We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rumtek Dzong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rumtek Dzong
Ranked #102 of 113 Hotels in Gangtok
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

A great hotel to stay in. booked 2 rooms for 2 nights. had a very good experience. hotel offers good food, amazing room interiors , good bar, good room service. but i must say the hotel is 20 kms outside city..... ovrrall great hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Nikhilgarg009
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Very Good off the track hotel. Nice to stay. Good view. Out of the crowd. Good privacy. Can have time for himself. Service is good. People are friendly. Good for out of the city and off the crowd stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Kalyan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We booked this hotel through Eastern travel, Jamshedpur and reached to hotel having fear of distance and hotel arrangement. But we loved to live their because hotel arrangement was nice and staff were very prompt.. Food and services were superrb .We realised homely enviornment there. Gangtok view was pleasant and clear from hotel balcony as hotel is at hight. Taxi was arranged by Hotel at reasonable price and so it was no matter we were in Gangtok or in Rumtek. I wish to go Gangtok again and live in this Hotel with family. Ajay Kumar, Jamshedpur

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajaykumar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Arriving in a nervous state after an unfortunate hotel experience in Gantok we were pleasantly surprised. It was the rainy off season and we were the only guests. But it all worked, the room clean and pleasant, gushing hot water in the well-equipped bathroom and good view over the valley to the city of Gantok. Staff were very sweet and the food in the restaurant unusually good. The main reason to stay here is to visit the Rumtek monastery that is a delightful 3 k up hill walk through villages and terraced rice fields. A bit pricy but well worth it . The manager allowed us to use the internet at the reception. It worked sometimes.

Room Tip: request front valley view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yumidesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

I loved the hotel and recommend it for leisure travelers. It is located in a very serene environment and the the view of the valley from the hotel rooms is breathtaking. The food and service was superb. Would like to go there again sometime in future.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MohitPatwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

Hotel Rumtek Dzong is around 20 kms far from Gangtok city, located near Rumtek monastery (after which it is named). The drive from the city to the hotel is lovely and the surroundings of the hotel are also great. It is very peaceful, free from any noise or pollution since it is quite far from the city but at the same time there are no places to shop around the hotel. Everything closes down quite early at night. The restaurant of the hotel is average, but the staff is quite friendly and helpful. The menu is quite extensive but a lot of things were not available when we ordered.Breakfast was great.
There is nothing much for entertainment in the hotel apart from the scenic surroundings and a library with a small collection of books.
Now about the rooms. The rooms were quite clean and spacious.All the basic amenities were available.
Room service was quite swift. The bathrooms were neat and clean.
All in all a good place. Not very expensive. The only major problem is its distance from the city, but the pristine surroundings somewhat make up for it. Not a bad place for a one or two day stay.

Stayed June 2010
Helpful?
Thank houseno44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

We have just returned from Rumtek Dzong. The hotel is magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible service before. It was so lovely that I have already started recommending it for all my friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank souvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sagorika
Hotel Sagorika
#34 of 113 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel ReNam
Hotel ReNam
#27 of 113 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
2.4 mi away
Delight Hotels The Fortuna
Delight Hotels The Fortuna
#35 of 113 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Sonam Delek
Hotel Sonam Delek
#4 of 113 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Saikripa Gangtok
Hotel Saikripa Gangtok
#43 of 113 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bamboo Grove Retreat
Bamboo Grove Retreat
#9 of 113 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rumtek Dzong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rumtek Dzong

Property: Hotel Rumtek Dzong
Address: View Point Rumtek, Gangtok 737103, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 113 Hotels in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rumtek Dzong 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rumtek Dzong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rumtek Dzong Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing