We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oriental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oriental
Ranked #43 of 113 Hotels in Gangtok
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were booked at a different hotel in Gangtok which we did not like at all when we reached there. So we went searching for a good hotel & by chance managed to land at The Oriental located on M.G.Marg in Gangtok. We found the hotel warm & welcoming plus the rooms are pretty cozy & nicely done. We stayed at the Penthouse Suites on the top floor & it was a memorable stay in the month of May with lovely weather & great location. The food though is not so good at the Oriental. But there are a lot of good food options on M.G.Marg for everyone. We tried a different place everyday & were never disappointed with the food.

So, all in all we look forward to going back sometime to Gangtok & stay at the Oriental

Room Tip: The Penthouse Suites are the best rooms at the Oriental.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PriyankaMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    52
    23
    4
    9
See reviews for
51
43
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
112 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We went to Gangtok for our honeymoon in April 2012 and loved the hotel, nice and comfortable. Staff was very supportive.. its on the main MG Road so in evening u can enjoy the crowd and shopping. The food available is also tasty...had dinner mostly n it was in good ...

Nice and economical place to stay in....we might go thr again soon :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shikhapassyduggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Excellent location, food taste was ok. But we were highly satisfied and spent 5 nights of our possible seven nights in oriental. I dont know rates of other hotels at the M G Road, but i found this to be expensive.

Room Tip: Select fourth floor rooms to get view of Kanchenjunga directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumit_shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I Travelled here in the Mid of May Month for Our Honeymoon , We were Two Couples and had a Pleasant Stay at the Hotel.
First Night as they were not having the Deluxe Rooms available They Gave us Nice Top Floor Suite which was very very nice Rooms. The Food was Great But Little Expensive as compared to Other Restaurants in the Market Area.
Overall Nice Stay ....... Would love to go again to Gangtok , the City of Love >>>>>>>

Room Tip: TOP FLOOR SUITE ROOM is such a Nice Rooms and The Best is ..It is the Room Only which is Having Fans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piyush V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Bang on the mall road dotted with - pastery shops, multi- cuisine restaurants , cafetarias and curios shops. Decorated with appealing local Sikkimese stuff. Rooms are small but clean. Bathrooms though clean are a bit incovenient. The shower area could have been done better with glass enclosures. The restaurant is small . Expect only a basic breakfast serving of- bread ,butter and tea along with an additional snack.
I would best remember the hotel for its location. One can even classify it under 'value for money' hotel .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KANKARIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

The hotel is a 5 story building on a small area. There is no lift and have approx 3-4 rooms per floor. The rooms are small with no fan or AC. If you go to this hotel in summers, it becomes slight suffocating in room (especially if you climb 5 floors to your room). Only ventilation in room are windows which open towards New market road (Hotel is actually not on MG Road), however the windows don't have any grills thus if you have children in room you would think hard before opening the windows.
Within the same 3000 kind of budget, one can better room elsewhere. We stayed here in May 2012.

Room Tip: Avoid MG Road in Gangtok to stay, the street has no charm, you might find more economical room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjeev_rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimphu, Bhutan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Was touched by the concern shown to me by the Front Desk manager when he reliazed that I had a bad back and unable to climb three flights of steps... others would have shrugged it off and without asking he changed my room to a lower floor. The service staff were equally caring and that made the difference.

I noticed it was not only to me that this type of service was being extended to but to others also especially couples with young children. Was heartening to see such hotels still exists. Recommend this hotel not only for its location, rooms and meals quality but here they really care.

Room Tip: Front Facing MG Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiru-Malla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sher-E-Punjab
Hotel Sher-E-Punjab
#6 of 113 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sonam Palgye
Hotel Sonam Palgye
#24 of 113 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saramsa Resort
Saramsa Resort
#34 of 113 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Grove Retreat
Bamboo Grove Retreat
#9 of 113 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tashi Delek
Hotel Tashi Delek
#78 of 113 in Gangtok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hill Resort Gangtok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oriental

Property: The Oriental
Address: Mahatma Gandhi Marg, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 113 Hotels in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oriental 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oriental Hotel Gangtok
Oriental Hotel Gangtok
The Oriental Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing