We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Derbyshire Derby
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Mixed view”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Me and My partner stopped here for one night, it had been pre booked by our children through groupon, On arival we were told we could not check in because we didnt have the printed off paperwork from Groupon, and were faced with a considerable drive back up the motorway to get it...there was no flexibility at all....in the end i got my daughter to email the paperwork as requested and we were then allowed to check in.....Hmmmmm, nice start..
On inspection of the room we noticed the bed valance had.......erm how shall i put it...what appeared to be stains from a certain type of activity, obviously the valance had not been changed.
We asked to re roomed, or a complete change of bedding, new bedding was fitted with no qualms.
The overall look of the hotel was nice, although as stated by previous posters, it was starting to look like it needed money spending on it,
The meals were nice and not small in portion, and we were served by excellent staff, however the drinks were quite expensive, which meant we were not going to drink in the bar, we went out for the evening and found a local watering hole.
The gym, sauna/steam room etc were excellent, and we spent a nice couple of hours in there.
To summarise, it was a nice place, and we had a nice time, would i go back.? possibly not

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banjodeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear banjodeano,

Thank you for your recent view following your stay here at The Derbyshire Hotel.

I do apologise that your check in to the hotel was not as smooth as you would have liked, however with some of our special promotions we do require the booking information to be available when you arrive for your redemption code.

It is disappointing to read that the housekeeping standards were not as you expected in your bedroom, but thank you for informing our team who rectified the issue quickly for you.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience in our Tempus Restaurant, and the staff will be so happy that you found service to be excellent, I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team. I can assure you that all of our prices are placed in line with other 4* hotels in the local area, but I'm sorry that you found these to be higher than you would have liked in our bar.

Our leisure facilities are very popular with all of our guests, and its great to see that you had the chance to use them during your visit.

I hope you will choose to return to The Derbyshire Hotel in the near future,

Regards

Glynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    546
    317
    121
    81
See reviews for
183
713
37
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We attended a business function. The accommodation was excellent, the staff were welcoming and efficient. The use of the spar was a bonus. The evening meal was very good as was the buffet breakfast. The room was not double glazed but that is just an observation. Overall an excellent stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear ChesterGraham,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Derbyshire Hotel following your recent business function.

It is encouraging to read that you found your bedroom to be excellent, and the staff to be welcoming and efficient - I will certainly pass your comments on to the team who will be most pleased.

It's great to see you had the chance to use our spa facilities; these added extras are ideal for our guests who like yourself are travelling on business, as well as our leisure guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future,

Regards

Glynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one of the Xmas party nights. Friendly welcome. Clean room. Comfy bedding. Food at party was ok but most bulk service is average, however breakfast wa excellent! Full English great sausages, etc, even did me special order poached eggs. Can recommend for price paid. Did not use gym or pol but all looked ok.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Bev C,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at The Derbyshire Hotel during the festive season.

Its great to see that you found your welcome to the hotel to be friendly, and also that your room was clean and comfortable as well as value for money.

I am so pleased you enjoyed the food during your stay, and will pass on your comments to our kitchen team, who will be delighted to hear that you found your breakfast to be excellent. Our chef's are always willing to go the extra mile, as well as cater for any special requests where possible.

I hope next time you visit us, you will have the chance to take advantage of our leisure facilities.

I look forward to seeing you again soon at The Derbyshire Hotel,

Regards

Glynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and i stayed at this hotel on Saturday night and were not impressed.

I'll start with the good points. We were greeted at reception by Alison, who was polite, efficient and very helpfull during our stay.

Denise, who works in the restaurant was also friendly, efficient and very welcoming.

Now the bad stuff. We were given our room number, 174, which we found on the dark gloomy lower level. I had read before we arrived that you could take your pet with you, and as soon as we opened our room door we knew someone had done just that. The smell was awful. There were two chairs in the room, the sort you find in nursing homes, and one of them had a large stain in the middle of the seat. I walked in the bathroom and saw what i thought was a large hair in the sink. Upon trying to remove this, found it was a large crack which had gathered dirt.

I did not feel at all comfortable in this room so went back up to reception where i told Alison about the room and she moved us to room 329 which was marginally better, certainly a little fresher smelling, but still a little tired looking.

After our move we decided to head to the bar for a drink. A pint of lager and a white wine and soda came to £9.05, which is very expensive.

We decided to go to the pub just across the car park where the same drinks cost us £5.40.

We had booked to eat in the restaurant at 9.30 so headed back to the hotel and went back in the bar for a last drink before our meal. The same barman poured us the same drinks and then told us that would cost us £11.35!

I asked why the same round had previously cost us £9.05 and he said because that wines dearer.

I had not asked for a more expensive wine so therefore why did he pour that one, did he think we wouldn't notice. There was no apology and i told him to change it to the one i had had previously as that was expensive enough.!

He went to the till, refunded my husband the difference, never spoke and walked away, leaving me with the more expensive wine obviously thinking he'd done me a huge favour.

I found his attitude abrupt and rude.

The meal was so so, the service as i've said very good.

The rooms in this hotel are crying out for a re-fit. All the armchairs in the rooms and the ones scattered around the corners of all the coridors look like they were bought in a job lot from a retirement home.

We will not be going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Kay H,

Thank you for your time to review The Derbyshire Hotel following your recent stay.

I am really pleased that you found the front desk and restaurant service here at the hotel to be very good, although it is disappointing to see that you did not find your bedroom to the standard you had expected. We usually get great feedback on the quality of our product, and our bedrooms are very often described as being very clean and comfortable.

I'm sorry that you found our bar prices to be more expensive that you would have liked, however I can assure you that we regularly complete competitor analysis on other 4* hotels in the area to ensure our prices are competitive.

I apologise for the misunderstanding with your drinks order, although I am pleased that your husband was refunded for the mistake and I will certainly look into how any such issues are dealt with in the future - we normally get very good feedback about the attitude of our staff and so I am suprised to read that on this occasion you did not find this to be the case.

If you would like to talk about your stay in more detail, please don't hesiate to contact me and I will be more than happy to discuss your feedback in more depth with you.

Regards

Glynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Went here for our anniversary deal was very reasonable. The wife used the spa facility's and they were fine. I would have liked to use them but unfortunately was ill on the morning we left and only getting over it now! ( nothing to do with the hotel!)

Only thing was that its located next to the motorway and to get to any sights it's a bit of a drive, saying that still a very nice hotel.

Rooms were very clean and tidy.

Would visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Colin W,

Thank you for your review following your anniversary stay here at The Derbyshire Hotel.

Congratulations on your anniversary, and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your celebrations with us. Its great to see that your wife had the chance to use our leisure club, perhaps you too will be able to relax there on your next visit.

We do pride ourselves on service and quality levels, so to read that you found your room to be clean and tidy is great feedback.

Although we are located just minutes from Junction 28 of the M1, we do find this places us well for a selection of local attractions across the East Midlands.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future,

Regards

Glynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mottingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for my birthday and really enjoyed it.we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful reception team.we had a deluxe double room with a huge comfy bed, nice bathroom,tea and coffee tray with biscuits and bathrobes and slippers. Only fault with room was old style tv and not much choice of channels.considering we were right near the motorway we never heard a sound.
The gym was small but equiped.the pool area was lovely with loungers,jacuzzi and sauna. A steam room was also there but a tad too hot. We had a great treatment each and then had a glass of bubbly in the relaxation room. We had dinner in the restuarant there was a wait to be seated. Nice menu but very limited. The staff had decorated the table for my birthday and also bought out my birthday cake which was lovely.breakfast was buffet style and could not be faulted.

Would recommend this hotel.a great place for a short get away to relax and fairly eady to get to from nottingham. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Jules73,

Thank you for your time to review The Derbyshire Hotel following your recent stay for your birthday.

It is great to hear that you found the service to be excellent - this is something we very much pride ourselves on, and team will be very pleased to hear your comments.

Our bedrooms are often said to be very comfortable, and it is encouraging that you too found them to be. The Leisure Club is a great addition to our facilities and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your treatments with a glass of bubbly to celebrate your day.

I'm very pleased you enjoyed your dinner in our Tempus restaurant as well as breakfast, and that the staff looked after you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Derbyshire Hotel in the near future.

Regards

Glynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a nice hotel, very conveniently situated next to junction 28 of the M1, but not 4 star. Nice leisure centre/spa although the pool is a too small for anything other than splashing about. The reception and bar area is a little small particularly when there are queues to check in/out. The room we stayed in was perfectly fine, although again a little on the snug side and starting to be bit tired. My biggest criticism was the house keeping, you don'y expect to walk into your room to find cobwebs in the corners and thick dust on the top of the TV. We were also disappointed that the room had no information about the hotel facilities and the TV info facility didn't work. Because of previous reports we didn't eat our evening meal in the hotel but, went to the pub across the road (very nice but busy). Breakfast was excellent. Generally, they have pretension to be better than they are.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Mark C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Derbyshire Hotel.

I am pleased that you found your stay to be enjoyable, and that the hotel was located in a place convenient for you. Our Tempus restaurant serves a fantastic menu, and its great to read you found breakfast to be excellent.

It's good to hear that you also enjoyed our leisure facilities, I'm sorry that you found some other areas of the hotel to be smaller than you expected.

I am disappointed that you found the cleanliness of your room and facilities within to be below the standard you would have liked - we usually receive great feedback on all aspects of our bedrooms so I will certainly look into this further.

If you would like to discuss any aspect of your stay in more detail, please don't hesitate to contact me. I hope you do choose to stay at The Derbyshire Hotel again soon.

Regards

Glynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
11.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
9.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derbyshire Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Property: The Derbyshire Derby
Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Derby South Normanton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing