We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic and authentic”
Review of Wuzhen Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wuzhen Guest House
Ranked #1 of 460 Tongxiang B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 25, 2014

this a old area, but the guesthouses are inside in a modern style. rooms are small and clean. as the whole house is wood you hear a little bit the others guests (unfortunately there was
a young couple on a hoenymoon trip in the room above us and they had a lot of fun
the whole night long!) we survived that. do not stay in guesthoeuse # 1 A: very unfriendly
owner-couple, not one word in english , breakfast terrible.
in the evening in the bar area live bands, nice indoor and outdoor restauarnts and bars.
many young people from the nearby youth hostels dancing the night away. a lot of entertainment
there and the old pagode illuminated

Room Tip: do not book guesthouse # 1 A
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Wuzhen Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 347 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

Wuzhen Guesthouse is a collection of private homes managed by a central management company. While there are also alternative accommodation in Wuzhen, Wuzhen Guesthouse are the main ones along the Wuzhen canal. All Wuzhen Guesthouses offer the same services - same breakfast, same menu for lunch and dinner. We were surprised how clean our room was. We stayed in Wuzhen Guesthouse 16c in one of the bigger rooms which was great for us as we had a toddler. Our guesthouse wasnt one of the guesthouse right next to the canal but a little behind, which actually turned out to be perfect as we wanted a bit more peace and quiet.

For all the Wuzhen GUesthouse breakfasts, you get western and Chinese options (bacon, eggs, mantou, nian gou, noodles). Overall, it was a good two night stay.

Room Tip: If you want a good view of the canal at night, then ask for a canal view. We were initially disappoi...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Many guesthouses in Wuzhen west scenic zone and at a reasonable price. Staff at the front desk were efficient and our luggage were transported to our guesthouse for free. However rooms were dark and noisy at night since our rooms were facing pathways with lots of tourist footfall. Beds were quite uncomfortable, and bookings for lunch and dinner at the guesthouses are limited (two at each inn). One of our rooms on the ground floor was infested with mosquitoes and a centipede.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cwng95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

During our stay in the west scenic zone we stayed in one of the many guest houses that are present on site. We had a booked months in advance in order to secure a room with balcony for our stay on the ground floor bordering on one of the canals and we weren't disappointed when we arrived in guest house 2a for our room. The balcony itself bordered on the canal and gave an excellent view and subsequently we actually spent quite some time on that balcony as well in the following days, sometimes just soaking up the atmosphere and drinking tea whilst ignoring the ever present tourists on the other side taking pictures.

The room itself was fantastic; in terms of size we had more then enough space to walk around, sit behind the desk and still enjoy the large four poster bed that was present. The bathroom facilities were top notch, very well maintained and had an excellent shower (strong steady stream, perfect temperature). For us, it simply was a perfect base from which to experience and explore Wuzhen.

In terms of the breakfast there is a plethora of options available. You will get a card where you can check the options you want to eat the next day and these will be provided to you once you get up and walk to the main room of the guest house. Note that the guest house main room doubles as a sort of restaurant so sometimes people will walk in from outside to also order food. You'll find that there are only 2 tables available; this is because guest houses are limited in the amount of customers they are allowed to serve in order not to compete with the on-site restaurants too much (and of course in order to also serve the guest house occupants better!). Note that next to the options on the menu card you will also be able to eat porridge.

If you do speak the language make a point of getting to know your guest house hosts as they serve you your breakfast (or dinner, if you also choose to eat in instead of visiting any of the eateries/restaurants on-site). They're usually great people with their own stories who, once they get to know you better can also suggest things. The guest house we stayed in had a great cook who was more than happy to cook specific things for us to eat when we did stay in to eat dinner at the guest house and we never would've discovered this if we had not spoken to the owner.

If you have a balcony and spend more than one or two days in Wuzhen do as we did and buy things to eat and drink whilst sitting on the balcony. There's various places within the scenic zone where you can sit down and eat/drink whilst having a view but these usually come with a premium price whilst you can enjoy all of this for free from the comfort of your own balcony! Even with tourists staring from across the canal from time to time we had an excellent time sitting there and drinking tea whilst generally just mellowing out and if you have the time in your holiday schedule to wind down and just take it all in there's nothing better than to enjoy it on that balcony.

Note that as other reviewers have mentioned you get allocated a guest house on arrival so I don't think you can specifically choose a guest house explicitly but given that (at time of writing the review) there are only 6 rooms with balconies available the chances for hitting a specific guest house if you do go for the balcony room will be significantly higher.

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms with a balcony/veranda on the water side. If you want to enjoy one of these...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank no-name-entered-2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

So you arrive in the crowded Wuzhen Tourist Centre to get directions to the guest house. We were staying at number 70 and were advised there were no cars allowed along the streets and it was a 20 min walk from the tourist centre. Hauling my suitcase over numerous bridges and making a noisy racket along the cobblestoned alley ways it's easy to see why no cars are allowed along the streets.
Thank goodness there are many small food stalls along the way offering delicious snacks to give you the power to carry on. Finally arriving at the destination our hotel room was amazing. It's more of a bed and breakfast type of place. Upon our arrival it was snowing and -3 degrees outside but inside the room was comfortably warm due to the heated floor boards.
The husband and wife that run this place are incredible cooks.
Try the egg and onion dish it is amazing and very reasonably priced.
I would definitely stay at this place again.
When going out to explore, you must try the congee and pancake shop. I still have dreams about the pork bone congee.
The water town itself seems devoid of life apart from the throngs of tourists and stores. There is no sign of community. It is as if this town was created as an example of ancient lifestyle. Even if this is the case, the town is breathtakingly beautiful with its bridges and alley ways.
Enjoy your stay, your own space and the lack of people. It is a rarity in China.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony or riverside is good. Although I can imagine mosquitoes would be a problem in th...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HammertimeOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We paid RMB570 for one night and breakfast for two + entrance fee of RMB300 for both Xi Zha and Dong Zha (for two as well).

Beware of one thing on tripadvisor : this is advertized as "Wuzhen Guest House" which is a bit misleading : there are around 70 guest houses in Wuzhen Xi Zha, overall more than 300 rooms that must meet the criteria set by the "Wuzhen Guest House" organization but you will have different rooms, views, breakfast or hosts depending on which guest house you stay in.
The decoration of the room we were in was terrible and there is nothing much more to say about the room itself, apart that ammenities (toothbrush, comb, shampoo, slippers) are exceptional in this price range, no conditioner though. Breakfast was OK but if you like to hang around outdoor, there are two table which allow you to enjoy it along the river. We enjoyed it.
Staff has been very friendly and we did not encounter any issue with our luggage (left at the entrance of the village at check-in and picked-up there at check-out).

I believe that staying one night in the village is a great way to enjoy the experience : there are much less tourists in the evening and the morning than during the day, so hanging around in the empty streets is most valuable. But as someone mentioned, this is not a 4* hotel so you need to forget that you are spoilt and be able to take it as it is.

Overall, we enjoyed Xi Zha very much : of course this is a touristic spot in China and there are shops around but it does not feel like there are only shops, there are guest houses as well! Dong Zha is completely different with one shop after another, every other one selling the same thing as the one a few dozen meters before. We do not recommend to buy the entrance fee for both Xi Zha and Dong Zha (5 minutes apart with a bus running every 20 minutes), going to Xi Zha is lovely enough and that will spare you RMB50,- per person.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ADAix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at guest house 69 and the location was great to explore West Wuzhen - near enough to the attractions, restaurants and bars, yet far enough so it was not noisy. The room also overlooks a river bank which is covered by willow trees so you have a nice view yet some privacy. The landlady and her family were very friendly and the breakfast provided, though simple, was filling. The room was also very clean.

As the guesthouse was at one end of town opposite the main town ticketing entrance, you can take a golf buggy as well. Do note that luggage takes about 1 1/2 hours to be delivered, so do plan accordingly, especially when checking out. Wifi was available, though did not seem to work all the time even though the signal was at the second band.

One other thing - when we checked in, they took a 800 rmb deposit on my credit card (room cost 510 rmb). When we checked out, the ticketing agents at the main hall charged 510 rmb to my card, and said the 800 rmb would be refunded in a week! Perhaps it might be better to use cash rather than a credit card, especially if you are traveling from overseas. Otherwise the trip was enjoyable. For further details, please see my separate review on Wuzhen watertown.

Room Tip: They have separate rooms according to your budget. Check out the photos of the rooms before booking.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Orator11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tongxiang hotels
Waterside Hotel
#1 of 273 in Tongxiang
68 reviews
Wuzhen Clubhouse
#14 of 273 in Tongxiang
16 reviews
Gold Riverside Hotel
#13 of 273 in Tongxiang
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Oriental Hotel
Oriental Hotel
#19 of 273 in Tongxiang
19 reviews
Tong'an Hostel
#3 of 460 in Tongxiang
82 reviews
Wuzhen
Jinhanghe Inn
Jinhanghe Inn
#15 of 460 in Tongxiang
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuzhen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuzhen Guest House

Address: No.137 Xizha Street, Wu Town, Tongxiang 314501, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Tongxiang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 460 B&Bs / Inns in Tongxiang
Price Range: $83 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 417
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Wuzhen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuzhen Guest House Hotel Tongxiang
Wuzhen Guest House China/Tongxiang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing