We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travel zoo deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Derbyshire Derby
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Travel zoo deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Was well worth the money just for the meal alone.
The bed was a bit poor in fact my back not right since.
Meal was good two course and a free bottle of wine too, you could have the third course for another £5.
The deal was £79 for dinner bed and breakfast for two which was a good deal

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thanet12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and was impressed by the food in our restaurant. I have inspected your room and will change the mattress which will rectify this issue.

We do hope that you return to the Derbyshire Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Glynn Jones

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    531
    309
    116
    80
See reviews for
173
697
37
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Had a two night stay which included Bed Breakfast and Evening Meal. Service was great and all staff helpful. Although this is a business persons hotel I would recommend it for a short stay so you can visit nearby tourist attractions i.e. Hardwick Hall, Chatsworth House to name a couple also the is a good Designer Outlet nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feckenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
It was good to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are situated in an ideal location to visit the many great attractions around the local area, I would recommend a trip to Matlock Bath and the wonderful Peak District countryside.

We do hope that you return to the Derbyshire Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Glynn Jones

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just returned home from a 3 night break at this great hotel, could not fault this hotel or room. good size room with all you need including a little fridge but no safe. food was good but drinks at the bar was very expensive £4.95 a pint or a glass of wine. but drinks cheaper across the road in a food pub. swimming pool and gym were very good with all you would need, towels-lockers-soap in showers. service was good all round so would highly reccomend.

Room Tip: we asked for a light and airey room and was not disapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Micky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

Great to hear you like the hotel and had a good stay and that you found the service good in all the hotel areas. Our bar prices are reviewed regulary and are competitive to other hotels in the local area.

We do hope that you return to the Derbyshire Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Glynn Jones

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

my wife and I enjoyed a four day break on the travelzoo deal and it was great.
the restaurant had a good choice of meals and we tried things we would not normally eat. everything was superb and the choice for breakfast was amazing - full english, continental,cereals,toast etc. only porridge seemed missing!
the room was fine. my only gripe was for a 4 star hotel they only seemed to have the basic tv channels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

Your comments are very pleasing and I am glad you enjoyed dinner and thought breakfast was amazing! At breakfast you can order porridge with the staff and we will bring it to your table.
We are in the process of reviewing our TV channel offering in the guest bedrooms.

We do hope that you return to the Derbyshire Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Glynn Jones

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Nice smart hotel with very friendly helpul staff.
Stayed on a travelzoo 2 night offer and everting went very well.
Need to know location of hotel , otherwise very easily missed off busy A38 - perhaps need bigger signs not hidden by trees!
M1 passes right behind hotel , so traffic noise is constant , but not a bother and that`s from a light sleeper.
Pool and sauna nice and lovely jacuzzi - pool not huge , but more than adequate.
Tempus restaurant very nice with a good choice and large portions, breakfasts very impressive with huge choice.
Bar prices on drinks not too bad , in line with 4 star hotel expectations.
Ideal location for all attractions coupled with ease of ascess off motorways make it a good choice
Only niggle was the soft bed that sagged in the middle- room 237.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking car par are away from M1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KilimanjaroBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

It is pleasing to hear that you found our restaurant and leisure facilities to your satisfaction.
Based just of the A38 and M1 does make the hotel an ideal choice to visit all the attractions that Derbyshire has to offer.
I will check the bed in the room you stayed to see if the matress needs replacing.

We do hope that you return to the Derbyshire Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Glynn Jones

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night and chose it as it so close to the M1. I hadn't done much other research and was expecting a standard "American plastic" style chain hotel and was surprised to find it is part of the Principal Hayley group. We've stayed at other of their hotels and have found them very nice indeed - some are really quite classy places. This one is different and closer to my earlier expectations. We arrived at about 7.15 and were told that we we couldn't eat in the dining room until 9.15, despite there appearing to be a lot of available tables. We were a bit annoyed about this but in fact had a nice bar meal instead which was quite tasty and came up quickly. While eating we realised that we had been charged for the room again on arrival, despite having already paid Expedia in full in advance. The hotel were quick to correct this when pointed out, but they shouldn't have had to rely on us noticing this. We stay in hotels quite a lot - some you pay for in advance and some you don't and of course I should have remembered but didn't.

We had a nice room with a fairly comfortable bed, with a good bathroom with a bath and shower over and plenty of room for everything. The room was really cold when we arrived and it took us a little while to work out how to get the heating going. We then ended up with the room too hot and despite constantly turning the thermostat down, we never got it cool enough again so were hot all night. Why can't the room be at a comfortable temperature for our arrival so we don't have to fiddle about like this? There are probably good reasons why, but some places manage this OK.

There was a notice in the room telling us the times when we might have a short or a long wait for breakfast. We had a bit of a wait. They did let us go in to get juice and pastries while we waited, and we weren't in a hurry, but do you want to start your breakfast with pastries? The dining room is clearly too small and there clearly aren't enough staff, as similarly to the evening before, there were tables ready that weren't being used and a lot of people waiting for breakfast. The staff were working really hard and were charming, but couldn't cope. We passed the time working out how you could re-design the bar area so it could be used for serving breakfast as well, instead of being used as a waiting room, and still be OK as a bar in the evenings. It would actually be quite easy, but it wouldn't solve the staff shortage problem. It seemed strange to admit so publicly to such a shortcoming by putting notices in the rooms, but maybe it stops people complaining. Maybe also on a working day more people might want an earlier breakfast. When we eventually ate, the breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

It was good to hear your bedroom was to your liking, sorry you had a problem with the heating, my maintenance team has replaced the thermostat in this room.
On peak days breakfast can be very busy so we do advise guests which are the bussier periods but of course this can stil vary.

We do hope that you return to the Derbyshire Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Glynn Jones

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

just spent a great weekend at the hotel. Was a bit worried about the location as just off junc 28 of M1 is hardley a romantic setting and i was here with the wife for our wedding anniversary and when we approached the hotel i was less than impressed by the setting and what it looked like outside. Anyway i shouldnt have worried, on entering the lobby i was impressed with the decor of the place.

Check in went smoothly, as we were on a dinner, B+B deal we were asked what time we wanted to eat but we were only given the option of 6.30 or 9 which we were not impressed with. The receptionist was extremely nice and offered to ring us if any cancellations ( we didnt hold out much hope ).

We got to our room which was an executive. Again i found the decor to be extremely nice with lots of nice touches such as plenty of toiletories and a small box of chocolates bed was huge and very comfortable one little gripe though is that the TV was old and the channels not crystal clear but his is just a small gripe.

We used the spa and pool and this was nice, clean and not busy on both occaisions we used which i found strange as the hotel was full.

Dinner was from a set menu with a bottle of wine in the price and i found the choice to be good and the food was very nice. We did feel a bit rushed as each course came very quickly but we were not rushed to leave the table. The ambiance was not very good as it was very busy with people on the same deal as us a suppose.

Breakfast again nothing to complain about dinning room was busy but well managed didnt have to wait for anything.

Overall a very nice stay at a bargain price £99 per night DBB and bottle of wine with meal. Would recommend and definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markf727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Congratulations on your wedding anniversary, it was great to read your feedback and pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your bedroom and facilities were upto expectation. The staff will be pleased you found them friendly and helpful.
We hope to see you back at the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Glynn Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
11.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
9.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derbyshire Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Property: The Derbyshire Derby
Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Derby South Normanton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing