We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Derbyshire Derby
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was our second one night stay on a DB&B offer, the first being in November 2013.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay and although I have only given it three stars, it really is a great place to stay if you need to be in the area and I would recommend it. Considering it was a January weekend the hotel seemed very busy.

The staff on reception and in the restaurant are all extremely friendly. The dinner was excellent, as it was last time we stayed.

The corridors are a little dismal and some carpet areas a bit worn. The beds and bedding were very comfortable but the TV's need to be upgraded urgently. It is an old style TV, small screen and very limited channels. Our room was very warm, it's nice to know they are not trying to cut back on heating costs.

On the plus side there is free wifi. It seems that during the week this is a corporate hotel as they have a number of conference rooms.

There is a pool and steam room but I didn't use these so can't comment.

I'd be more than happy to stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, it was pleasing to read this was your second visit, we do like to welcome guests back time and time again and have a lot of regular guests who visit us when we are running special offers. Our in house maintenance team are working round the corridors brighteneing them up and we are looking at replacing the carpets.

TV's are unfortunately a little dated but again we are looking at replacing them in the near future, I am glad overall you found your bedroom to be warm and cosy with free WIFI

I do hope you will visit us third time and look forward to welcoming you back to the Derbyshire

Kind Regards

Angela Hardy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,144 - 1,150 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

I had a choice to choose average or very good... It was more average than very good.

We recently visited with parents for the weekend, the service we received was friendly and polite. The waiting staff were extremely helpful. The rooms we were placed in were of good quality however my parents had to move rooms twice due to noise although a quiet room was requested. My mother was informed they don't really have any quiet rooms only to be told in the morning by another member of staff that they have rooms at the end of the hall which are extremely quiet that were available.

The spa facilities were ok, the shower facilities in and around the pool area could do with a little work but the gym itself needs completely ripping out. It's ridiculously unsafe when busy and the wear and tear is clearly showing. Either it needs investment or scrapping.

The plus side to this hotel was the food is excellent, we had a great dinner and breakfast was more than enough!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKworldtrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am sorry this visit to the Derbyshire was not has good as the last. It is clear the Front Desk team need to have some refresher training of our accommodation as most of our rooms are quiet even though we are situated conveniently to the motorway.

We are constantly updating our gym equipment and only recently had new treadmills, your disappointment with regards to the gym as been noted for future planned refurbishment.

I am pleased you found the food both dinner and breakfast good the Chefs will be pleased with your kind words.

I hope you visit us again soon, please ask for quiet rooms we do certainly have them

Kind Regards
Angela Hardy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I went to the Derbyshire hotel as a I will be leaving the UK for 5 weeks, and this was to be our last weekend together for a while. On making the reservation, I work in a hotel myself and know how hard and stressful this can sometimes, be. The reservation team were excellent, a lady called Enid took my reservation, and she could not have done more to make me feel welcome and appreciated for making the booking. So I hope she gets recognition for that! Upon check-in we were kept waiting for a 10-15 minutes, but again we didn't mind as the atmosphere was relaxing and warm and friendly, we were greeted by all members of staff and were asked if we had been seen by a receptionist as they didn't want to keep us waiting! Recognition of a guest goes a long way, and to be kept in the loop and acknowledged by every member of staff just passing through reception was lovely. We checked in, and our room was beautiful, I was expecting a horrid, view but for the location of the hotel it was great! The bathroom was lovely and clean and bright! And there was always hot water which is sometimes hard to find! When we went later that evening to use the leisure facilities, and unfortunately the only thing to let that down was the receptionist on the desk who wasn't bothered to explain how to use them and where to go! We didn't mind that the sauna was broken, as we hadn't on planned to use it, but it was good that they had information signs for guests. The pool was a lovely temperature to relax into and the Jacuzzi was gorgeous. The lights inside the pool against the darkness of the cold winters night looked beautiful, and it made me even more relaxed! We were on a DBB package, and when you pay less, you expect minimal, in this case it was more than satisfactory I was stuffed! The food was scrumptious and each waiter who was on shift was delightful, I am unaware of the gentlemen's name that served us but he did his job perfectly and we were made to feel like nothing was a problem. We did order breakfast but some how our breakfast card had gone missing but the reception staff were very helpful and quickly got our breakfast to us, and as it was an hour late we needed a late check-out, and we were not charged for this! I thought that was a lovely way to say sorry and we will definitely be back as it is not to far away for us, but far enough to get away! Fully recommend it, and ask to stay on the floor, one flight of stairs down as it is on the same floor as the leisure centre. It is JUST off Junction 28, and there is a really good Designer Outlet off the same roundabout! It was also acroiss the road from a brewers fayre, so if you need a break from the hotel just for a drink, it was nice to have that option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the same level as the leisure centre!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harriette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your five star review, I am really pleased you had such a relaxing time, the staff do like to extend a warm Derbyshire welcome to all our guests. I am only sorry this was not the case at the Leisure Reception, I will certainly speak to the Leisure Manager to ensure she completes corrective training with her team.

I do hope you visit us again in the near future and hope you have a successful trip away

Kind Regards
Angela Hardy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

2nd visit to this Hotel in the last month for pure relaxation purposes.Cannot fault anything,we have been allocated 2 lovely rooms have paid extra on both occasions for an upgrade but the 2nd room was definitely a cut above.Evening meal was delicious, wine lovely breakfast delicious, staff amazing this Hotel should be very proud of their staff especially Mark Fairweather on Reception he is so professional and caring for me first impressions are very important and he goes the extra mile.

Will be back to stay here most definitely again very soon can't wait.

Very kind regards

Katherine Teal.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank foam549good813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review, I am pleased everything was fabulous, the staff especially Mark will be most pleased with your comments. I do hope you visit us again soon making a third visit !

Kind Regards

Angela Hardy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

this hotel is well worth the money , the food is really nice , we had a really fresh well thought about dinner on the set menu , if you are looking for a massive plate of buffet though you can head over the road ..but try the food here its really delish , the beds are comfy , our room the t.v was a little old but we didn't need to watch it as we where in the spa ect all weekend , for the money it is very good value .

we are back this weekend for a shop a few drinks and a dip in the pool.

Room Tip: hopefully leaving a good review the manager may read this and up grade me :) wink :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izzifiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for our great review should we have seen your review earlier I think an upgrade would have been possible ! I am glad you found the Derbyshire Hotel to be good value and you enjoyed the delicious food Chef will be pleased to read your comments.
Hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards
Angela Hardy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed on a quiet Sunday night. Room was reasonably big with good ensuite bathroom. TV was a bit on the old side and not many channels. Bed was comfortable. Good wardrobe. Used the gym and swimming pool facilities, these are very good and well worth using.

Had an evening meal included in our stay - although the resturant was very quiet, the food wasn't all that great. We did enjoy the house wine, but were officially unable to buy a bottle, and then the staff offered to sell us one for £22! Breakfast was very good however, though served very early.

In summary this is a reasonable hotel but eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Downstairs close to the gym is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, I am glad you made use of our lovely leisure facilities, and you found your bedroom and bathroom to be pleasant. I am surprised to hear your evening meal was not up to our usual standard. House wine is avalable to purchase and we do have varying offers availble such as buy 2 glasses of wine and get the rest of the bottle free, I will address your comments with the Food & Beverage Manager.regarding the wine.
I do hope you visit us soon and do try our Restaurant again when we hope to show you the true standard of our food offering

Kind Regards
Angela Hardy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed for one night after a Business Dinner. This was promptly served and was hot. The staff throughout the hotel were friendly and efficient. The dance floor did seem to have seen better days.The breakfast had a wide variety of items available but unfortunately when we arrived at the self-servery the Fried Potatoes, the Fried Bread and also the Bacon had all run out and we had to queue for replacements to be brought from the kitchen which spoilt what would have been an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennisgee2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela H, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review, I am really sorry our breakfast experience let what otherwise would have been an excellent stay at the Derbyshire Hotel down. We usually receive many positive comments about our breakfast offering, I am sure Chef will have already addressed the issue with the breakfast Chef after reading your comment. I do hope you visit us again and breakfast will be to the standard we are accustomed for.

Kind Regards
Angela Hardy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
10.4 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
667 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Alfreton
Travelodge Alfreton
#1 of 1 in Alfreton
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
357 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
3.8 mi away
Mour Hotel
Mour Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annesley
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derbyshire Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Price Range: $70 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Derby South Normanton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing