We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Derbyshire Derby
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at the Derbyshire hotel. It was as good as the previous visit. The food is excellent, staff very accommodating and a credit to the management. The hotel is close to a large retail outlet and a beefeater restaurant.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank fliss r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for the notes. It was great to welcome you back again and help you have another great trip.

We are very lucky to have East Midlands Designer Outlet shopping village less then 1 mile away.

Best wishes,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    577
    335
    130
    86
See reviews for
187
753
37
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed over for one night, for a wedding we was attending, we have never stayed here before and was very happy with the room given. Very clean, tidy and excellent facilities in room from hairdryer to trouser press iron and ironing board. TV channels limited and not very good signal but we were not too fussed as wasn't in the room really to need it. The room was a little warm but fan was provided in the room. Staff were all very polite and welcoming. Only issue really is the overpriced bar tariff. £8.00 a glass of wine and £5.00 for a pint of Becks made for a very expensive night when attending a function there. However a very welcoming clean hotel.

Room Tip: 244 where we stayed was a lovely clean, tidy room with shower and bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that overall your enjoyed your stay. Thank you for highlighting the hard work done by our housekeeping team, we will be sure to pass this on.

We hope to welcome you back again.


Best wishes,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mansfield
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Thanks for the flower petals on our bed . Everything was very good . An excellent start to our married life .bed & breakfast very good , room facilities very good .A very good hotel for motorway access . Plenty to see and do close by . Bypass mansfield it's a horrible place to go - DONT.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank barryandlesley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Congratulations again

It was a pleasure to be able to help you celebrate the start of married life. We always try to enhance guest’s stays when we can.

Derby and Nottingham are both close to the hotel and wonderful to spend a few hours in.

Kind regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county durham
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband and I booked a deal via Travel Zoo and decided on a 3 night break in Derbyshire. We normally read Tripadvisor reviews beforehand but for some reason did not bother and it was only once we had booked that we got a bit worried with some of the negative reviews. However, when we checked in it was all very efficient even though the hotel was busy with people staying for a wedding. We were particularly impressed with a young man called Ryan who was efficient, helpful and friendly and seemed to cover check-in, the bar and evening dinner in the restaurant. What a hard working member of staff. We were so impressed with him we filled out a star card which you can complete for specific staff members who have been outstanding. We think Ryan will go far in the hotel industry!

Yes the rooms were a little on the tired side with a worn carpet and the furniture a little scuffed but the bed was large, comfortable with lots of big fluffy pillows and the bedding spotless. The bathroom was spotless with plenty of towels and a good power shower. We had upgraded to a larger room so also received fluffy robes, slippers and bottled water. Our only complaint was the air conditioning which did not seem to be very efficient. It didn't help that it was one of the warmest weekends of the summer but we had to keep the fan running and the bedroom window open all night just to try and stay cool. The cost of running an electric fan all night cannot be cheap!

Many people have commented on the age of the tv's but to be perfectly honest, we only watched the news in a morning and didn't even notice we weren't watching a flat screen plasma tv! We spent our 3 days sight seeing and were more interested in snoozing than watching telly!

We have to say the restaurant was excellent. The quality of the food was high, the service prompt, even when busy and the staff were all friendly and happy to share a bit of banter. The hotel clearly employ a lot of local staff who were very informative regarding the area and I think that goes a long way to building staff/customer relations.

Overall, this is a hotel that is well situated but good value for money if you are not too bothered about having an old telly and a worn carpet. Would consider staying here again next time we visit the Peak District. Well done all staff, keep up the great work!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments and especially your notes about Ryan. It is always good to hear when someone stands out. We are delighted Ryan and the team enhanced your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to explore more of the Peak District.

Kind regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a party wedding booking Fri 25th/Sat 26th July.Hotel not to bad looking maybe a little dated and tired but still was clean.Room was just unbearable so hot even with a fan on an a window you could only open 5 inches.With children with us as a family room no sleep was gained by us which totally put a dampener on our family wedding trip away! Did tell reception of our plight didn't really seem bothered to be honest! Not the costumer care I'd expect! Mr M.Lane

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lane880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Mr Lane

Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you did not feel the team addressed your feedback; we will work with them on this. We endeavour to control the heat of the hotel wherever we can during the very hot weather but we are sorry for the impact on your stay. The windows are restricted for the safety of our guests especially children.

Kind regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

My friend and I have stayed twice on a groupon offer and have had a really enjoyable stay on both occasions. I guess it's all relative to what one has paid but on both occasions my friends and I have really enjoyed dinner and there is sufficient choice to suit most palates. Leisure facilities are an added bonus and early evening they're certainly not crowded. We've stayed in a twin on the 3rd floor and ground floor. Really comfortable beds, rooms are hot - but it is summer! And a fan left on soon sorts the temperature out. Both times, I've had a very comfortable nights sleep and have been surprised at how quiet the hotel was (and last night we did have a room on the M1 side and left the window open slightly!). Breakfast is also very good. Plenty of parking available and really easy access to motorway and road network. I really like this hotel, very convenient for the Peak District and for the designer outlet village too. All staff are very friendly and whilst check in was a bit slow recently - this really Is not an issue. I wouldn't get over-excited by the wine list or the free wine offered but it's good enough and I'm quite sure that I shall be back again in the next few months.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. Ground floor will be cooler in hour weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LestaLady39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your review and it was great to welcome you back again.

We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed 2 of our packages, we do offer a selection of different offers and packages on the Principal Hayley website at all times. As you said we are ideally located for shopping and visiting the Peak District including Matlock Baths, Bakewell and Chatsworth House; Alton Towers theme park is in easy reach too.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Best wishes,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Solar gain on the 'motorway side' of the building, a window restricted to open only about 20cm, and a hot July day resulted in Bedroom 340 resembling an oven on arrival at 7pm. Thank goodness for the fan! I left the fan running from the moment I got to the room until I checked out. It was just about bearable, and I did manage to get to sleep. Room decor a little tired, no resemblance to website photos.
I nearly phoned Reception to complain about the mixer tap for the shower not working, then realised the cold tap was disabled, and that all hot/cold adjustment was on one tap.
Dinner menu was rather a bizarre selection, lots of spicy options that I suspect were 'ready-meal' rather than freshly prepared. And my leek/potato croquette accompanying the chicken was very odd, it resembled an old style crispy pancake in size and shape. Breakfast was actually quite good! Fresh fruit, cooked buffet, cereals.
All the staff were very pleasant and friendly. Overall the hotel was really only just about okay, certainly not 4 star. It was convenient location for my business trip, I could dine conveniently without leaving the hotel, and I did get a decent night's sleep and got a good shower (eventually), but I will look for an alternative hotel for my next visit to this area.

Room Tip: Avoid the motorway side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esbe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We are pleased you had a good nights sleep. All of our food is freshly prepared daily, I am sorry if the tempus dinner menu dishes were not what you were looking for. We do offer the Tempus bar menu and Tempus in Room Dining menu to ensure guests get a wide selection of dishes and food styles. It is good to hear you enjoyed our large breakfast selection.


Best wishes,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
5.5 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
1,206 reviews
9.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
757 reviews
11.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
268 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton in Ashfield
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derbyshire Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Property: The Derbyshire Derby
Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Derby South Normanton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing