We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“surprisingly good lasagna”
Review of Boccaccio

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Boccaccio
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“surprisingly good lasagna”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

good coffee, good lasagna - pretty rich, and a nice sauce. No brunch, though, which was disappointing. Security was pretty good. Not cheap, but made for a nice lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac29d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Szechuan Beef etc.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I go to the Bocaccio Restaurant based in the UNOCA compound in Kabul. I like their Szechuan Beef with rice since it is very spicy and tasty. They also have nice pasta with shrimp. Their Bocaccio Beef Burgers are also nice. Occasionally, I also buy the small loves of sliced brown bread that they sell. Their service is also very quick especially for take away orders.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UNpeacekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good Italian in Kabul”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is my first review of Boccaccio, but I have been visiting this place for a few years now. I just came from here with friends today and enjoyed a great lunch. The menu has loads of options. You can find great quality Italian, but also Thai and Middle Eastern food as well. Today, I enjoyed the Greek salad with my main course as a grilled chicken with vegetables. The pizzas here are my favorite as well. You can easily host a meeting, dine with a partner or enjoy with some friends. The restaurant is as secure as Kabul can get, without being on an ISAF or UN installation, so I would recommend a visit if your organization lets you out in the city.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joelarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bocaccio Italian Restaurant (and Thai selections on menu)”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

My friend and I ate here yesterday evening. He had spaghetti, and I had Pad Thai.
They have a full service bar, and the atmosphere is very nice. I’ll definitely be going back.

Str 10 Wazir Ak khan
[--]

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richlundeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entebbe, Uganda
Level Contributor
176 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“It was good, for Kabul”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

After passing through security, went inside for the first time since I've been here and wow... you're not in Kabul anymore (seemingly.)

Had a salad and pizza. The bread was great, served with different spreads, even had balsamic vinegar and olive oil, which was nice. Salad was quite plain. Pizza was just right for someone quite hungry. Crust was fine but did not taste like it was wood fired - pity.

Service was a bit slow at first but picked up eventually. Atmosphere/ ambiance was good enough, making you forget that you're in Kabul,... Until you pay your bill, go out, and see all the security ourside again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edfaigmane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boccaccio also viewed

Kabul, Kabul Province
Kabul, Kabul Province
 
Kabul, Kabul Province
 

Been to Boccaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing