We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place to stay in Dong Hoi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Dong Hoi
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Loved this hotel. We stayed 2 adults, 2 kids in a twin delux pool view room. The reason we came to this town is that we were going up past the caves up the Ho Chi Minh Trail to visit a Vietnames family. Not normally regarded as a touristy place off season (we travelled in March so very quite).

Drove up a lanscaped long winding road to open hotel foyer area. The hotel is set on a sand bar right on the beach, peaceful and tranquil. Very attentative staff. We had a complimentary upgrade of our room on check in which we declined as we wanted to be in the main wing area by the largest pool and on ground floor. hardest beds in the whole of Vietnam are here!!

As mentioned, the place seemed a little deserted as off season which suited us fine as we had just come from the hustle and bustle of Halong and Hanoi so was a great palce to escape the horn honking! a little out of town but really we found no reason to leave the hotel apart from our side trip.
Staff very attentative - Kids even had their own life guard while playing at the beach leaving us to kick back and enjoy the view. Hotel breakfast plentiful and varied and we had dinner in the resturant both nights which came to approx $80 each night including a few beers and cocktails. Dinner was fine but nothing to rave about. this was the only resturant open when we were there. There was a trio band playing just outside the resturant with a few people sitting around the pool bar area relaxing and playing pool.
Gardens manicured and pool/beach areas clean. Room was spacious enough but did note a small message taped onto the doors leading into the terrace area that stated any clothing etc left out on balconys will be taken to laundry and cleaned on guests expense. We did get clothing laundered here by own own choice- typically priced for a hotel but came back on hangers and charged less for kids stuff (50%less) than adults which is great.

kids club very small and better suited to 1-3 year olds and nothing older. Playground equipment looked tired and warn out.

got a shampoo and blow dry done at the spa. went to reception and got driven around to the 5 star area in a golf buggy- hotel grounds are huge!! Past the golf range and tennis courts which were packed with locals and their expensive cars all having a fab time. up past more garden area and up to the spa/second resturant area. The bar etc were all closed due to off season but area was amazing with massive gazebo's, ponds, walkways all lit up and a 30 m bridge that takes you to the 3rd pool area by the spa. Had a shampoo and blow dry off for $12. was greated warmly with a hot tea. There were a few people in there that had just had masages and when i had finished a couple fo others where also completing their massages and rebooking for the next day. as it was dark, spa reception called back the buggy for my pick up to the main hotel area.
Personally this hotel would have a great atmoshphere when the weather warms up and the mist dissapears and a few more people around. Hotel approx 5 kms from train station and 7km's from airport and 2 kms from start of the town area.

Room Tip: Block A and Block B as near main pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank varney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 304 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

Highly recommended if a little pricey for food and beverages. Great breakfast and Spa

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobmk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Now this place is something special, I am not saying there are not 1 or 2 small issues, but the location, facilities, grounds and staff are just amazing. First the location is in a beautiful setting right on the beach and sea on one side and the river on the other. It is spilt into a 4 star resort and a 5 star. We stayed in the 4 star, there was no-one in the 5 star at all. I think it is off the beaten track for what most people do in Vietnam, and you can't go everywhere, and so Dong Hoi would be one that might not appeal as much as other places. We choose it because of the hotel and the fact it was in location that had a lot less tourists. We went into Dong Hoi to the Fish Market and spent ages walking around, great fun, they loved someone different there and were all waving and laughing. It is a massive fish Market. We didn't go to the caves, not really our scene, the Hotel did run plenty of excursions to them, but they weren't cheap. The staff at this Hotel were ALL fantastic, smiling all the time and could not do enough for you, very very impressed with all of them, it was a real pleasure staying there. Tu in the restaurant looked after us to the highest of possible standards. The grounds of this hotel are MASSIVE there are gardeners everywhere, and because of that the gardens are very impressive. The 5 star bungalows looked great, but did look a bit tired sat there empty, such a shame really. The staff told us they were very busy in the summer, which is good to here. We stayed 3 nights and loved it, it is quiet, but they had a bit of entertainment on at night and the female singer was very very good indeed. Certainly recommend this place it is spectacular and the Staff are fabulous.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsgotovietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Very nice scenery around. At time when we visited this hotel, the whole place was in deep fog, making it looks like out of space and time. Big, clean beach, nice nature. Rooms are gorgeous, all is very clean. Staff is cheerful but their smiles are a bit false (looks like they are very serious about not loosing job here). Breakfast have good selection of dishes, but dinner is disappointment - all food is way too expensive (prices are about 2-3 times bigger then in good restaurants in Nha Trang) and quality of western food is not good, for example pizza base tastes like sweet crispy cookie. Local vietnamese food is good, but menu descriptions can be wrong, for example it can be written "with shrimps" but really its "with pork". Location is secluded and it requires taxi to get into city. City itself is very not-touristic, it is really hard to find place to eat there.

Room Tip: There are cheap rooms with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viktar k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed here as a part of Kuoni's "Trails of Vietnam" tour, there were 8 in our group. Came here at the end of a long day on the road. Hotel certainly looked the part, especially with all its Christmas decorations. The room was quite nice as well, a decent size, with perfectly adequate facilities. Unfortunately the room safe was locked, so had to get reception to come and open it before we could use it.

Unfortunately, it was cold when we arrived. Something the hotel seemed unprepared for - and unable to cope with. The room was very cold and the air con wouldn't pump out warm air, so never got any warmer. Made you want to get out the room, but the rest of the hotel wasn't much warmer. Unfortunately the hot water ran out part way through running a bath. Others in the party met a similar fate with showers. Not very impressive given the size of the hotel and that our group appeared to be the only guests.

A few of our party saw a rat scurrying out of reception, which was a bit off putting. Had a set menu in the restaurant, which was instantly forgetable, with nothing of note. Some of the dishes went completely untouched by our whole group. Breakfast was better, with a large selection to choose from, although some of the items present were a bit odd (cold potato wedges labeled as hash browns). What I had was of reasonable quality. There appeared to be 4 chefs, 2 servers and 1 other person on the door, for possibly a total of 8 guests.

Only 1 bar was open. It was outdoors. Not good given how cold it was.Throughout the evening there was house band (think x factor rejects) playing loudly (whilst wearing their winter layers). Even the bar staff seemed indifferent to their presence. Unfortunately, they drove away the only potential customers of the evening. Was preferrable to return to the cold room and an overpriced can of beer from the minibar.

The overall sensation from our stay here was one of disappointment. The place looks great and has so much potential, but just isn't there yet.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikeeandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

This is a paradise in the small town of dong Hoi . We were surprised at the sheer quality of facilities the fantastic maintenance of the resort. The resort is five star living at a great value for money

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sachinrajat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I love the beautiful interior and also the view. Just love taking pictures in every corner. Service is somehow a small minus. We checked in at 2pm as required, but had to wait until 2.30 as the room was not available yet. At that time, they upgraded us because we complained. Just minor but overall, it was a nice experience. I still recommend this place.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters. Every corner here is worth living :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsmiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dong Hoi
0.7 mi away
Muong Thanh Luxury Nhat Le Hotel
0.7 mi away
Muong Thanh Holiday Quang Binh Hotel
19.5 mi away
Phong Nha Lake House Resort
Phong Nha Lake House Resort
#2 of 4 in Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nam Long Plus Hotel
Nam Long Plus Hotel
#1 of 28 in Dong Hoi
411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#7 of 28 in Dong Hoi
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vinh Hoang Hotel
Vinh Hoang Hotel
#4 of 28 in Dong Hoi
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam

Address: My Canh, Bao Ninh, Dong Hoi, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Binh Province > Dong Hoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Dong Hoi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dong Hoi
Price Range: $76 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Spa Resort is set amidst 29 hectares of lush, landscaped gardens, It is located on the bank of the legendary of Nhat Le river and on the pristine white sands of Nhat Le Beach.This idyllic Resort in the picturesque Central Vietnamese and the perfect gateway to discover the World Heritage. Surrounded by water on three sides, our peninsular resort has 234 international standard rooms and suites, 12 beach front villas and 10 bungalows. All villas and bungalows offer luxurious facilities of 5 star international standards and reflect charming images of Vietnam's rich culture and warm hospitality. The Resort offers a wide variety of international restaurants, bar, numerous activities recreation, beauty spa which bring guest ultimate enjoying and truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam Hotel Dong Hoi
Sun Hotel Dong Hoi
Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam Dong Hoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing