We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge cockroaches!”
Review of Hotel Soyang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Soyang
Ranked #104 of 126 Hotels in Gangtok
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This old hotel, with its gaudy, yet gripping decor - with all the pictures, the make-believe silk and brocade curtains, the thick counterpanes and bedspreads with their oriental ornaments - is a rather misleading one. Behind all that, there is dirt and - having their natural habitat in abundance - cockroaches of the irkingly large type and numbers. Somehow the hotel reflects what the entire Gangtok is all about: fancy outside appearance with dirt and poverty behind! But as we so frequently experienced during our travels in India, even poverty does not necessarily come hand in hand with dirt. Moreover, the Soyang is a wealthy outfit, with several buildings in the middle of the promenade of the capital city of Sikkim. With a bad management and an apparent lack of caring! (Dirt, no mosquito nets on the windows etc.)

So, do not let yourself mislead by the traditional looking, old Chinese-Tibetan decor!

Room Tip: The service, the value and the sleeping quality cannot be else but "terrible" as long as o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gabor188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is a value for money hotel situated at MG marg. It’s very old hotel and gives the experience of a heritage hotel. It has a great structure which reminds Chinese architecture style, behavior of hotel manager and staff was good, room service was reasonably fast and food provided was OK. The only problem with the hotel is its location, though it is hardly 100 meters inside from main MG road, you need to climb around 150 feet to reach the hotel. So if you are travelling with luggage and young children this may be little taxing.

Room Tip: Look for rooms at the ground floor so as you do not need to climb extra after reaching the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Santoshdrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

servicemen were on their toes used to readily help us.
hotel lobby was great maintaining traditional sikkim theme.
the misty weather scenery from inside view was fabulious
i loved the service the rooms were ok but food was not upto the mark especially the vegetarian food.also the horizontal drainage system inn the bathroom was not so good.all in all compare to the prices, the locality, the atmosphere in the hotel, the service which was provided analysing all these parameters this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fastgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Hotel Soyang is a very old/Heritage hotel of the Gangtok, located on main Mall Road.

The Property if beautifully build and maintained with the great values for the North Eastern Region reason being Owned by Mr.Shiring and his families since very old times. Hotel has lots of rooms in multistoried building structure. Interior of the Hotel is marvelous.

It is ideally located in centre of the Market with Lots of Parking space of his own.

Hotel Staff is well behaved and cooperative; it is a budget hotel with the good location.

I enjoyed the stay in this hotel with great hospitality and Pure Veg / Jain Food dishes are very good. Tel. Of Hotel is {--}
Thanks

V. P .Aggrawal

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vippagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed for a couple of nights in this hotel. The first thing that hits you if you see this place is that it is built in 3 levels with 3 entrances. The pathways to different parts of the hotel can be confusing to say the least.

The service was moderate with the commode flush repaired after calling twice. The towels and soaps had to be asked explicitly.

Rooms are of different kinds. single rooms to suites to cottages. most of them have the dingy but oriental feel. heavily carpeted and wood paneled.

The best part about this hotel is the location. Bang in the middle of MG Marg which is the main jostling business street of the city.

We didn't have food here and there are plenty of options surrounding the place.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pragma123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

The hotel stay was not comfortable for us. We had booked the hotel for 3 nights and 4 days from a travel website based on rate,location and other reviews. When we reached the hotel
there were mant problems. Firstly the hotel isin the midst of MG Road and a little bit inwards from it. We had to get down on at the periphery of M.G Road and then travel all the way to hotel
which was slightly on top. Secondly too our dismay the std. rooms were not upto the mark as per the rate charged by the hotel.The ineriors were good bit other things were not good for the price. The biggest negative thing with it is that you dont get any clean view of the mountains from the hotel.
Also the geyser in the bathroom was horrible as it it used to work once and then after 20 mts. The food was okay but again the bills were not calculated properly.It was not a good stay we had hoped for.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vickykolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jignam
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpine Crest
Hotel Alpine Crest
#73 of 126 in Gangtok
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sagorika
Hotel Sagorika
#43 of 126 in Gangtok
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel ReNam
Hotel ReNam
#38 of 126 in Gangtok
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tashi Delek
Hotel Tashi Delek
#71 of 126 in Gangtok
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jewel of the East Residency & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soyang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soyang

Address: M. G. Marg, Gangtok 737101, India
Location: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 126 Hotels in Gangtok
Price Range: $44 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Soyang 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Soyang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Soyang Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing