We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wouldnt go anywhere else” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nam Long Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nam Long Hotel
Ranked #2 of 37 Dong Hoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wouldnt go anywhere else”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is the nicest hostel i have stayed in since being in vietnam over a month. I stayed in the top room and there are ALOT of stairs but the view is really nice. Its quiet, very clean, make your bed with fresh sheets and towel, two small but practical bathrooms to 10 beds, balcony, 2 air con, decent size room and beds. Wifi is ok...was dropped in and out alot one night but since then has been fine.
Staff are nice and friendly. Hired a auto scooter which was 200,000 dong for the day to go to the caves. I dont usually expect the scooter or the helmet to be in great condition but usuhally its like 80,000 dong. So the scooter was expensive and not good. Thats the only negitive thing i have to say.
$5 a night without breakfast and $7 with. I went without the breaky but other said was good.

Room Tip: Room at the top has a good view but ALOT of stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shhhadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    121
    32
    3
    7
See reviews for
28
148
75
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
durban
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I've never given a perfect score. They earned it! Go there and you'll see why. Extremely accommodating, interstate bus companies come and go to their doorstep! Literally!! They have the best packages and all staff are completely competent and reliable. Arrive anytime day or night, they greet you with your name and a smile. No matter how tired and miserable you come across from epic bus journey's - they are warm, welcoming and just, lovely.
Wish we stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We came to Nam Long completely by accident. We asked the taxi driver to take us to the downtown/city center of Dong Hoi for a hotel but he automatically brought us here to our luck! Apparently Nam Long is one of the only hotels in Dong Hoi that accomodates tourists, so we came here by chance.
We arrived and stayed in their dorm style rooms at the very top (5 stories of stairs to climb!) The space was very nice and new and well kept beds. At such a low price, I definitely wasn't expecting such good quality and cleanliness in addition to such an amazing view! The dorm area is fortunately where they also have a rooftop patio and overlooks Dong Hoi's river and bridge. Completely beautiful in the morning! This was also a really great place to meet some pretty awesome backpackers and relax out on the balcony with a drink.

The staff was very friendly and kind to us. Their breakfast was probably one of the best I've had in Vietnam! Fresh baked Banh Mi and delicious omelet (served with butter as it should be) and yummy coffee. We even ate dinner there because it was one of the few places in Dong Hoi with actually good food!
We rented a motorbike from them and there was completely no sign of them trying to haggle with us or trick us into paying more. They also offered to let us take a nice shower before we moved onto our next leg of the trip (even though we had already checked out).

Overall, a great experience to give us a stressfree and delightful stay while we went to visit the caves. Best value and best view

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingMame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is usually where all expats stay. Most only stay for one night as there's not a whole lot to do here. There's a nice market along the riverfront and the view from hotel balcony along the river are great and the bridge lit up at night is a sight to see.

The rooms are really modern with 2 bathrooms, lots of space and new air con units.

But the real reason to stay here is as a base for trips to either the huge paradise caves or to kayak through the phong nga caves which are about 40 mins away by bus or bike.

If you have your own bike, some people locate themselves in a farm stay closer to both caves, but if you have no bike, stay in this hotel as it's central and they organise sleeper buses for your next town, either north or south. Its cheap price and had no problems with my one night stay!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glenny557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Excellent hotel, decent rooms, great service. The tour is good and they try to help you even when they dont make money from you.

The breakfast isnt big and my room was the one downstairs, so it was noisy, but i still consider it a pleasant stay

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at Nam Long as a base to explore the Phong Nha national park and caves. The dorm room was on the top floor and had a balcony overlooking the waterfront, aircon and was spotlessly clean. We booked a tour through the hostel to visit the caves which cost 8

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nebsta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mas de Barberáns, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We got the top floor room with great views but without elevator. Fifth floor. The room was clean and big enough. Bathroom was fine. We booked the cave tours from there. After looking for other places to have dinner, we stayed in the hotel.

From my point of view, this hotel is more young couples and backpackers.

Room Tip: Better choose the top floor. Some of the others are interior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XaviEstelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dong Hoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#6 of 19 in Dong Hoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.0 mi away
Muong Thanh Luxury Nhat Le Hotel
0.9 mi away
Muong Thanh Holiday Quang Binh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Saigon Quang Binh Hotel
Saigon Quang Binh Hotel
#14 of 19 in Dong Hoi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nam Long Plus Hotel
Nam Long Plus Hotel
#1 of 37 in Dong Hoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Geminai Hotel & Cafe
Geminai Hotel & Cafe
#3 of 37 in Dong Hoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nam Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nam Long Hotel

Property: Nam Long Hotel
Address: 22 Ho Xuan Huong Street, Dong Hoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Binh Province > Dong Hoi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Dong Hoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nam Long Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Nam Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nam Long Hotel Dong Hoi, Quang Binh, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing