1 week long for the business. The staff is awesome but not speaking English at all. Breakfast is with not many choices but consider it is normal in this time of the year as they have only 10 rooms occupied by my group.
The room is very good; clean, all have sea view and balcony; quite spacious but the house keeping is very strange as they normally come to the room at 9.00 and ask if we need to clean the room;
The hotel meals are pretty expensive; the food is quite good but services are really slow; have to wait 30 minutes for each order; the price is for Western of course. The bar is beautiful with live music every night. The singers are also good: some Philipino and some Vietnamese/
To sum up, the hotel is not very much high-end but it will be very good for the Vietnamese in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phong D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 304 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

We arrived at this hotel at 8.30 AM, coming off the night train from Hanoi. We would have liked a shower before visiting the caves, but were told that check-in starts at 2 PM. If we wanted to check-in earlier, an extra night would be charged. Sun Spa Resort has 300 rooms, and as it is low-season, probably about 10 or so were occupied... So we traipsed off to the caves, all sticky.
On our return, we were given a room, USD 160 for the night. It then took housekeeping and engineers another hour to provide hot water. As the place is so empty; they had probably turned off the geysers in whole parts of the hotel.
But to be fair, it wasn't all bad. Our room had amazing views; the (even more expensive I think part of the) hotel has beautiful private villas, very nice swimming pools and beautiful landscaping. And the food was good too: my passionfruit and yoghurt mousse dessert was one of the best desserts ever, and breakfast has nice fresh crispy bread and pastries.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Huge place .
Massive investment here in usd .

Place is very neglected... its like some really rich corrupt easy come easy go guy built this place .

300 rooms and hardly anything works ... they hardly speak english .

How did this resort get to buy paradise cave ?
Has filthy rich communist party written all over it .

Room is 150 usd a night and smells weird.

Rather stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andywhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My friend and i stayed in this resort for two nights and it was wonderful. We had a room that overlooked the China Sea and it was a great room - very spacious with very comfortable beds, The infinity pool was fantastic as was the food. The breakfast provided a good choice of Vietnamese food as well as a large selection of continental ans cooked foods. The gift shop was very reasonably priced and there was entertainment each night. There were not many people there so it was a very relaxing break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Nice facilities, let down by poor service levels. To be specific, most staff were very friendly (the pool/beach boys an exception) but had little experience of a service industry. So we were ignored a lot, served white wine at room temperature, served different courses at dinner all at the same time etc. Lots of staff standing in huddles or gossiping on mobiles while guests waited. And lots of loud (deafening) music as the rehearsed and then hosted numerable weddings and conferences.

Yet the rooms were good, big and clean, with decent bathrooms. The pool was also good. Huge, clean and warm (counter to some comments here). You will probably eat here, as the town is a taxi ride away. Food is fine, but I'd stick to the Vietnamese options. The beach is a little barren and when we were there closed for swimming as the sea was too rough.

It's is a good location for visiting the national park and caves, and getting back in the afternoon for a quick swim before dinner. But it's a two night place, not a one week place.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank HolidayJunkie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I had a good time at Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh for 03 days 02 nights with my collegues. I think that Sun Spa is best resort to relax with family. But I really surprised with conference service here.
My company had organised half day meeting. Meeting room is clean, professional equipments, have big room and smaller room.
Meeting package enough every things but good price. I like coffee break with many cakes, fresh fruits.
Sun Spa staff very friendly and professional.
I will be come back on next time

Room Tip: You can choose Deluxe ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hong Linh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just come back from 02 nights staying there. I fell in love with the beach here: so clean, so beautiful but due to hard wave we canot swim. It is the beginning of winter the water is cold. The swimming pool is cold too so canot swim a long time. The staffs are friendly and helpful. The bar with music band is amazing singing the lovely songs. If you stay at this resort, try to book the seaview room. The breakfast is very good with local and western food. I love this place much.

Room Tip: Try to book the second floor, more view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dong Hoi
0.7 mi away
Muong Thanh Luxury Nhat Le Hotel
0.7 mi away
Muong Thanh Holiday Quang Binh Hotel
19.5 mi away
Phong Nha Lake House Resort
Phong Nha Lake House Resort
#2 of 4 in Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nam Long Plus Hotel
Nam Long Plus Hotel
#1 of 28 in Dong Hoi
411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#7 of 28 in Dong Hoi
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vinh Hoang Hotel
Vinh Hoang Hotel
#4 of 28 in Dong Hoi
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam

Address: My Canh, Bao Ninh, Dong Hoi, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Binh Province > Dong Hoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Dong Hoi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dong Hoi
Price Range: $76 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Spa Resort is set amidst 29 hectares of lush, landscaped gardens, It is located on the bank of the legendary of Nhat Le river and on the pristine white sands of Nhat Le Beach.This idyllic Resort in the picturesque Central Vietnamese and the perfect gateway to discover the World Heritage. Surrounded by water on three sides, our peninsular resort has 234 international standard rooms and suites, 12 beach front villas and 10 bungalows. All villas and bungalows offer luxurious facilities of 5 star international standards and reflect charming images of Vietnam's rich culture and warm hospitality. The Resort offers a wide variety of international restaurants, bar, numerous activities recreation, beauty spa which bring guest ultimate enjoying and truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam Hotel Dong Hoi
Sun Hotel Dong Hoi
Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam Dong Hoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing