We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Derbyshire Derby
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Pleased”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My partner and I stayed here on June 28th during a visit to nearby Matlock Bath. Although we were originally disappointed to find the hotel was 13miles away from Matlock (and right by the motorway), instead of the 6 miles quoted online, we were very impressed with the hotel itself. On arrival the staff were helpful and pleasant and the room was neat and tidy. After originally intending to pop to Matlock to a pub for dinner, we decided to dine in the hotel restaurant and were very impressed. The menu was varied, the food was lovely and the service was great. We could not believe the high standard and quality of the restaurant.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to others and if we ever go to the area again, we would be happy to stay at The Derbyshire Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWill90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

We are delighted to hear you had a good stay and enjoyed our Tempus Restaurant Menu. We hope to welcome you back again soon so you can see some other Peak District villages.


Best wishes,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    566
    329
    124
    84
See reviews for
186
736
37
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skawina, Poland
Level Contributor
331 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Large room but furniture outdated, comfortable bed and given the location near main roads surprisingly quiet. The only two real downsides was the fact that the restaurant for breakfast is really too small to cope and the food for conference participants was nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SleepyNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are very looking that even with our easy access location near the J28 of M1 and the A38 we get little noise plus we have an edge of the beautiful peak district. We are currently reviewing our conference food offering and thank you for your feedback.

Best wishes,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed this weekend for two nights and paid £130. The price was discounted I think as the leisure facilities are out of action! I think what we paid was fair as in my opinion it is no better than a premiere inn, in fact I've stayed at better premiere inns! There is one NXT door as it happens!! The hotel has the feel of needing a little tlc! Although nothing to really complain about I would have been very disappointed if I had paid the normal room rate!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sid2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for the comments. We have a range of packages on offer at all times; please see The Derbyshire Hotel website and Principal Hayley Hotels website. We have rolling programme of redecoration.


Best wishes,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I have visited The Derbyshire on 7 occasions. Each visit has been great. We always feel comfortable in this hotel and lots to see in surrounding areas a good base.
Rooms are a bit dated but always clean. Bar area is nice to sit relax and have a nightcap.
Spa is good, steam room is great , pool a good size.
Breakfast is fantastic, so much variety and topped up regular, staff very helpful and friendly.

Only downside this visit was children in the swimming pool , took over most of the pool and we did not go in until after 7.15pm we were only in pool 5 mins got out .Should really be a cut off time for children.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jujuhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
It was a pleasure to see you again. Thank you for your review and for suggestion. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I joined friends for a Groupon Spa day at the Derbyshire recently. I thought the idea of groupon was to encourage good feedback and recommendations, somethimg I would not do for this spa day experience.
On arrival we were told we could not book additional treatments as they were full, ( we telephoned two weeks prior to book extra treatments and were told to just book on the day!).
The swimming pool was available to use but the whirlpool jacuzzi was broken due to a boiler breaking down!
Lunch was provided - we were supposed to eat in a relaxation room but were told that as there were 5 of us there would not be enough room! The room had 5 seats.
Instead we were told not to worry we will put you privately in a conference room. This room was set out for business meetings with flip charts and note pads. Hardly a relaxing experience on a spa day to be reminded of work!
They had only preperaed 4 lunches so one of our party had to wait 20 mimutes for her lunch. No refreshments were offered. We had to ask for a jug of water.
Back to the pool after lunch and treatments for a lie down. ( the treatments werer lovely).
On departure we experienced freezing cold showers as the boiler of course was broken.
The staff were very polite throughout the day however the point of the spa being to relax was taken away by lack of working facilities and a corporate lunch. I wouldnt be recommending a spa day here to anyone. I believe the spa was to be refurbished the following week however as a paying customer I would still expect the same adequate facilities that I would hope would be provided after the refurb.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JARY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry some aspects of your spa day did not live up to your expectation. We will use all your comments to ensure we enhance our service wherever possible. As you said we have this week finished some light refurbishment work in the leisure club including a new Jacuzzi and Sauna. We are really pleased you enjoyed the main treatments so much though.


Best wishes,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Normanton hotels

Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed there on Friday and Saturday evening in June and thought it was pleasant and good value. We checked in on the afternoon and the receptionist was very efficient and polite. The room and bathroom was clean and the shower worked well. I noted someone's comments re old fashioned TV which was very true and was somewhat surprised they had not been updated.
We did not use the restaurant so cannot comment but used the Brewers Fayre across the road which was very good (see separate review).
The beds were comfortable and our room was quiet even though there was a wedding party.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and the cooked food was hot.
I used the gym which was relatively small but all of the equipment worked well and the air conditioning worked well.
There is not much around the hotel but it is convenient for the popular Derbyshire tourist spots
We would certainly use it again and parking is not an issue

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you had a good stay, we are very lucky with our location near the Peak District.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best wishes,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

The brochure pictures probably raised my expectations of the hotel so I'm a little disappointed. The staff are very friendly & helpful, it is very clean with decent facilities in the gym & pool. The room is clean & reasonable size. So why am I dissapointed? Some might think some of my comments petty but still here they are. The TV is an old cathode ray bulbous monstrosity with poor snowy picture, only 5 channels & no TV guide. A wet towel which I had used 4 times & left on the floor for the laundry had been folded up & put on the bath side, toilet roll not replaced. I'm staying on the lower level near the spa & it's hot, the corridors are a bit gloomy too, it needs sprucing up.
I noticed other comments on TripAdvisor about ample parking my experience is different the last 2 nights it's been packed with cars abandoned everywhere & parked on double yellow lines.
I would still return just a little disappointed, I feel slightly guilty using there free WiFi to write & post this

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank 1302andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Andy

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you feel the hotel does not match all the pictures, this not our aim. We do have a rolling programme of refurbishment ongoing at all times, having recently done the Lounge and Reception area. I will review your comments with the Housekeeping Manager too.

We are pleased the team looked after your well though.

Kind regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
11.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,355 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mour Hotel
Mour Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annesley
610 reviews
9.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
247 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
1,182 reviews
10.4 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derbyshire Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Property: The Derbyshire Derby
Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Derby South Normanton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing