We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, historic, relaxing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa da Alcacova

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santarem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa da Alcacova
Ranked #2 of 13 Santarem B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, historic, relaxing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful place on our 10th wedding anniversary. Sergio and Claudia were the perfect hosts. Not only were the room and establishment beautifully and tastefully done, we were accorded impeccable service. The food and wine(during dinner) was also faultless. HIghly recommended!

Room Tip: Book in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnathan_Wee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolney, England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here as a group of 12 for a few days in early September. The hotel is a little hard to find so make sure you have the phone number of someone inside. If you are driving and get lost, just head up the hill amongst the little cobbled lanes to the highest point. If you can find the massive church and then locate the park, you are very close. The setting of this property is stunning - located in a commanding hilltop position with views across the Tagus river and plain, it has its own historic ruins and fortified walls, a period house, very pretty pool and outdoor seating area. This is very much a family home, lovingly restored and cared for by Sergio and Claudia who consider themselves custodians who can share access to this special place with others. The breakfasts are substantial and good. We arranged to have some evening meals 'in' and we discovered that Claudia is a very good cook and did us proud. A young friend of the family plied us with pre-dinner cocktails by the pool and on windier nights in the beautifully-furnished lounge, probably laid on especially as we were a large group. Everywhere you look is crammed with antiques and objets d'art, a passion of the hosts. We had a room by the pool which is a seperate building and would have been superb if we had wanted a lot of swimming/sunbathing but the wind at this time of year was very strong in early morning and late afternoon (as it was everywhere we went). In such a lovely setting it was hard to tear ourselves away for a day of sightseeing but there are many places within striking distance and this is a good base for a visit to central Portugal.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river have stunning views and sunrise. Others in the house also have beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritZo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here last week . Fabulous location with excellent accommodation. Fabulous main house with beautiful fittings. Fascinating Roman ruins. Great views over the river. Very hospitable hosts. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim and Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

A magnificent historic hotel with city walls, a swimming pool and a Roman temple ruin in its charming garden. What could possibly be wrong? Nothing really. But you should be aware that this is self-catering luxury.

You'll have a hard time finding a member of staff (except a blue robot at the bottom of the pool when you fancy a swim), expect for breakfast. But when you do, they're very friendly. Not necessarily fluent in English, but you're not here to discuss Portugal's economy, are you.

In the main building living room, filled to the brim with antiques and books and what not, there are bottles of good whiskies and liquors and wines. Help yourself, just note the name and number.

Be warned: If you stay for more than one day, you risk getting addicted. If all you wish for is a lovely room facing a beautiful pool, a 2000 year old Roman temple ruin, city walls, a panoramic view, and (usually) wi-fi in the living room, you shouldn't hesitate.

(Note: this review is based on a stay during a temporary absence of the hosts. With Sergio there, it was excellent.)

Room Tip: With only 8 rooms, decide whether to stay in the stately manor or in the two rooms by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troubadour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have just spent a night in this wonderful house and regret that we had not stayed longer. It was simply outstanding.
The manor house was magnificently restored by Sergio and Claudia some 17 years ago and is set on the edge of a high bluff with jaw-dropping views go the Tagus river and plain. To find the house you go towards the Portas do Sol park. There is a small road next to the museum and which adjoins the house which is accessed via a buzzer on a secure gate. Parking is available.The garden is beautifully maintained and has a lovely gazebo with comfortable seating and a small pool. We were immediately impressed by the welcome we received and the beauty of the house.
The interior was not a disappointment! There is a lovely parlour furnished with antiques, a charming breakfast room and and a fascinating indoor water feature. We were immediately offered a glass of wine and advised about an honesty bar. We had superior rooms on the ground floor with fabulous views of the river. The rooms were spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished and very stylish. We asked for advice as to where to eat and were delighted when Sergio offered to take us to a great local restaurant, Taberna do Quinzena, which is about 10 mins walk away but would be difficult to find.
Next morning we enjoyed a lovely breakfast with fresh fruit, cheese, ham eggs cooked to order and freshly squeezed orange juice.
Without doubt the best and b we have ever stayed in in out very extensive travels.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a superior room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lambley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santarem
1.1 mi away
Santarem Hotel
Santarem Hotel
#1 of 5 in Santarem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Lusitano
Hotel Lusitano
#1 of 1 in Golega
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hotel Aires da Serra
Hotel Aires da Serra
#2 of 3 in Torres Novas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Casa da Amieira
Casa da Amieira
#1 of 13 in Santarem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.7 mi away
N1 Hostel Santarem Apartments and Suites
11.3 mi away
Hotel Do Prado
Hotel Do Prado
#4 of 5 in Santarem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa da Alcacova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Alcacova

Property: Casa da Alcacova
Address: Largo das Alcacovas, Santarem 2000-110, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Santarem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Santarem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa da Alcacova 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor House located on one of the most beautiful belvederes in Portugal. The 8 rooms are extremely comfortable, well decorated and refined. Ideal for discovering the historical cities of Santarem, Obidos and Tomar. Swimming pool, fine dinning by appointment , HiFi free. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing