We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Derbyshire Derby
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Booked to stay here for a long weekend, I must say was excellent value through the hotels website. The room was clean and had all the features you would expect from a 4 star. Gym and spa facilities were very good, nice pool and hot tub and very well maintained. The breakfast was excellent and well staffed. Bar and staff very good, drinks expensive ( always are in hotels - no problem!)
Ignore the negative reviews they are rubbish often coming from people who are miserable and clearly have no idea what they are talking about!
This is a well run hotel with excellent management, and I shall be recommending this FANTASTIC property to my business associates to stay when we come up from London.
Hopefully when I am next on site I will get to thank the General Manager personally, I did thank Louise on reception who I observed during my stay and her work was exceptional and was extremely helpful and pro active.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the car park are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure to have you with staying at The Derbyshire Hotel.

I will share your comments with the full team and I know they will be delighted. I am pleased Louise helped enhance your stay and as the General Manager it is a pleasure to read your feedback and hear you enjoyed your time. Please do contact us direct if we can assist with any business event for you. We have 14 modern event rooms so we can cater for 2 – 250 delegates with a dedicated event team on hand to help at every point.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for both business and another relaxing weekend in Derbyshire.


Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    546
    317
    121
    81
See reviews for
183
713
37
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Me and my husband stayed one night on a Travelzoo deal. It was excellent value for money. The staff were first class from start to finish. We used the spa facilities which were great. Our evening meal was lovely and very well presented. Our room was comfortable if not a little dated in appearance. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Michelle

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay to much and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. It is always worth looking at Principal Hayley Hotels & Venues main website www.principal-hayley.com for a variety of packages and offers for all.


Kind regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Weekend conference, nice facilities and very helpful staff. Food throughout was excellent. On the first night my bedside lamp was not working and the mattress was uncomfortable, both of these were rectified as soon as reported and charmingly, a complimentary box of fudge was left in apology. Swimming pool facilities were good and provided welcome relief at the end of formal sessions and before dinner. I would happily return to this venue.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to host your event at the weekend and help make it so successful for you all. As a team we strive to ensure all guest stays are as enjoyable as possible and we are delighted we helped this happen for you.

We hope to welcome you back again for another Conference or a relaxing break in the spectacular Derbyshire countryside we are so near too.


Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsden, West Yorkshire,Uk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a two day conference at the Derbyshire. Although it's quite difficult to get to by public transport (I suspect it's really aimed at car drivers, as it's just off the M1), once there, the welcome was warm. The staff were great - very friendly, and always willing to go the extra mile.

Food in the bar is quite expensive (£10 for a Panini - very good, though) - unless you're eating on an expense account!), but all the meals we had in the restaurant were excellent - cooked breakfast buffet with options, great coffee, and speedily served dinners of great quality. One thing - the restaurant isn't huge, so you may have to wait if you arrive at a popular time. Also, unusually, you have to wait to be seated at breakfast. Not a problem, but most hotels seem to let you wander in at breakfast (which suits me fine!)

My room was a fair way from reception - a good five minute walk down stairs, and along several well signposted corridors. Once there, it was very warm (commented on by several other guests - in their rooms that is, not mine!), clean and well maintained.

Overall, the Derbyshire might not be the perfect location for a Peak District weekend (there are lots of places closer to the dales, and places with more atmosphere), but if you need a location for a conference, or a high quality hotel close to the motorway, you won't go far wrong with the Derbyshire. It's a hotel that means business.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Adeythom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the conference and found the hotel enhanced your event. We are well located near the M1, junction 28; for travel by rail both Derby and Nottingham train stations are a short taxi ride away.

We hope to welcome you back again soon either for another event or for time to explore the local area.


Kind regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Beware lof the cheaper rooms! Mine smelt strongly if stale cigarettes and deoderant ....and now I'm awake at 5.13 am with the radistor banging and knocking. Paid £14.95 for a soggy sandwich with undercooked chips that took half an hour to arrive.......

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JadamsPenzance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Review

Please accept our apologies for your disappointment. We always aim for our guests to have an enjoyable stay and we do have a duty manager on 24 hours a day to assist guests.

We would welcome the opportunity to speak and if you are happy to please contact the General Manager on 01773 81200.


Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Business hotel, convenient for motorway. Staff very obliging and express checkout facility appreciated. Room clean but overwarm and choice of TV channels very limited. Full sized ironing board useful. Indifferent restaurant, overpriced meal plus nearly £9 for a glass of wine, with limited food choice, young staff worked really hard. Breakfast average.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pammyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We welcome all feedback and always use it to improve our service. We are sorry that our Tempus food selection was not what you hoped for, we do offer 3 different menus each served daily including the main restaurant menu, lounge menu and room service menu all of which carry a different selection.

We are please the team enhanced your stay with us.


Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The staff were very friendly, especially Clare on the reception desk, and made us feel welcome. The evening dinner was fantastic and would highly recommend eating here.
Breakfast the next day was equally as good and had some of the best sausages I've ever tasted!!
Access to the swimming pool, sauna and steam room was an added bonus and was used and enjoyed.
The room was spotless and the bed comfy, the carpet was a liitle threadbare but that didn't spoil our break at all.
Will definitely be returning to this hotel again.
Mr & Mrs B

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs B

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you had such a good stay. The leisure facilities are available free of charge to all guests staying at The Derbyshire Hotel and are well worth a visit.

We hope to welcome you back again soon to The Derbyshire Hotel and the other Principal Hayley Hotels & Venues


Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
11.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
9.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derbyshire Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Property: The Derbyshire Derby
Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Derby South Normanton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing