We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience of my life”

Mariestads Stadshotell
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mariestads Stadshotell
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mariestad
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worst experience of my life”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Traveling across Sweden had been full of promise and great adventure, until I ventured upon this hotel that is. I have never had such a shocking stay in a hotel establishment in my life.
To begin with, there was no person working in the reception when I arrived, the hotel looked to be dead inside. Then after a fifteen minute wait for staff to arrive I was charged 1000Kr or 100 POUNDS for a night there. I thought to myself, that for that amount of money (HIlton prices and up), the stay would be worth it and so I spent the money. I was assured I would have the best suite in the building. There was no working elevator and had to mount three floors with heavy suitcases. There was no lighting in the hallways, and I was surprised this building was actually open to the public. Upon arrival at my room, I quickly discovered there was no room telephone, no bathtub, no facilities such as coffee maker/alcoholic beverages, light refreshments etc. There was absolutely nothing in the room but a bed and a television. Oh and a wardrobe. The toilet left much to be desired also, there was no bathtub and the shower looked like it hadn't seen a cleaning any time in the last century.
After *stupidly* accepting it for what it was, I decided to make the best of a dire situation and laid my baggage down. About half an hour later I wondered whether there was any food on for an evening meal, especially after paying 100pounds. I had to go out to the hallway to make a call to what I thought was reception only to find it was a direct line to some person's house!!!!! I had no idea what was going on, it seems the hotel is not yet operating as an actual hotel!!!
I went out into the town to find a place to eat after the reception informed me that there is no food to be served in the hotel, nor breakfast.
That night was a disco in the downstairs of the hotel. I met many disgruntled people there whose opinions of the hotel and owner were less than kind. After my ordeal, I can say this is not a surprise. To expect more than 30pounds/300Kr for a night stay in this box is more than cheeky!!!
It's a real shame, my overall opinion is tarnished. As this building *could* be spectacular, being set in the heart of Mariestad, a town over 400 years old that has long held a top reputation for great service and historical attractions.
This hotel will bring the town down if it does not buck its ideas up and perhaps get a new owner. Under the current supervision, I doubt there is a hospitality bone in their body, this left somewhat to be desired in every sense.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    1
    6
    8
See reviews for
1
13
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while doing a road trip through Sweden. We had to stop somewhere, and we randomly chose Mariestad and this hotel.

First, while the building is clearly a bit old, and the elevator is a perfect example with pink carpet on the walls, they made extensive renovations of the rooms, the breakfast and bar area.

First, the room was very large compared to other rooms in Sweden/Norway. They had very modern furniture too. Unfortunately they didn't get around to renovating the bathroom, which was ok, but dated. The shows had very good water pressure but was not very attractive...

The breakfast was pretty good but we had to find someone to bring us more bread and milk.

They had free wifi and parking and very well located in the city, although we found there wasn't much to do in Mariestad... But it was just an evening stop for us. We had diner and watched tv!

Unfortunately we had a small incident with the service but it had nothing to do with our stay per se.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank psycho_dalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This hotel is not a good value for the money spent. Outdated decor, no blackout curtains, only one really thin pillow per person. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank helenesmajl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mariestad hotels

Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at, the entrance didn't feel like a hotel, the lady in reception was friendly enough but the room was horrible, messy and dirty, ripped wall paper and worn and crappy furniture, the view was really boring, looking over the car park at the back of the building, at a time when there we're no other guests then they could at least given us a room with a more pleasant view.
I should have looked at the room first, but I have never needed to do that in Sweden before, but will do in the future.
The breakfast, which are usually great in this country was very tasteless and boring.
The only things that saved the weekend was a great Indian restaurant we found in town.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Timmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Unlike what the picture promises, this hotel is an ugly addendum to old building. According to info in the hotel it was renovated in 2002, but 1992 is more likely. The rooms are spacious and have solid doors, but that is about everything positive to say. Not very friendly staff. The information folder in the hotel told us about an old mill that was closed over 10 years ago. This hotel gave you the feeling it is just waiting for going out of business. We paid 950:- which is about twice as much as it was worth. Great location though (but then again it is difficult to find a bad location in Mariestad :)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bjorkby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mariestad
0.1 mi away
Hotell Aqva
Hotell Aqva
#2 of 3 in Mariestad
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wictoria
Hotel Wictoria
#1 of 3 in Mariestad
45 reviews
19.9 mi away
Karstorps Konferenscenter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Norrqvarn Hotell & Konferens
0.2 mi away
Hotell Vanerport
Hotell Vanerport
#3 of 7 in Mariestad
32 reviews
3.8 mi away
Appelgarden
Appelgarden
#2 of 7 in Mariestad
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariestads Stadshotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariestads Stadshotell

Property: Mariestads Stadshotell
Address: 10 Nygatan, Mariestad 542 30, Sweden
Location: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Mariestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mariestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariestads Stadshotell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Mariestads Stadshotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing