We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing.”
Review of Hotel Tibet

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gangtok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Tibet
Ranked #36 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Shillong, Meghalaya, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very disappointing.”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very disappointed with their branch in Bangalore. Searched it to review but couldn't find them enlisted here. The rooms are very small compared to the price. They aren't very clean either. The service is very poor. Telephone is rarely answered. Food takes very long to arrive. Wouldn't want to visit again n not recommendable to anyone....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tse77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    52
    16
    9
    2
See reviews for
37
19
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Just average. Bathrooms old and substandard, room very old furniture and dusty, no heater. Staff not very friendly. Hotel overall quite old. Got ripped off by reception or local driver for transfer to Darjeeling (they organised with local driver) but as it was our second day in India we didn't know better. Paid at least double. Food in restaurant yum. Reception didn't tell us we had to leave key at reception in order to get room cleaned. Hotel needs to really improve on service. Hotel within walking distance to things.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gangtok, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

In Gangtok, this is most probably the best place to have Tibetan food. The dinning areas are decorated with very authentic sculptures and painting. If you love the Tibetan food, don't miss this place while you are in Gangtok.

Very good place for having small scale conference and meetings, too. Nothing much to mention about the accommodations, though.

Room Tip: The basement hall is best place to conduct meetings and large dinning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbing_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a nice n cute Tibetan hotel. Rooms are cozy, nothing to rave about, but absolute VFM. At about $40 its a steal. It boasts of the Best food in Gantok.The crispy Won Ton soup is fabulous.Baked fish in white sauce is too good for words.One must eat it to understand. It also serves choicest cocktails.Danny Denzongpa's distillery churns out some lovely beer which is available here for about $2 (Rs. 100/-) apart from the other standard brands. Other spirits are also served at a very reasonable price.The service is helpful and prompt.( Read leisurely for prompt). A stone's throw away from the famous Mall Road or MG Road where one can shop for Tibetan handicrafts or hav e a cozy walk since no vehivular traffic is permitted on this stretch.
The hotel does not have a lift, so you keep fit goin up and down the three odd storeys.
The PAjjor Football stadium looks beautiful from the rooms facing the stadium.
All in ALL a great deal.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the stadium offer a good view on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurang K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel is definitely worth considering for your stay in Gangtok... located in the heart of the city, what I like most about the place is the food, that is one reason why I recommend this hotel again. The Tibetan and Chinese food that this hotel serves, is really one of the best I have tasted.
With respect to the rooms, OK ish, there is scope for improvement, however they do make it up with the good service - overall probably the hotel needs a bit of refurbishment, but till then, they are making up with the nice service and food!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMITRA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I simply love Hotel Tibet in Gangtok. The location is excellent...very close to MG Marg. There is a taxi stand very close to the hotel; that helps for Gangtok specific trips. The food here is awesome. If you love authentic Tibetan food, then this is the place to be. The pork momos are oh-so-lovely. Very clean and well maintained and according to me, great value for money. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: No need to pay premium... the Rs1600/- worth rooms are good enough unless you want luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parthadatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great location, MG Marg is walking distance, they dont offer breakfast inclusive, the food is decent enough. ... rooms are ok sorts - they could surely make it much better with minor renovations .... value for money over all ...so cant complain much

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishiraj_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Grove Retreat
Bamboo Grove Retreat
#10 of 118 in Gangtok
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sagorika
Hotel Sagorika
#41 of 118 in Gangtok
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sher-E-Punjab
Hotel Sher-E-Punjab
#6 of 118 in Gangtok
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Delight Hotels The Fortuna
Delight Hotels The Fortuna
#38 of 118 in Gangtok
46 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tara Palace
Tara Palace
#40 of 118 in Gangtok
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sikkim Retreat
The Sikkim Retreat
#32 of 118 in Gangtok
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet

Property: Hotel Tibet
Address: Paljor Stadium Road, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tibet 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Hotel Tibet Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing