We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but have stayed in better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Good but have stayed in better”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our night here came at the end of our trip to Northumbria. On the way up we stayed at the fantastically sited Ashington branch. The room here in Mansfield was up to the usual high standard for Premier Inns in terms of cleanliness and we were pleased to find the furnishings
from the older set ups. Re-furbished Premier Inns now have less and less space beside the beds and shelving to store / put things on which are important for a longer visit.
Staff as usual couldn't be better as they were helpful, friendly and cheerful despite the dreadful humid weather we have been having of late which wasn't the case further north. Therefore well done to the staff for coping with these conditions and still maintaining their standards and cheerfulness.
It looked as if landscaping on this site may be on the agenda at the back at some point which would be nicer. What let this Premier Inn down we felt was the catering. Whereas most Premier Inns in terms of rooms are identical, the restaurant which was one of a chain we had visited recently was not. Although the main menu was available, there was an alternative pre-cooked choice of chicken dishes as a buffet. We have seen this elsewhere but it seems to cater for quantity rather than quality. We opted for the scampi and chips but the chips seemed soggy and the scampi didn't resemble anything inside the batter. My Belgian waffle was tasteless although my husband's profiteroles were slightly better. Our Italian wine had no flavour and was insipid - not a great meal unfortunately. The restaurant was crowded and noisy but it was a Friday night and the staff were doing their best to cope. We were glad to escape to the peace of our room. Breakfast here was also a buffet service and we hope this is not a sign of things to come in a roll out across this chain. It simply becomes a production line instead of a pleasurable and relaxed stay. Wouldn't stay here again our of choice because of the food or surroundings although the room was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rondonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, Manager at Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us at The Mansfield Premier Inn. I am pleased to hear that you found our Premier Inn provided the usual high standards that Premier Inn strive to achieve. My House Keeping team work hard to maintain the very high standards that our guests expect when staying in Premier Inn expecially during the current heat wave we are experiencing. I am sorry to hear that you didn't have the same level of service and quality of food in our adjoining Brewers Fayre Restaurant I will pass your comments on to the General Manager of the Brewers Fayre for them to investigate and address the issues you have raised. I would like to again thank you for your feedback as we appreciate our guests taking the time to tell us about their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    204
    72
    10
    17
See reviews for
148
167
33
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Me and my partner decided to book a night in the Premier Inn after a hard week at work. The room was absolutely boiling with no air-con. We opened the window and switched the in room fan on yet this made no difference. The wi-fi in the hotel kept crashing and freezing our new tablet. We paid £3 for 24 hours wi-fi yet the connection was rubbish. We then went to the pub next door for some dinner. We entered via the interconnecting door and was not greeted by any staff and was left to our own devices, We had to find our own table and then had to search the packed and rowdy pub to find the buffet area as this was not very clear, and the pub was so packed you could not see. No staff members asked if we was ok. Surprise surprise the pub had no air-con either and it was so hot it was uncomfortable (like the room at Premier Inn) it was so hot the heat was attracting flies to mine and my partners food and drink. The food is lovely yet this just spoils it. Nearly knocked my buffet plate over as had to fight my way through the bar crowd to actually even get to the buffet.
Did not sleep at all - room was far too hot and was disturbed very late at night by other guests screaming and shouting and slamming doors in the corridor. Not what I expected from a Premier Inn. Avoid at all costs in the summer!
The rooms are lovely and clean, just a shame about the temperature of the rooms.
Could do with updating the TV's to flat screen TV's and not old ones.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

One thing sets this Premier Inn apart from the MANY others I have used, utterly pathetic water pressure in the bedroom. Another reviewer mentioned it in May, no manager's comment, no improvement. Turn it up PLEASE.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JWL940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, Manager at Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Mansfield Premier Inn. I am disappointed to hear that you have experienced issues with the amount of water pressure from the shower in your bathroom whilst you were staying with us, but would like to thank you for bringing the issue to my attention. I have arranged for the water pressure in the bathrooms to be tested by our Engineers and I am confident that this issue will be rectified in the very near future. Once again thank you for brining this issue to my attention. Premier Inn pride themselves on ensuring that every guest has an enjoyable stay and again I am sorry that this did not happen on this occassion. I hope that this has not put you off staying with us at The Mansfield Premeir Inn again in the future if you are in the area and require accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Need a hotel that has easy access (plenty of parking), close to motorway (M1 j28), decent restaurant (Brewers Fayre, a good one too), meeting room facilities (right next door), in the Mansfield area...
Look no further, this IS the place to go :-)
Very friendly and welcoming staff, efficient checking in, clean and quiet rooms (even though the motorway is 100m away).
I will most certainly come back again :-)

Room Tip: Book well in advance, as several chain tend to increase the prices closer to the date.. This hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, Manager at Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at The Mansfield Premier Inn. Myself and team pride ourselves on providing excellent Customer Service to all of our guests. I am very pleased to hear that your experience whilst staying with us met your expectations of Premier Inn. I will pass your positive comments on to the General Manager of our adjoining Brewers Fayre Restaurant. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to our Premier Inn if you are in the area again and are requiring accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Good facilities for 1 or 2 night stay. Chose hotel because of ease of location. Friendly welcome, clean & comfortable room even though I slept on sofa bed. Variety of options for breakfast. Nice poached egg cooked to order.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186364Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, Manager at Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at The Mansfield Premier Inn. Myself and team pride ourselves on the excellent Customer Services we provide to all of our guests. Our rooms are maintanied to the highest of standards and I am pleased to hear that these met your expectations during your stay. I have passed your comments on to the Manager of the adjoining Brewers Fayre Restaurant regarding the high quality of the breakfast you were served during your stay. If you are in the area again and require accommodation we look forward to being able to welcome you back to our Premier Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

8 families converged for a special birthday, we had a fantastic time and the staff went out of their way to accommodate the varying ages and needs within our group, fabulously comfortable beds as always

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, Manager at Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments following your stay with us at The Mansfield Premier Inn. Myself and team pride ourselves on providing excellent levels of Customer Service to all of our guests and it is very pleasing to hear that this met your expectations during your stay with us. Premier Inn pride themselves on the quality of the mattress's provided in all bedrooms and I am again pleased that you have a good nights sleep whilst staying with us. Again thank you for your comments and if you are ever in the area again we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us at the Mansfield Premier Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Convenient stop just off the M1 when going north and neading an overnight stopover. Rooms are spread out and can be a long walk from reception. Friendly reception staff and very clean room facilities. Television in room not yet updated to a flat screen but worked adequately.

Room Tip: Try and get one not too far from reception unless you like walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarathonMan427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, Manager at Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments following your stay with us at the Mansfield Premier Inn. Myself and team pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service to all of our guests and achieving the high standards expected on our room cleanliness. If you are in the area and stay with us again please call ahead of your stay and we will be happy to reserve you a room close to reception. I have taken on board your comments regarding the age & condition of the TV's in our Premier Inn. Our Head Office monitor feedback given by guests and are in the process of rolling out new TV's in all of their hotels in the coming months. Once again thank you for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mansfield Premier Inn if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
0.1 mi away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Ripley Hotel
3.8 mi away
Mour Hotel
Mour Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annesley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mansfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
6.5 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
9.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Address: Carter Lane East | Alfreton, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short drive from historic Matlock and the Peak District, next door to East Midlands Designer Outlet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel South Normanton
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel Derbyshire/South Normanton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing