We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Can't get worse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Derbyshire Derby
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Stuck on M1 motorway junction,Spa and swimming pool to small for amount of rooms, foru light bulbs in room inoperative, only had basic 5 channels on TV although more were advertised free, double glazing units seals no use could not see out, drinks fridge nearly clean, housekeeping staff unable to understand basic English(asked for coffee offered a towel), reception staff , a basic smile would help, never mind the rolling eyes to the sky and I only said "hello", 4 star hotel, please tell were is the lounge, no not the bar area were bussiness meetings are being held somewhwere to sit and relax and not in your room, enough said i'll leave it up to you, is it worth even trying as the hotel does not.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravelsWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telGeneralManager, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2009

happytravelsWirral

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor

May I apologise for the challenges you experienced during your stay. From the points raised in your feedback I see that we failed to meet your expectations of a Principal-Hayley Hotel. I can understand the disappointment you must have felt.

We have been very busy over the month of August; our pool does get a little overcrowded at peak times.

We are at present reviewing our TV channels and hope to have a new package installed shortly

It certainly is not acceptable for my staff to roll their eyes at our guests. Thank you for bringing this to my attention

Many of our Leisure guests do use the Lounge Bar for relaxing and we usually only receive positive comments I am sorry you could not relax. We cater for all types of guests in our Lounge Bar which I hope you can appreciate is good for business

We always openly welcome constructive feedback from our guests regarding their experience of our hotels as we find it to be an invaluable tool for catering for our guest expectations and continually improving our standards of product and service.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Derbyshire, when we hope to make amends for your previous disappointment.

Kind Regards

Andrew Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,626)
There are newer reviews for The Derbyshire Derby
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,570 - 1,576 of 1,626 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2009

Ideal location for Midlands and Derbyshire. I stayed here on business and found the staff very attentive and welcoming. Lovely hotel would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al_robo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telGeneralManager, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2009

Al_robo

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor

It was pleasing to read you enjoyed our Hotel for your business trip, and that you found my staff attentive and welcoming

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Derbyshire sometime in the very near future

Kind Regards

Andrew Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

The hotel room was dirty on arrival, requests for staff to replenish toilet roll etc were ignored. Long queues to check in and out, poor customer service. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank star005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telGeneralManager, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2009

Star005

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor

I am sorry you received poor customer service and your stay was disappointing. We have been very busy over the month of August, although this should not reflect poor customer service

It is not acceptable for any of my guests to be given a dirty room on their arrival or have to ask for basic amenities to be replenished. Thank you for bringing this to my attention, I do understand improvements need to be made to our business, I am working closely with my Team to rectify the issues you mention.

We always openly welcome constructive feedback from our guests regarding their experience of our hotels as we find it to be an invaluable tool for catering for our guest expectations and continually improving our standards of product and service.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Derbyshire, when we hope to make amends for your previous disappointment.

Kind Regards

Andrew Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

My sisters, mother and I were booked in for a 2 night leisure break over weekend 15th August. When we arrive we had to wait some time to book in - only to be told that the three rooms we had booked and paid for in full some months ago were not available. We were advised the booking info had not been passed on from Superbreaks, who we had booked with. As I had paid the correct tarriff for three rooms, I could not understand what more information they needed. When I refused to allow my 72 year old mother to sleep on a sofa bed in one of the rooms - they took 2 hours to find another room.

We were also in the 40 minute wait for a table at breakfast the next morning. The restaurant was not full by any means, but there was insufficient staff to clean/clear tables.

There wasn't sufficient towels in the room - and this was not rectified even when a note was left on the one!!! towel for the cleaners.

The Hotel facilities and location were quite good - but Management was absolutely woeful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whicksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telGeneralManager, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2009

Whicksters

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor

May I apologise for the challenges you experienced during your stay. From the points raised in your feedback I see that we failed to meet your expectations of a Principal-Hayley Hotel. I can understand the disappointment you must have felt.

It certainly is not acceptable for your 72 year old mother to sleep on a sofa bed, I am pleased my staff eventually allocated you another room.

The Hotel was extremely busy during your weekend stay I am sorry you could not get a table for 40 minutes at breakfast; we have since opened our second restaurant to ensure we do not have any guests waiting for tables

We always openly welcome constructive feedback from our guests regarding their experience of our hotels as we find it to be an invaluable tool for catering for our guest expectations and continually improving our standards of product and service.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Derbyshire, when we hope to make amends for your previous disappointment.

Kind Regards

Andrew Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Stayed as part of deal DB&B, never again, like other reviewers avoid, avoid and avoid
This hotel needs the hotel inspector to help lick it into shape
Reasons to avoid!!
Staff unprofessional - lack any customer service skills, mostly young and couldn't care less attitude
Check in, very poor, not offered newspapers or any extras, took a lifetime to check in
Dining room, like a school canteen, dreadful menu, eg 4 star hotel, serves chicken and french fries, no other meat offered, and it didn't change in the 3 days we were there.
Housekeeping, room not up to scratch, needs a good deep clean, dirty shower curtain,
Bed that has seen better days
No attention to detail
Drinks over priced
Hotel overstretched due to weddings
Poor hygienne
Carpets need replacing
Needs an upgrade and update
IT IS NOT 4 STAR, 2 STAR AT THE MOST, AND THATS BEING GENEROUS

Take my advice and find somewhere else.................they would rather have weddings and conferences not the weekend break or holiday type of person

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brierdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telGeneralManager, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2009

Nightnurse 33

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor

May I apologise for the challenges you experienced during your stay. From the points raised in your feedback I see that we failed to meet your expectations of a Principal-Hayley Hotel. I can understand the disappointment you must have felt.

We have been very busy over the month of August; this should not affect the level of service we offer to all our guests.

I am currently working with the Chef to produce new menus which we hope to launch shortly, with a variety of dishes and prices to cater for all our guest needs.

We always openly welcome constructive feedback from our guests regarding their experience of our hotels as we find it to be an invaluable tool for catering for our guest expectations and continually improving our standards of product and service.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Derbyshire, when we hope to make amends for your previous disappointment.

Kind Regards

Andrew Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I have stayed in other hotels in the Principal Hayley chain before (Palace-Manchester and Royal York) and had a lovely stay.
This hotel, however, puts me off the entire chain. It does not deserve 4* even though it might have in the 1980's!!
I don't want to rant on as I've already told the hotel what I think but just to summarise:
*Joanne/a on reception was very pleasant and helpful but the other girl was unprofessional when we first arrived (in the morning she was much more helpful)
*Couldn't get a dinner reservation until 9:30pm, and were ignored by waitresses
*Room was boiling but couldn't open window due to M1 traffic noise (no air-con)
*View of M1, noisy BBQ and bouncy castle
*Screaming Kids outside room early Sat morning
*Had to wait for 15 minutes for breakfast due to lack of clean tables
*Woke up with a weird insect bite which is now all swollen and red and itchy..
I would never ever stay here again! We had driven down for a romantic weekend and checked out 1 night early to go home.
I have stayed at 3* hotels that would wipe the floor with this place! Principal Hayley should improve or get rid of this - it lets the brand down.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neonpinkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

This is a nice hotel but is disgracefully mismanaged. Room was incrdibly hot with no respite using the non working air conditioning. When calling the hotel by phone the call remained unanswered for more than 30 minutes. Guests were kept waiting just to get a table for breakfast for more than an hour. The hotel knows how many guests it has booked and makes no attempt to accomodate the numbers for breakfast. staff confirmed that this happens all the time. A total disregard and lack of care about their customers as all they needed to do was split breakfast into time slots allowing only a set number of people per time slot. Instead they simply allowed people to congregate in their bar area waiting for a table to become available. Having stayed in all kinds of hotels in many many countries and the UK this was the first time I have experienced such disregard and lack of service.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadcjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0telGeneralManager, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2009

Sadcjp

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor

May I apologise for the challenges you experienced during your stay. From the points raised in your feedback I see that we failed to meet your expectations of a Principal-Hayley Hotel. I can understand the disappointment you must have felt.

Not all our rooms have air conditioning, unfortunately the ones without do become very hot in the summer months, plans are underway to ensure all rooms have air conditioning installed

We did have some challenges with our phone systems making it difficult for guests to call the Hotel, essential works were being carried out to upgrade the system

We have recently introduced a new customer care initiative for all our staff to undertake to ensure all our guests receive the most professional care at all times

We always openly welcome constructive feedback from our guests regarding their experience of our hotels as we find it to be an invaluable tool for catering for our guest expectations and continually improving our standards of product and service.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Derbyshire, when we hope to make amends for your previous disappointment.

Kind Regards

Andrew Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
5.5 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
1,266 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
9.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,429 reviews
10.4 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Alfreton
Travelodge Alfreton
#1 of 1 in Alfreton
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derbyshire Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Price Range: $78 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Derby South Normanton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing