We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take air freshner and plenty of money for drinks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Derbyshire Derby
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and i stayed at this hotel on Saturday night and were not impressed.

I'll start with the good points. We were greeted at reception by Alison, who was polite, efficient and very helpfull during our stay.

Denise, who works in the restaurant was also friendly, efficient and very welcoming.

Now the bad stuff. We were given our room number, 174, which we found on the dark gloomy lower level. I had read before we arrived that you could take your pet with you, and as soon as we opened our room door we knew someone had done just that. The smell was awful. There were two chairs in the room, the sort you find in nursing homes, and one of them had a large stain in the middle of the seat. I walked in the bathroom and saw what i thought was a large hair in the sink. Upon trying to remove this, found it was a large crack which had gathered dirt.

I did not feel at all comfortable in this room so went back up to reception where i told Alison about the room and she moved us to room 329 which was marginally better, certainly a little fresher smelling, but still a little tired looking.

After our move we decided to head to the bar for a drink. A pint of lager and a white wine and soda came to £9.05, which is very expensive.

We decided to go to the pub just across the car park where the same drinks cost us £5.40.

We had booked to eat in the restaurant at 9.30 so headed back to the hotel and went back in the bar for a last drink before our meal. The same barman poured us the same drinks and then told us that would cost us £11.35!

I asked why the same round had previously cost us £9.05 and he said because that wines dearer.

I had not asked for a more expensive wine so therefore why did he pour that one, did he think we wouldn't notice. There was no apology and i told him to change it to the one i had had previously as that was expensive enough.!

He went to the till, refunded my husband the difference, never spoke and walked away, leaving me with the more expensive wine obviously thinking he'd done me a huge favour.

I found his attitude abrupt and rude.

The meal was so so, the service as i've said very good.

The rooms in this hotel are crying out for a re-fit. All the armchairs in the rooms and the ones scattered around the corners of all the coridors look like they were bought in a job lot from a retirement home.

We will not be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Kay H,

Thank you for your time to review The Derbyshire Hotel following your recent stay.

I am really pleased that you found the front desk and restaurant service here at the hotel to be very good, although it is disappointing to see that you did not find your bedroom to the standard you had expected. We usually get great feedback on the quality of our product, and our bedrooms are very often described as being very clean and comfortable.

I'm sorry that you found our bar prices to be more expensive that you would have liked, however I can assure you that we regularly complete competitor analysis on other 4* hotels in the area to ensure our prices are competitive.

I apologise for the misunderstanding with your drinks order, although I am pleased that your husband was refunded for the mistake and I will certainly look into how any such issues are dealt with in the future - we normally get very good feedback about the attitude of our staff and so I am suprised to read that on this occasion you did not find this to be the case.

If you would like to talk about your stay in more detail, please don't hesiate to contact me and I will be more than happy to discuss your feedback in more depth with you.

Regards

Glynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,332 - 1,338 of 1,689 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Went here for our anniversary deal was very reasonable. The wife used the spa facility's and they were fine. I would have liked to use them but unfortunately was ill on the morning we left and only getting over it now! ( nothing to do with the hotel!)

Only thing was that its located next to the motorway and to get to any sights it's a bit of a drive, saying that still a very nice hotel.

Rooms were very clean and tidy.

Would visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Colin W,

Thank you for your review following your anniversary stay here at The Derbyshire Hotel.

Congratulations on your anniversary, and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your celebrations with us. Its great to see that your wife had the chance to use our leisure club, perhaps you too will be able to relax there on your next visit.

We do pride ourselves on service and quality levels, so to read that you found your room to be clean and tidy is great feedback.

Although we are located just minutes from Junction 28 of the M1, we do find this places us well for a selection of local attractions across the East Midlands.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future,

Regards

Glynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for my birthday and really enjoyed it.we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful reception team.we had a deluxe double room with a huge comfy bed, nice bathroom,tea and coffee tray with biscuits and bathrobes and slippers. Only fault with room was old style tv and not much choice of channels.considering we were right near the motorway we never heard a sound.
The gym was small but equiped.the pool area was lovely with loungers,jacuzzi and sauna. A steam room was also there but a tad too hot. We had a great treatment each and then had a glass of bubbly in the relaxation room. We had dinner in the restuarant there was a wait to be seated. Nice menu but very limited. The staff had decorated the table for my birthday and also bought out my birthday cake which was lovely.breakfast was buffet style and could not be faulted.

Would recommend this hotel.a great place for a short get away to relax and fairly eady to get to from nottingham. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jules73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Jules73,

Thank you for your time to review The Derbyshire Hotel following your recent stay for your birthday.

It is great to hear that you found the service to be excellent - this is something we very much pride ourselves on, and team will be very pleased to hear your comments.

Our bedrooms are often said to be very comfortable, and it is encouraging that you too found them to be. The Leisure Club is a great addition to our facilities and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your treatments with a glass of bubbly to celebrate your day.

I'm very pleased you enjoyed your dinner in our Tempus restaurant as well as breakfast, and that the staff looked after you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Derbyshire Hotel in the near future.

Regards

Glynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a nice hotel, very conveniently situated next to junction 28 of the M1, but not 4 star. Nice leisure centre/spa although the pool is a too small for anything other than splashing about. The reception and bar area is a little small particularly when there are queues to check in/out. The room we stayed in was perfectly fine, although again a little on the snug side and starting to be bit tired. My biggest criticism was the house keeping, you don'y expect to walk into your room to find cobwebs in the corners and thick dust on the top of the TV. We were also disappointed that the room had no information about the hotel facilities and the TV info facility didn't work. Because of previous reports we didn't eat our evening meal in the hotel but, went to the pub across the road (very nice but busy). Breakfast was excellent. Generally, they have pretension to be better than they are.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Mark C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Derbyshire Hotel.

I am pleased that you found your stay to be enjoyable, and that the hotel was located in a place convenient for you. Our Tempus restaurant serves a fantastic menu, and its great to read you found breakfast to be excellent.

It's good to hear that you also enjoyed our leisure facilities, I'm sorry that you found some other areas of the hotel to be smaller than you expected.

I am disappointed that you found the cleanliness of your room and facilities within to be below the standard you would have liked - we usually receive great feedback on all aspects of our bedrooms so I will certainly look into this further.

If you would like to discuss any aspect of your stay in more detail, please don't hesitate to contact me. I hope you do choose to stay at The Derbyshire Hotel again soon.

Regards

Glynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed at The Derbyshire this week for a conference evening. First impressions were good, the bar/reception area was clean & tidy but the receptionist was on her own & consequently check in was slow.

We had a double room on the ground floor which was comfortable & tidy but very tired & in need of some new furniture & electrical equipment. The bathroom was less impressive as the grout was stained & the shower mat was mouldy & everything we touched fell off the wall (coat hooks, mirror bracket, toilet roll holder).

We had a set menu for the event we attended which was very good, the wine was pleasant & breakfast the next day was perfectly fine. Expect to pay hotel prices for bar drinks.

The really disappointing part was the leisure 'centre'. The pool area was clean but everything is very substandard. Showers were freezing & couldn't be adjusted & the ceilings are mouldy. The changing areas were messy & grotty and let the rest of the hotel down. It wasn't the relaxing afternoon by the pool we had in mind.

Overall this hotel served its purpose for the night. It would have been lovely 15years ago but it's now a bit faded. Unfortunately everything is charged at 5* prices when it's really only a 3* hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunnysam80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Sunnysam80,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay here at The Derbyshire Hotel.

I am pleased that you found your bedroom to be comfortable, as well as our public areas to be clean and tidy. Our Tempus restaurant boasts an extensive food and wine menu, and it is great that you enjoyed your meal, and breakfast.

I am sorry that you found check-in to be slower than you would have liked. Our Leisure Club usually gets fantastic feedback so it is disappointing to read that certain areas were not to the standards you expected.

I can assure you that we regularly complete an anaysis of other 4* hotels in the area to ensure that our pricing is competitive, including our food and beverage offering and so I am disappointed that you found the pricing to be higher than you would have liked.

I hope that you do choose to stay with us again, and if you would like to discuss any aspects of your stay in more detail, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Regards

Glynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed before Christmas. We booked for on of their Christmas parties and stayed overnight. You get a discounted room rate if you book for the party so we thought we might as well. The room was lovely, warm, spacious and a very comfortable bed. We could have used the hotels indoor pool and saunas but didn't have time. Great stay, friendly staff, would do it again.

Room Tip: We didn't choose a particular room but I think they will all be lovely. We didn't hear any n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonSmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear SharonSmh,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Derbyshire Hotel.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas party and overnight stay and found our rooms to be comfortable for you. Our team will be happy to hear that you found them to be so friendly and I will pass on your comments to them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future where I hope you will have time to enjoy our leisure club facilities.

Regards

Glynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I recently stayed at The Derbyshire for 3 nights whilst away on business. On check in, the reception is hidden almost behind you as you enter, which is weird. The staff seemingly had better things to do than check me in, and I was passed from one staff member to another and then back again. The room I was given was dated and in need of a refresh, the TV was very old (with a fuzzy picture), room fairly small, poorly lit and far too much furniture for the size of room. The radiator had been turned off when I first entered the room, making it very cold as there was snow on the ground outside.

I used the spa facilities one night, the shower areas in particular are in need of refurbishment. Of 2 out of 3 showers I tried, they were broken and it was not possible to change the temperature from freezing cold. There was a large amount of mould on the ceiling in the shower area and some of the ceiling was starting to peel away. The hot tub was ok, but the pool was a bit cold, though clean and well maintained.

Now on to the bar, which was staffed by just one person, despite it being busy and long queues for a drink. The drink prices are ridiculous for the location, £4.10 for a pint of bitter and the food prices not much better. There's a Brewers Fayre opposite, which offers much better value and a wider menu, so I ate there on 2 of my 3 nights. I was offered breakfast for £15, but declined. The food I did eat was ok, but expensive for what it was. From the menu and bar prices, you'd think that this hotel was in central London, not just off the M1 near Mansfield!

The room itself was ok value as I got a promotional offer through Laterooms. If staying in this area again, I would opt for the Premier Inn opposite and eat in the Brewers Fayre instead.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonAlex1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear BrightonAlex 1985,

Thank you so much for your feedback following your stay here at The Derbyshire Hotel.

We usually receive great feedback from our guests for our service and quality standards and so it is disappointing to see that you did not feel welcomed when you arrived to check in. All of our bedrooms are maintained to a high standard and we are receive regular feedback about how comfortable they are, so I am sorry to have read that your room was not to your taste.

Our leisure club is a great addition to the hotel and most of our guests enjoy the facilities, however I will make sure that these are reviewed to ensure they consistantly reach our high standards.

We regularly complete price reviews of other hotels in the area, to ensure that our own food and beverage pricing is set in line with this. We do have a wide selection of food and beverage available for you to choose from, and I am sorry that you did not find this to meet your expectations.

I hope that you do choose to stay with us again soon, and if you would like to discuss any aspect of your stay in more depth, please dont hesitate to contact me.

Regards

Glynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
697 reviews
10.4 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
16.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 2 in Matlock Bath
383 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Alfreton
Travelodge Alfreton
#1 of 1 in Alfreton
272 reviews
11 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derbyshire Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Price Range: $87 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Derby South Normanton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing